We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in hotel on way back from Baja kayak trip with my son. Funky little hotel right on Venice Beach. Close to all the action with a great rooftop bar. Not far from airport. Very helpul staff for arranging transportation, recommending stores tec. Hotel was under reno but it didn't diminish its charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear TorontoMcCoy2,

Thanks for all your great comments about the hotel. It’s awesome you were able to take advantage of all the things we have to offer here at Erwin. Please choose us again when you are on your next kayak trip!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    240
    67
    30
    25
See reviews for
114
274
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very good customer service. Front desk personnel is super nice and helpful. Valet at the hotel is awesome, they get it within minutes with no hassle. Food at the restaurant is great, we got a breakfast with eggs, pancakes, etc, was delicious. Great condition of the rooms..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Stas K,

I love to hear reviews like yours, thank you so much! I will be sure to pass along the mentions about the staff and please think of us next time you in the Venice Beach area.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was pretty awesome in its own right, but I have to give a special kudos to Courtney and Lisette who went out of their and gave us a special accommodation even though we didn't ask for it. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Omar R,

We appreciate you posting a review of Hotel Erwin here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of the great staff we have here at the hotel. We hope to see you back soon before summer is over!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Okay, this hotel is beyond amazing. Number one- what we all care about most- the room service is FAST :) Secondly, Aaron, the front desk guy has helped me book 2 rooms here and has helped my friends book numerous rooms too. We all came to one conclusion, this guy rocks. He is so personable. I watched his personality change from helping an elderly lady check into her room, then to helping us (2 young, working adults). Thats what makes a good employee- he gets along with anyone.... Anyway, The staff is so help full and the rooftop bar is beautiful. I also love the green leopard robes they have in the rooms. I didnt get a chance to eat in the restaurant, but the room service was delicious. Also the location couldnt be better, its right in the heart of everything. 5 stars Erwin. I will see you soon.

I will say their website doesnt do them justice- add pics of your views or the rooms on the main page and you will never have any openings!

Room Tip: Splurge for the full ocean view king suite- you wont regret it, I promise. Best view and amazing bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear brookeb1234,

Wow, we really appreciate all your wonderful comments on the hotel, thank you for your review. I will be sure to pass them along to the team. You must hurry back though, summer is almost over…!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Hotel Erwin is the place to stay in the Venice area. The staff is attentive, the hotel is clean, and the roof top bar boasts an amazing unmatched views of the surrounding areas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience a beach hotel on the west side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear craig f,

We appreciate you posting a review of Hotel Erwin here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of the rooftop views, which is the best part of my day. We hope to see you back soon before summer is over!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I threw an engagement party for my son and his fiancee at the rooftop lounge "High" at the Hotel Erwin in Venice and it was one of the best parties I've ever given or attended. The Catering Director, Michal Swerdlow, was great to work with and the staff assigned to event was extremely attentive, attractive and wonderful to my guests. Standing on the terrace as the sun set in the Pacific provided an unforgettable backdrop to celebrate good friends, great food and awesome cheer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Beth M,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, we would like to congratulate you and your fiancé as well as thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent engagement party at High Rooftop Lounge. . We really appreciate all the great comments written about your experience, I will be sure to pass them along to the catering team. We hope that you choose us again for your next party in Venice Beach.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel Erwin was very accommodating during my stay. I was responsible for booking rooms for over 20 employees with them, and thankfully it was a very easy process with the help of Jairo Torres, who never said no to any of the many requests I constantly made. The hotel also helped distribute care packages we had set up for each guest at arrival. Aaron, at the front desk was also very helpful throughout our stay and made check in and check out a breeze. I really appreciated the way the Erwin Staff treated my coworkers as well as myself. The rooms were also excellent, with beach front views only seconds from the Venice Boardwalk. I was sad to leave, and can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: third floor was a very quiet floor and I was still able to enjoy my ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear RachelKnightRAK,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Erwin. I am glad to hear that everything went smooth with your booking process all the way through the end of your stay. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations. I will share this with Jairo and Aaron as well. We hope that you choose us again for your next stay in Venice Beach.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.