We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for Group Events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 15%!
Ranked #23 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Group Events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We rented out some space on their rooftop for a company event and the staff was a pleasure to work with. They made arrangements with short notice, were very attentive, and provided an overall great experience. Not to mention the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We’re delighted to hear you and your guests had a wonderful time with us on the rooftop! High is the perfect place to host an event whether it be a birthday celebration or a corporate party. The views just can’t be beat and the ambiance is great especially on a warm day. Our amazing catering team works very hard to make sure all of our guests needs are not only met, but surpassed! Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin to host your event and we hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    218
    62
    28
    21
See reviews for
102
252
55
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I like this hotel a lot. The staff is one of the best hotel staff I've dealth with ever. The room was comfortable. I had a nice ocean view. The food in their restaurant was excellent. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again. Did I say the staff was awesome and accomodating? They were. That is why they get 4 stars from me.

Room Tip: You want an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are truly honored by your review! We’re delighted to hear that our staff was the best you’ve ever dealt with and that your room was comfy. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed over New Year and had a room on the sixth floor with a balcony with views over the city and the beach. As other reviewers have already said, the hotel is in an excellent location close to the action on the beach. The roof-top bar is busy and open to non-residents, and whilst crowded did not bother us much. The views are excellent from the rooftop, especially the sunsets.
Hotel is walking distance along the beach/boardwalk to Marina del Rey and Santa Monica.
Breakfasts were excellent in BARLO bar on ground floor.
Only downside we found was that rooms were not cleaned until late afternoon which was inconvenient. Sixth floor rooms have been recently refurbished and have best views.

Room Tip: 626 - south facing recently refurbished with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay! We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s prime location and our beautiful rooftop bar. I do apologize that your room was not serviced to your expectations but rest assured that your feedback was passed on to our housekeeping department. We hope you’ll come back and try us again next time you’re in Venice!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a place that was clean, neat and was near the beach. Other rreviews were positive so I booked it and I wasn't disappointed. It was a great place to chill out, the room service food from the restaurant was great and the service was friendly and helpful.
The only thing I would say is because I was traveling on my own it wasn't the safest area at night to go out for a bite.
During the day it was full of life, great places to walk, food trucks on the beach, plenty of healthy cafes if you're prepared to walk, which is not a bad thing for a traveler.
On leaving they also recommended a great driver to the airport who was the same price as a cab but cleaner and I knew he wasn't going to take me all over the place for some extra cab fare! Believe me, it happens alot.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback! The boardwalk is an amazing place to be during the day! You’ll never run out of cool things to do and see. Thank you again for the review and please join us again next time your travels bring you to Venice Beach!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I travel to LA-Venice often and have a choice of places to stay. Hands down Erwin is my go to spot. On Venice, a sunset like no other and an L.A. charm not found in traditional 'chain' hotels. Sure…it's only got one elevator (I never have to wait long)…sure, it's vibrant at night with the rooftop lounge and close beach proximity (but that's why I'm in L.A., if I wanted solitude I'd go more inland).
Two thumbs up from me, Hotel Erwin is IT!

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor, that way you just walk upstairs to the rooftop lounge. Easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the two thumbs up! We’re happy to hear we are your go-to LA destination and we can’t wait to welcome you back!

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Sorry for the lateness of this review but I wanted everyone to know how much my son and I loved the Hotel Erwin when we stayed there in early September. We had spent a week in Los Angeles recovering near the hospital where he had back surgery earlier that week. We really needed a break and chose The Erwin for a two day change of scenery. They found us the perfect room with lots of light and a view out to the ocean, led us to a wonderful spot to watch the sunset up top at High, and treated us like family at Barlo where we found ourselves quite often! We will definitely be back! The staff was professional and cheerful...the best combo at any hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We’re absolutely thrilled you had an awesome Erwin Experience! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy to hear our team members provided you with exceptional service and that you found our rooms refreshing. We hope you had a lovely journey back home and that you’ll visit us again!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.