We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“what a night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

we had a great stay at this hotel in late november. huge rooms, nice view over the rooftops of venice beach. the rooftop lounge was exceptional, with good drinks and a beautiful view of the beach.
the service was great and friendly, especially aaron from the front desk was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear peter r,

So glad to hear that had a great time here at Erwin. Thanks for the comments and I will make sure to follow up with Aaron. We hope that you will choose us again to your next visit to Venice Beach!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    239
    65
    30
    25
See reviews for
113
273
56
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms were super clean with cool decor. The staff was great, especially Nicole at the front desk she was super helpful. Decently priced with Good vibes. Only problem was no liquor store near by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Schromo,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about the staff and the hotel. I will make sure to share with Nicole. Hopefully next time you come to the hotel there will be a liquor store opened up near by!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights recently, really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again! The room was huge and the bed was really comfortable. The decor is really modern with some great ideas like sunglasses in the room to purchase. Service in the hotel was great - valet was very prompt getting our car ($33 a day). Of course, the location is great - right on the beach in the middle of Venice.
The negatives of our stay were that our room was never serviced, we received a late checkout but someone knocked on our door at regular check out time and wifi is charged per device, rather than per room - we ended up paying $50 instead of the $20 we were expecting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear AuskMac,

First I would like apologize about the housekeeping issued you faced, I will make sure to follow up with them to see what happen and how we can avoid this in the future. Thank you so much for the kind words in the review and we really hope you will choose us again for your next visit to West LA.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

the location was exceptional, right on the beach as stated and in the heart of the
very eclectic city of venice. lots to see and a great walk 2 miles along the pedestrian and bike path to santa monica pier.
we can't say enough about the terrific staff, especially lisette at the front desk who was exceptionally helpful in all that we asked regarding food, fun and travel. wish there were more like her at all the places we have stayed in our travels.
the accomodations were good quality, after being able to view 3 different room types, we choose a great suite with the ocean view.
the roof top lounge offered the one of a kind view of venice beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear mrs p,

We would like to say thank you for the great review you posted about Hotel Erwin. Lisette and the rest of the team were pleased to see it. I am glad you were able to take advantage of all we have to offer and we hope that you visit again soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

excellent location, and very clean and comfortable. It's the spruced up the old former Best Western Marina Pacific (dark wood, drab walls, icky art, ugly quilted bedspreads) to Ikea style hip... Yes, it's an improvement but, Ikea?
The problem is that we were billed at two room rates up from what we had and the adjustment was not exactly gracious... Bring your reservation confirmation letter in hand or have it on your laptop.

Room Tip: The hotel starts counting floors from the basement parking, so the 3rd floor is...the First Floor up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear bif53,

We would like to apologize about the rate discrepancy; we will make sure to review with staff on how to double check so that a confirmation is not needed from the guest. We appreciate your comments about the location and cleanliness of the hotel. We hope that you choose Hotel Erwin again for you next trip to Venice Beach!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Last weekend I stayed two nights at the Hotel Eriwn in Venice Beach - WOW, what an exceptional hotel for the price and location. The ENTIRE staff were so friendly and knowledgeable. Lisette in reservations gave me excellent customer service and was very friendly. At check-in Yerin was so welcoming and kind - making sure everything I needed was handeld. And as I walked passed the reception area several times throughout the weekend she greeted me with my name and was genuinely happy that I was having a such a great time. I had a king, ocean view suite that was very spacious and nicely appointed. I was impressed with the LATHER bath toiletries and the towels and bed lines were of good quality. ALL the meals and cockails were superb. My breakfast of poached eggs, toast, sausage was awesome. Each breakfast was homeade to order, which I found quite impressive - and served quickly and efficiently. All the wait-staff and servers were people who cared about what they were doing and enjoyed their jobs - isn't that refreshing!!!!! And lastly the view from the roof top bar was amazing. You could see all the way north and south our beautiful California coastline with no obstruciton of the view - just perfect at sunset :) All in all, for the location and the price you can not beat this hotel. I have lived in Los Angeles (Pasadena) my entire life and I think this hotel is perfect :)

Room Tip: Large, corner suite was aweome with great views :) You can hear the ocean waves. You have a choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Laura T,

From the entire staff here at Erwin, thank you so much for the wonderful comments. The team was so pleased to read it and reviews like this always make their day. We hope that you come to visit again soon and Happy Holidays!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I liked this hotel so much I hate to share it on here. LOL. We stayed here two months ago & have already booked a few days in December. Twice in one year - what a treat! This is an awesome retro hotel with a bar on the rooftop with spectacular views at sunset. Great little restaurant on the first floor. We felt safe and it was a laid back location. You walk one block over to the beach and there is a police substation right there between the beach and road. We had a little balcony with 2 chairs. It is nice to be able to step outside & get fresh air when you want too. I personally love a balcony. Venice Bch obviously is an eclectic place to itself so you have to like that sort of thing to enjoy this hotel. We had an awesome time. Bfast was really good and eco-friendly downstairs using local farmers products.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear pchess 12345,

Although you tried to be secret about it, we do thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything Hotel Erwin and Venice Beach have to offer. Come back soon!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.