We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had one night at Hotel Erwin as a bit of a stopover before we flew to the East Coast (flew from Australia) Loved the spot right on Venice Beach - perfect for getting out and people watching. Our flight arrived really early and the concierge let us check in early which was a huge relief. We had booked drinks at the rooftop bar (make sure you book!) and it was just lovely up there - great cocktails too. The room is nice - its great to have wifi, and the bed was big and comfortable. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but we sort of wished we had of because we had breakfast the next morning and it was awesome! Try the skillet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We’re so happy to hear you had a fabulous time with us! Venice Beach is the absolute best place for people watching and Hotel Erwin is right in the heart of it all! Thank you for stopping by the rooftop and to Barlo for one of our delicious skillets. We hope you’ll come back and visit us again!
Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    238
    65
    30
    25
See reviews for
112
269
56
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was nice, a solid 3-4 star experience.

Pros: Amazing view from the Rooftop bar, friendly staff. Really really good hotel restaurant "Barlo" was better than the majority of the restaurants in the area. Loved their friendly waiters and the classic hollywood movies playing on the big screen tv, bonus points for the staff chatting trivia/history about the classic movie. Made for a nice SoCal ambiance. Relatively quite room.

Meh: The rooms were ok, totally acceptable comfortable bed, relatively clean. But it felt like they made them cosmetically trendy instead of updating the carpet and counters. Not a big thing, but just wanted to set visitor expectations.

Cons: The other guests. There was a raging party in the hallway from 11pm-midnight, I suspect folks were loading up on alcohol before going out, screaming and running between rooms. Seriously felt like spring break. Plus there was Weed/Pot everywhere. Who ever was in my room last used the hotel postcard to roll a joint on and left sticky green leaves. And you guessed it my room smelled like pot, but hey it's Venice beach and the hotel is on the same block as a green medical center, so to be expected. I figured it would airout, but to my dismay I came back to my room late the next night to an even heavier pot smell. :( Now I'm suspecting a neighoring guest was smoking in their room and the air duct was funneling the smoke into my room. I'm not happy but at 11pm it's too late to switch rooms, only to be woken up at 1am by heavy pot smoke, as if they just came back from the bar to light up in their room. COME ON PEOPLE! Have some respect for other people, at least go outside to smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you and thank you for visiting our hotel and Barlo during your time in Venice! We were disappointed to read about the challenges you encountered regarding the smoking and party next door. Rest assured, we take your feedback very seriously and will be working on improving our attention to this matter. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again next time your travels bring you back to Venice Beach!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We purchased one night at the Hotel Erwin at a charity auction. A night in Venice, CA would be a hoot for two Orange County types.

Understand the town of Venice is the ultimate funky beach community. Spotty, good properties next to run down properties. Definately marches to it's own drummer. This is what makes it so interesting. A local t-shirt reads "Venice...where Art meets Crime".

The Hotel Irwin sits in the middle of this funkyness. The hotel itself (I believe a converted Best Western) has been upgraded and stylized. Joie de Vivre seems to do this type of upgrade and it seems to work. We had a balcony room with a side ocean view. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel right in the middle of the action.

There was a rooftop bar that was pretty cool, but we ran out of time before getting a chance to try it out.

If you plan to brave Venice, I would recommend a stay at this unique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We hope you and your guests enjoyed the change of scenery from Orange County to Venice Beach a fun and eclectic experience. Venice Beach truly does march to its own beat but that’s what makes it so special. People of all walks of life are welcomed to its pretty beaches and lively scene. Hotel Erwin is the perfect home base for a day of Venice Beach exploration and we’re happy to hear you found your time worthwhile. We hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon and don’t forget to stop by the rooftop next time!

All the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been going to this hotel since they opened (in fact I've been going to this same location for over 30 years) The staff, rooms, food and location is 2nd to none on Venice Beach. They have a rooftop bar that overlooks the ocean and if you go, make reservations to see the sunset while you have a cocktail. I have been there twice this year and planning another visit for Novemeber. Give it a try, you'll be hooked

Room Tip: Ocean view is always great as the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are truly honored that you’ve chosen Hotel Erwin time and time again after so many years. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return in November!

Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Arrived early from LAX and front-desk person (Miguel?) made sure I could get into a room ASAP after flying cross-country. He also made sure my room was on the quieter side of the building, which was a good move (overlooking 17th.) So two thumbs up! Daily housekeeping was always courteous and thorough, promptly tidying the generous sized room and modern bath. On this stay, the WiFi was a bit spotty in the room. The Erwin is between the main drag (Pacific) and the beach, so LOTS of activity all the time, plus there's a popular bar on the rooftop. For street parking, I used Mildred Ave and it was free & convenient. For morning caffeine, I'd walk up to Westminster for a cup at Groundwork Coffee then continue up to Santa Monica Pier. Overall, a comfortable, clean oasis in the cultural mixing pot of Venice Beach!

Room Tip: Middle floors on 17th are probably the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Erwin during your visit to California. We’re happy to hear our superstar team member, Miguel, was able to take such good care of you after a long flight. We’re excited to announce that we have upgraded our internet provider and our guests will have access to a stronger wifi connection at the end of this month. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we hope you’ll come back and visit us again!

Wishing you all the best until then,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night in late August 2013, I was referred to this hotel through a hotwire booking.

I would like to say that this hotel was fantastic, easily one of the best value-for-money spots on the Venice Beach strip if you're looking for a 4-star hotel.

The hotel rooms are very modern and extremely clean, I was surprised by how clean the rooms were to the point that they look brand new. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel features a rooftop patio bar which is apparently one of the best places to go on the strip. Some locals were waiting outside for their reservations and were telling us how great the place is, unfortunately we did not make it up there! The view must have been great though as it overlooks the beach from 7 stories up.

I have no complaints about this hotel, it met and exceeded my expectations and the price was right.

I strongly recommend staying here if you are in the Venice Beach area and are looking for something a little more exciting than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. Our rooftop bar truly is a Venice Beach gem that is not only a local favorite but also a must visit for any Venice Beach visitor. You’ll have to come back and experience the rooftop next time you’re in Venice! We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A fab little hotel- From being greeted at the front door with a grand welcome before you hit reservations ,you know the staff have good training and your stay here is going to be great !
The place is very clean and all staff greet you and always tell you there names and reassure they can be called on should you need any assistance. The room we stayed in is great size and has fab views of the sea and has good size balcony with tables and chairs to enjoy a Wine or two

In short there's are no negative points about this property!

Room Tip: Book room on top floor (EG)room no 621
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica V, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We’re delighted to hear you had such a great time during your stay at Hotel Erwin! We pride ourselves on making sure every guest feels like a VIP from the moment they step through our doors to when we’re wishing them farewell. We’re happy to hear you took advantage of the awesome balcony found in each of our rooms and caught a sunset while enjoying a glass of wine. That’s a perfect activity for a perfect Venice Beach day! We hope you’ll come back and visit us again next time you’re in town.

Wishing you all the best,
Team Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.