We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Venice (and Santa Monica)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location for Venice (and Santa Monica)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is in such a great location, walking distance to a lot of cool places--bars/restaurants-- in Venice Beach including the beach and the strand (bike path). Also super close to Abbott Kinney Ave, a great, artsy neighborhood shopping area with cute one-of-a-kind boutiques, coffee shops, bars and restaurants. And it's pretty close to Santa Monica pier and 3rd Street Promenade. SO all in all, this location is perfect!

The hotel is nice too. It's in good shape for being just off the beach. The roofdeck bar/restaurant is amaaaazing. We went in December, when it was chilly, but they have tons of heat lamps and blankets which is a cool touch. Enjoy a sunset up there FOR SURE. The view from south of Venice up to Malibu was awesome and the sunset, super picturesque from that vantage point. :) That was a memorable part of our trip.

The hotel staff is very helpful. The front desk folks were always willing to help and give us advice where to eat, drink or shop. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. You get a mini-bar fridge and free coffee with coffee pot to brew up in the morning. THE BEDS....WOW, super comfortable. What a great sleep and considering its location, it was quiet too. Peaceful and comfortable. Ate breakfast in the morning and had a drink or two in the evening at the little bar/restaurant downstairs as well, and it was delicious, but a little pricey.

The only other downside in need of mentioning is "watch the extras" (I agree with MissAnd123 reviewer). The price per night is reasonable UNTIL you find out you pay for wifi and parking!? $30 for two nights!? A bit shocking and something they should definitely mention up front, not at check out. To allow the option to find street parking nearby. They did however comp our wi-fi, after raising an eyebrow, so good customer service at least. And overall still a great stay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear DDSILVA114,

Thank you so much for your review; we appreciate you sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor with future guests. I apologize that the parking charge was not mentioned to you when you arrived. We have valet parking only; however there is plenty of street parking in the area that is free. I am so happy to see you were able to take advantage of our rooftop; it’s an amazing place to watch the sunset. We hope to see you back soon and hope that you have a wonderful day!!

Warm Regards,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    247
    68
    30
    26
See reviews for
120
280
58
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived at Venice Beach after driving all day from Arizona and booked on spec - the staff were helpful, front desk and especially concierge.

The tarried seemed reasonable... until you added parking, and even wifi - the only US hotel at which we paid for wifi! It all adds up.

Highlight:
Sunset cocktails at the rooftop bar. The view is a stunning 360-degrees, from Venice Beach to the Hollywood hills. Sunset was like a postcard. It was a cool evening but there were gas heaters and you could ask for blankets. Highly recommended.

Good things:
- location. You're right on the beach.
- the front desk staff were thoughtful when placing us, asking about view and noise, etc.. They also obliged with local restaurant recommendations, which were good
- concierge & valet parking were a bunch of great guys, efficient & friendly
- some of the small touches were kinda funky, eg. the 'foo not disturb / make up my room' tags were made up to look like Chinese takeaway menus.

Other stuff:
- rooms had everything we needed (including some spectacular LA-style bathrobes... lurid green leopard print!) and the colour scheme was bright & tropical. But the refurbishment wasn't enough to save it from looking tired.
- we avoided on-site meals, too pricey.
- charging for wifi... really??

Overall, it was fine and there were some really good bits, but I couldn't get past the feeling we were being fleeced a bit. I suppose it's Venice Beach after all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MissAnd123,

Thanks for choosing us for you recent trip to Venice Beach. We really appreciate all of your comments and taking the time to write the review. I will make sure to share with the staff as well!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stylish modern hotel with side views of the ocean. Right off of the beach and bike path. Located down the beach from Santa Monica pier and shopping district. The neighborhood is typical beachfront shops and bars just for reference.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was the higher end rooms and it made all the difference. We got o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Kyle R,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the area and at the hotel. I agree, our top floor does have some great views, especially now since it’s so much clearer. We hope to see you back soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Hotel Erwin surpassed our expectations, each and every day of our 7 night stay. Not only is the location fantastic, located 1 block from the beach, 15 minutes from the airport and 30 from Beverly Hills, the help was attentive and courteous. The furnishings were new and tasteful with the most comfortable beds and down pillows that we've experienced in our various travels. Our room was located just opposite from the elevator but never were we disturbed by the sounds of guests coming and going.

Be prepared for a variety of vagrants around the hotel and beach, this seems to be the nature of the area. At no time did we feel unsafe, especially with the valet available 24/7.

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear smg0313,

The staffed loved to hear that you had your best night sleep here!! I love our beds as well, they are very comfortable. Venice is a great place to visit for all walks of life and that’s what makes this place special. Hope to see you back soon!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great room. Very comfortable bed. Amazing staff. Good drinks in the bar. Great location in Venice. Cool decor. Magical way to spend a birthday.

A wonderful find of a hip fun boutique hotel in Los Angeles. The top floor makes a great party pad and I would recommend it to other locales.

Room Tip: City view rooms overlooked an alley, but still okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Hawley A,

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to put such good comments about us here on TripAdvisor. Also from all of us at the hotel, happy belated birthday!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a top notch full service hotel smack in the middle of Venice Beach. There is no other. The staff is uniformly fantastic. The food (incl room service) is excellent and inventive (potato pancake eggs benedict anyone?). My gf has serious food allergies, and the staff is very, very careful to protect her. The hotel hosts many international guests, and the rooftop bar with a wide angle beach view ("High," haha) is a favorite of LA hipsters. Valet parking is pricey ($33/day), but beach parking always is. If you like Venice with its famously funky vibe, but you want serious good service, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony, chairs and table. Weed is fine there, and you will have a good enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear cjg87,

Thank you so much for the great comments! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon, especially since the weather is going to be in the mid 70’s, that’s summer weather! Thanks again.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My fiance and I stayed in here on the occasion of her company holiday party. The rooms are charming, clean and well decorated. The staff is friendly, professional, and aims to please. They blend modern decor with industrial and still manage to achieve a comfortable setting. And the location can't be beat.

The good, the bad, and the ugly:

The Good: The hotel could not be better located if you're looking to spend time in Venice Beach. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and I felt like my patronage was appreciated. There are 2 bars to choose from, and our ocean view room was charming, despite only being on the 3rd floor. They also have an excellent mini bar and in-room amenities that are available for purchase: sunscreen, chap stick, bottled water- everything one might need for a beach weekend getaway should they forget to pack them.

The Bad: They play music throughout the hotel that they never seem to turn down or off. This can be annoying at 4 AM when you hear music coming from the hallway as you're trying to sleep. We also intermittently heard the sound of a boiler or a heater turning on (at least that's what we think it was). It sounded like a squeaky wheel on a shopping cart was rolling over our room, but it lasted for 45-60 seconds each time. This happened 6 times in one night. So you're not going to get the best nights sleep, at least based on the room were in. We also found (and this is true of so many hotels for some reason) that when the curtains are closed they do not fully keep out the light. They are designed to meet in the middle of the windows/sliding glass doors, but they don't overlap or ever truly match. We both wound up sleeping facing away from the windows so we didn't wind up staring into light as the sun came up (again, not the best night's sleep).

The Ugly: The hotel is located a 1/2 block off the beach. Very few of the rooms actually face the ocean. Some rooms have less than ideal views, overlooking dingy alleys or parking lots. There are also a lot of homeless people, beggars and crazies in Venice, especially around this area. Not the best neighborhood to walk around at night.

In summation, Hotel Erwin is a lovely hotel that is right on the beach. The hotel boasts an awesome rooftop lounge that gives panoramic views of the entire city from Marina del Rey to Malibu, and inland as far as Century City. It is geared towards younger guests, and because of that it maintains a very fun feel/environment. Definitely worth a visit, and hands down one of the nicest hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Also, ask for a beach-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Scott T,

We really appreciate your review about the hotel and the area. I will make sure to follow up with our Engineering team for the issues with the noise and curtains. Thank you for the support and we hope to see you back soon!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.