We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the hotel but not the venice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now to Save 15%!
Ranked #28 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
Manchester Uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“enjoyed the hotel but not the venice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in the Erwin in late march, enjoyed the hotel, the rooftop terrace was great as was the restaurant. However did not enjoy Venice, full of weirdos , tattoos and homeless.

we travelled from the erwin as our base as we just did not get Venice, I would stay at the hotel again if I was happy to stay within the hotel, but if I was looking for a base maybe I would not choose Venice again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    223
    64
    29
    25
See reviews for
109
259
56
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved staying in this hotel on Venice Beach after a long drive from Las Vegas. The location was perfect for the beach and promenade areas and there were plenty of great restaurants within walking distance

The staff were incredibly relaxed and friendly, the food, drinks and ambience of the restaurant and bar areas fabulous.

The rooms were quirky but very pleasant.

Loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beantown
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

One of those moments when I know i am getting older-on my recent visit to Venice beach with my 18 yo son looking to move to the area. i dont know the previous history, however the current Hotel owners definitely gave it a valiant effort to renovate over an old no frills three star type of hotel to its current existence. the room i was in (304) was small but updated with a decent tv, mattress, clean crisp sheets, small bath separated with a slider( not optimum with a roommate) kept clean from what i could see. the downstairs restaurant, though tiny, had a decent breakfast and the hotel has made every attempt to offer full service with the space they have to work with. The roof is gigantic and is a great party spot for sunsets, although it was just too cold on our visit to enjoy. Walls were on the thin side and not the best for light sleepers. the room was priciey- i didn't enjoy my view and the dumpsters smell lining the alley outside my room- ask for the other side, needless to say i didn't open the door for fresh air. valet was convenient but on the expensive side at $30 a day.
the area around the hotel is where is was feeling my oats- very dirty with lots of trash from the beachgoers and a carnival like ( not in a good way) atmosphere with all the stalls selling tourist junk. Wasn't the safest feeling getting coffee early morning and walking around at night with lots of what appeared to be homeless people. I think next time ill stay down the beach and ride a bike to the boardwalk if i want to visit the carnival for the day...

Room Tip: stay off trash alley and away from the trash trucks that come through at 7 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can I say? From the moment I arrived for an impromptu visit until I left everything was truly fantastic. I am a seasoned traveler and event planner (Domestic/International) and have high (but reasonable) expectations.Hotel Erwin has an amazing team (Michal, Steve, Aaron, Athena,Erin, housekeeping, valets, front desk, barlo staff- to name a few). The valet staff -awesome, front desk well informed and friendly, room service took under 20 minutes, the Barlo burger and truffle fries? to.die.for... High rooftop Lounge is- a- must, curl up with a blanket in one of the seating areas (killer view no matter where you are ) and tuck into some wonderful small plates and drinks (they accommodate gluten free diets), the view is simply perfect. My room was lovely (very roomy, the colors, bedding, toiletries, and artwork top notch) private deck with sliding doors created an outdoor living-nice touch! Michal was the perfect host for my stay- plan to come back soon to stay and hold a meeting or two in the hotels versatile meeting space! Not your typical hotel to say the least! Thanks for making my first visit to Venice Beach a memorable one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Shetravels468,

We all agree here that the Barlo burger is the best in town. Thank you for the staff mentions, we will make sure to pass them along. I see this was your first trip to Venice Beach; hopefully it will not be the last.

Best,
Sean Castady
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Erwin in April 2012.
There were 4 of us (girlfriends) and we shared a Partial Ocean View Suite.
STAFF: The valet and front desk team are fabulous, even when I backed my rental car into one of the pillars out front! Very helpful in recommending places to hire bicycles, bars, eateries. They printed us off a map to help us get to Hollywood because we didn't get GPS!
ROOMS: Very modern, funky... Bright yellow bathroom! The beds were comfortable, the sofa bed was alright too & big enough to accommodate 2 adults females! The view was gorgeous, even with only a part Ocean View but you have to expect that you are in a city and there are car parks, alleyways immediately below. Ask for a high floor!
LOCATION: The ONLY hotel that is right on the front of Venice Beach. Literally 20 seconds walk out the door and you're on the promenade with all the street vendors and entertainers everywhere. 4 minute walk to Muscle Beach ladies!!!!
NIGHTLIFE: I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant (Barlo) but we did get to experience High Rooftop Bar, if I get the chance to stay here again, I will reserve a table for one night. The view at sunset is incomparable, rumour has it the bar at High attracts some celebs during the summer although I didn't see anyone famous. The sofas all have heat lamps and the waiters provide you with blankets on a chilly evening. The cocktails are POTENT! Also, right around the corner is 'The Townhouse" has a comedy & burlesque night downstairs on a Wednesday evening with no cover charge. For the music fans out there 'The Townhouse' is where LMFAO filmed the video for "Sexy and I Know it"
All in all a great stay and I hope I get a chance to stay again some day!

Room Tip: High Floor & Ocean View. Also the suites are great as they have extra space for families/fiends
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear BrightonTA2012,

Thank you so much for such a great review about your trip to Venice Beach. We love to read comments about our staff and the hotel like this. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Hope to see you back soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived early and the room was not ready. The staff offered to valet park the car so that we could walk and get something to eat. When we came back I was given an ocean front room. It was on the second floor and overlooked the parking lot. There was some sketchy guy walking in the parking lot staring up at me while I stood on the balcony. This made me feel uneasy since I was staying there alone. The front desk staff was very accommodating with offering me alternate rooms. The third room was perfect for me with a partial ocean view and a partial city view. It was on the 6th floor I believe.

The negative for this room is that it's right next to a concrete stair case that leads down from the roof top terrace. It was very noisy when people would run down the stairs, especially women in high heels. I'm a very late sleeper so this didn't bother me but I know it would bother some people.

All the rooms I looked at were very nice. The property was recently renovated. Some of the rooms are very small. Ask to see whatever is available until you find the one you like. The rooms were very, very clean. I'm extremely picky about that and they passed with flying colors.

The hot water in the shower was lukewarm. The staff would come by each day to ask you if everything is ok. When I told him about the lack of hot water someone was in my room working on it within minutes. I went for dinner and when I came back it was fixed.

The hotel staff was always friendly and helpful whenever I needed them. I was visiting family in the area. The staff was accommodating in allowing my family members to utilize the valet parking whenever they came to visit me.

The rooftop terrace was lovely. It has an excellent view of Venice Beach, the ocean and downtown. The drinks and food were all very good. Apparently it gets crowded up there so the staff is pretty annoying about asking if you have a reservation. They will seat you without a reservation but will repeatedly inform you that the table is reserved and that you will have to move once the other party arrives. I understand the need to say that once but not to continue to repeat it.

They also allow people to stand and enjoy the rooftop which can be unpleasant for the seated guest. People are hovering over you, getting into your space to take pics and leaving their empty glasses and plates on your table. That was very unpleasant.

It gets cold at night so the terrace has heat lamps and plenty of blankets. It's a really nice atmosphere late at night when it's not so crowded.

The crowd seemed like a young, hip and European crowd when I was there. So they could be boisterous. I'm easy going so it didn't bother me but something to consider if you're looking for something more sedate.

The location is excellent. It is one block from the middle section of Venice Beach. There are lots of nice restaurants with walking distance. The boardwalk is right there. The beach is right there. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The room right next to the staircase leading down from the roof top terrace can be very loud. The se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear teaharbor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Erwin, we really appreciate it. I will make sure to pass along the great comments to the team here. We hope to see you back soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me start by saying that when we arrived, I realized that my take on Venice Beach 30 years ago when I was in my 20s is not my take on Venice Beach today. I wanted an oceanfront room and remembered that Venice Beach was really interesting and funky. What did not sink in was that a Venice Beach hotel would likely be a reflection of the area. And, it was. A run down exterior, located located right next to a very loud tattoo parlor, with rooms that felt a bit dirty and run down, with furniture from the 1970s. This was not the quiet ocean front get away we were looking for [my bad]. The room smelled musty. It was big enough and the furniture definitely was retro - not that comfortable but cool to look at. It all had a kind of "we really haven't updated anything since the 1970s" feel to it. The staff was accommodating. But the whole experience was a bit too earthy and funky for us. Which may be more of a statement about us than the hotel. Bottom line is that you should know what you are getting - a fairly run down hotel in a very noisy & eclectic section of the beach. Not a place to relax and unwind but if Venice is your scene, then this might be the right place for you. BTW, parking was $33/night - not something which we were happy about given that the rooms were already a bit expensive given the hotel's condition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear aaag,

Thank you for taking to time to give us the feedback and tell us about your most recent trip to Venice Beach, I am sorry to read that it did not meet your expectations. Venice is a very unique and diverse area which makes it such a great place to visit while in SoCal. Rest assured I will share this review with the rest of the management team and take action on the things we have control over. We went through a recent upgrade/renovation almost a year ago and the design and decor is retro, but all furniture in the hotel is relatively new. Should you decide to give Venice another try please contact myself directly and I will make sure you have a great time.

Best,
Sean Castady
Hotel Erwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;