We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VeniceViews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now to Save 15%!
Ranked #27 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VeniceViews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

7day business trip residence.Very nice, clean modern rooms with lots of space, also in the bathroom. Location directly at the beach and next to crazy Venice boardwalk. Cafés and Stores nearby. View from the rooftop terrace is amazing.
And they have a great roomservice team.

It only does not feel safe, being outdoor alone after nightfall in that area. But this feeling completely disappeared after sunrise.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Moxymom,

I agree, the rooftop view is amazing. Whenever it’s a busy day, I always take time to go up there and take in the wonderful view, best part of my day. Thank you so much for you kind review and we hope to see you back soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    222
    63
    29
    25
See reviews for
109
255
55
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is fantastic, the price is excellent for an oceanfront room (at least in January when we have stayed), and the staff provide excellent customer service. Specifically when we called to book our room, Lisette was helpful in our booking, and when we checked in Nicole was very accommodating. In years prior, we stayed on the 5th or 6th floor and when we checked in to the 3rd floor room, you get closer to the street noise and the ocean front view is blocked significantly. Not a problem, Nicole had our room moved the next day for the remainder of our stay! I would recommend requesting a 5th or 6th floor room- the 6th floor has had a complete renovation and the rooms are gorgeous. Also, the bathroom doors shut fully on the 6th floor! Which leads to the main downfall of the Erwin are those damn sliding doors that don't shut all the way when you use the restroom. We had a suite this year as we took my husbands sister with us and should note that the suites with a sleeper sofa are not available on the newly renovated 6th floor.
Breakfast at the onsite restaurant Barlo downstairs is excellent and affordable (their room service prices aren't crazy either- just a $3,50 charge as opposed to $3.50 plus 18% etc). The upstairs roof top bar is such a lovely place to watch the sunset. They have heat lamps and blankets for when the sun goes down.
The design of the place is funky with graffiti type murals in the rooms and old rock n' roll and bodybuilder pictures in the hallways. Their is a sunglasses rack in the room where you can purchase a pair for around $15 in case you forgot yours. It's a fun place with lots of great bars and restaurants, and of course the beach all in walking distance.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jkinz,

I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looks like you go the full Erwin/Venice Beach experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and share with future visitors all that we have to offer. Thanks and we hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked an ocean front room. When I opened my room door I noticed that my view was of the neighboring parking lot. I returned to the front desk where I was informed that all rooms on the 4th floor are "ocean front." I was given a breakfast voucher for my trouble. I feel strongly that the hotels claim of ocean front views are practically fraudulent.

Aside from this issue, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room is well appointed, the bathroom is modern and large. The location is only a block to the beach and 10 mins from street with restaurants and boutiques.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jmclaughlinjr,

Thank you for choosing Erwin for you recent stay in Venice Beach. I apologize about the miscommunication of views for certain rooms types; however I am happy to see the team made up for it. Please contact myself directly next time you are in the area and I will make sure we are on top of getting the correct room for you the first time.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for a night at Hotel Erwin in December. I was very impressed with the quality of the service I received from the front desk staff. They were friendly, helpful, and authentic. The room was clean and well-appointed. I appreciated extras like q-tips in the bathroom (a very simple thing, yet most hotels overlook it). We received an excellent discount through Discover Los Angeles which made the price of the hotel very affordable. Valet parking was rather expensive, but it's optional so I guess you can skip it if you're looking to save money. I wish the weather had been nicer so we could have enjoyed the rooftop bar. The location of the hotel is spectacular and only steps from the beach. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Meghan1214,

I am so glad to read that you were impressed with the great service during your visit; that’s what we’re all about. Thank you for mentioning the little extra that we do to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you back soon at Erwin!

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment the four of us entered the hotel, we were treated like just the people they were all waiting for. And when the reception desk worker discovered that our room wasn't yet ready, he presented us with a voucher for complimentary breakfast. Which, by the way, was delicious, fresh, and beautifully presented. The rooms (we got 2 suites) were large, retro-edgy, and well-appointed. The rooftop bar was amazing. DO take your earplugs, because due to the location, there is constant and loud street traffic, up to and including 3:30 AM. But don't stay there if you don't want to be in the scene. If you do want that, you can't do better on Venice Beach than this hotel. We will definitely look for the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side if you want a quieter experience. But that won't guarantee it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear jwh_10m,

I love to read reviews like yours, it makes my day. We were so happy to hear that Erwin was exactly what you were looking for and we want to say a big thank you for choosing us. We hope that you can make it back again sometime soon!

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose dos Campos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our view was for an alley. The tinted glass bathroom sliding door provided no privacy in the toilet. A lot of extras, such as internet connection, valet parking (very expensive). The comfort was not too bad, but for the price that was expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Marina311,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I apologize that you felt there was a lot of extra charges and that the view was not as you would have liked. I will make sure to follow up with my team so they explain the certain room types and views associated with them. Please contact myself directly next time you are in the area and I will make sure you have a view better to your liking.

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wasn't even a guest at this hotel, needed a favor from the reception desk and the receptionist working (Yerin, I believe) was more than helpful and went above and beyond. Because of this hospitality I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Max L,

I love to see that your very short interaction compelled you to write the review. I want to say thank you for the kind words about our employee and we hope to see you as a guest sometime soon!

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.