We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Venice)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I really liked the Erwin. It's a well designed and clean hotel in the heart of Venice beach. Amazing views from the rooftop bar. I had a premier ocean view king on the top (6th) floor that's on the side of the building. The room itself was very spacious and had a comfortable bed. There is a small balcony, but there's only a small glass divider between your neighbor's balcony. Nice views though. I would advise against staying on the 6th floor if you are noise sensitive, as you can hear the music coming from the roof deck. It's actually amazing how well they've sound insulated the room, but you can still hear the muffled booming. The music stopped around 11pm so it didn't really bother me. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear brevets,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your experience at the Hotel Erwin. The newly built premier rooms (6th floor) offer commanding ocean views and the team will always go out of their way to pamper you. Each room features a private balcony, flat screen television, and our unique sunglass honor bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach. At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    259
    76
    29
    30
See reviews for
128
297
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

After being incredibly shocked at the price of hotels in Venice Beach whilst doing my research in the UK, I was nonetheless well chuffed with this hotel. Definitely the best possibly located hotel in Venice Beach and probably the best value for money. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, Genaral Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear OurJulesLondon,

As Venice Beach's only beachfront hotel, we agree that we offer the best value around! Thank you for your positive comments about the great staff and rooftop lounge.

The newly constructed 6th floor rooms offer commanding ocean views with enhanced in-room entertainment options. Rest assured, our staff will continue to go above and beyond to make certain that you have a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The hotel has so many advantages over the other options in the area that it is a no contest. Best location, easy access, free parking. Very comfortable , ample, and clean rooms for it's category , good restaurant and not too expensive. But the best part is the quality of service and the knowledge the staff has about their work and of the Mayaguez area. They volunteered information that was very useful and all this with a smile. It is a comfort to notice that the hotel has more than adequate but not obtrusive security, you know there's someone watching what is happening in the property.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear PuertoRicoCuriosa,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your experience at the Hotel Erwin. The entire team at the rooftop lounge (High) and restaurant (Hash) we very pleased to hear about your visit.

Rest assured, our staff will continue to go above and beyond to make certain that you have a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I've stayed here several times. The recent Joie de Vivre renovation was a good one and the hotel keeps getting better. We had a 1 room suite. The living room was roomy and bedroom was comfortable- great mattress. The bathroom was not re-designed well, so the toilet area is tiny and there's a lot of other wasted space. The roof bar looked cool but was only open 2 days a week- hum. The restaurant downstairs looked so cool on the website but would be a disappointing option on any night.

I stay in Venice because during the day the ocean walk and spending a 1/2 day walking to Santa Monica shopping and restaurants and walking back is one of my favorite things. The Venice canals are a great walking tour, and if you do some minor homework, there are many great restaurants (we just missed Kid Rock chilling at James Beach).

PROBLEM- they highlight the fireplace in the room. It's chilly at night so that sounds great. I figured that it would probably be gas instead of wood. It is NOTHING MORE THAN A RED LIGHT with a minor effect. Here's a beautiful fireplace, with smart glass folding doors, for a lightbulb effect? Stupid!

I would recommend this hotel and I always stay here when in LA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear denverroadtrip,

Thank you for the positive comments about the recently completed renovation. We were pleased to hear that the hotel keeps getting better. We also agree that the Hotel Erwin is a great place for folks looking for a unique, cool atmosphere. We are only 200 feet from the beach and all of the exciting, low-cost activities that come with the surf and sand. Local grafitti artists are featured throughout the hotel and don't miss viewing Larry's Loft, a unique gallery style meeting space.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

If you haven't been to Venice Beach, don't expect Santa Monica! The neighborhood is funky, not real clean and at night a little scary. But beyond that, Venice Beach is a lot of fun and this hotel was great! We arrived in the late afternoon and after checking in went right up to the rooftop bar to watch the sunset. It was freezing cold, but there were heaters and blankets - plus great drinks, friendly service and a wonderful view - although the sunset the night we were there was not too exciting. We survived the cold for one drink and a panini, but even so, this is a great place to enjoy the ocean view. Our hotel room was small, but newly decorated, very stylish and comfortable. There is a restaurant on-site that we didn't go to - we were only there one night and decided to eat in our room for dinner and then went walking along the beach towards Santa Monica in the morning and found a breakfast spot on our way back. Our room was on the side of the hotel with a decent view over the adjacent buildings to the beach. We might go more upscale on our next visit to LA and try Santa Monica - but would also consider coming back here as the location was good and that rooftop bar is calling to us......

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
Dear OzExpat,

The team at the Hotel Erwin was very excited to read your glowing review about your experience. We were pleased to know that you had such a great experience at High Rooftop Lounge. It is now open each weekday night in the evening and even earlier on the weekends. It really is the perfect place to have a handcrafted cocktail and watch an amazing sunset.

Thank you for sharing your comments with other folks looking for a great rooftop lounge and hotel in famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Erwin and thought it was a fantastic place to stay. The location is perfect. We booked a Premier Ocean View room and was given a room on the 5th floor. Go for the ocean view rooms. It is a lot of fun to watch all the Venice Beach happenings from the balcony. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at Hash and thought it was delicious. Since we stayed over a weekend we were a bit concerned about noise coming from the nightclub High. We didn't have any issues at all. Our room was very quiet. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, General Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear traveler02,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your experience at the Hotel Erwin. The newly built premier rooms offer commanding ocean views and the team will always go out of their way to pamper you. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to world famous Venice Beach.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We were traveling with our 2 teenage kids and we had a fantastic time!! the room was just what the picture showed and ALL the staff was so wonderful.(the beds were fantastic!) The meal we had at Hash was very delicious. The info we received from the front desk allowed us to travel the area by city bus, with our kids even at night! .75 per person to get to the Santa Monica pier in about 15 minutes. Check out Main Street and the 3rd St promenade. don't forget to visit the roof top. we got fantastic pictures from there. All 4 people I had contact with at the front desk , made me feel like I had come home to old friends...thanks to all of you and we are already planning a girls weekend back in May or June. Angie from Kansas City

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin_Malmquist, Genaral Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 23, 2010
Dear sachsmom,

Thank you for the positive comments about Hash Restaurant. We also agree that the Hotel Erwin is a great place for folks looking for a unique, cool atmosphere. We are only 200 feet from the beach and all of the exciting, low-cost activities that come with the surf and sand. Local grafitti artists are featured throughout the hotel and don't miss viewing Larry's Loft, a unique gallery style meeting space.

At Joie de Vivre Hospitality, we pride ourselves in providing unique hospitality experiences and superior service. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager


Warm Regards,

Benjamin Malmquist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.