We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary hotel with the feel of a boutique place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Erwin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Erwin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Erwin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291 (Westside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%!
Ranked #22 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Contemporary hotel with the feel of a boutique place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Erwin remains a remains a home from home and with the updated decor, it's a contemporary hotel with the feel of a boutique place. Enjoyed great views from our Ocean Front room, well worth booking if there's availability. Breakfast at Barlo is always great as is the service - friendly, warm and conversational. Rooftop lounge bar High is always a defining moment of a stay here, get to know the hostess as the spaces now operate on a reservation basis but as residents we were always accommodated. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean Front if there's availability. The alley-facing rooms on the lower floors have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Beamend,

I am glad to see you liked you Ocean View, front row seats to the whirlwind of Venice Beach. Thank for you taking time to write the review, looks like you we able to take advantage of all the Erwin has to offer. Come back soon!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    216
    59
    29
    21
See reviews for
93
242
52
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Most impressed with the great location, bright rooms, and super friendly staff. Make sure to grab a drink or two on the rooftop!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear mishmash23,

Thank you so much for the review about the Hotel Erwin. I am so happy to hear that you had a great time with us! Come back soon, the rooftop with always be there with that great view!!

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the very best roof-top scenes in LA! The service was top-notch, fabulous personnel, food and drinks great and the remodel is fresh, modern and upbeat.
I'll be back!
Sharon

Room Tip: 616 is my fave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Sharonlacroix,

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere here at Erwin. We hope that you return soon. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it.

Best,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay in the heart of Venice beach in an upmarket hotel then this is the place for you, rooms large, hip, modern and clean. Disadvantage is checkin from 3pm and so I would not recommend it if you are arriving from an international flight in the morning and all you want to so is have a shower and a sleep because you will basically be waiting around all day. If you are arriving in the afternoon then you won't have a problem. On the other side of the coin checkout is 12pm so that's a bonus. What is annoying is you need to pay extra for Internet. Would recommend this hotel for wealthy singles or couples and domestic business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear ClotildeBlanchet,

I apologize as it seems you were not able to get checked in right when you arrived. We really try out best to accommodate any early arrivals. I wanted to thank you for all the awesome comments you have about the hotel. I feel you really got to enjoy the Erwin experience first hand when reading the review. We do offer complimentary internet for all of our Joy of Life Club members, which is our membership rewards program. Next time let’s get you signed up and you can also enjoy a complimentary welcome amenity, early check-in, late check-out (if available) and points to redeem for future stays. We hope you return soon to wonderful Venice Beach.

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Anderson Abraham was amazingly help and very very professional! I will return to drinks on the roof lounge - amazing views!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parker co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Hotel Erwin. My daughter was looking at the
University of Southern California and we wanted a quick trip to LAX and
Universal Studios. The Erwin staff impressed me the most. We needed extra
towels and they were delivered immediately. We were given a friendly call
after our arrival from the courteous and friendly staff to make certain we had
been accommodated. Lovely hotel and great view from rooftop lounge.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear kari h,

Great decision to stay here at Erwin! It’s an awesome place to enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. If your daughter chooses USC, then you have a new home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We recently attended our daughters medical school graduation from UCLA. She has a house in ,Venice Beach and we wanted to stay close to her. The Erwin is 2 blocks from her house and she suggested we stay there. What a great suggestion....we loved staying there and found the staff to be very enjoyable, friendly and accomodating. The rooms were nicely decorated and we loved the rooftop lounge. I would highly recommend this nice boutique hotel if you are in the Venice Beach area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Gloria M,

First, congratulations on you daughters graduation, that’s wonderful. Second, thank you so much for all the great comments about the hotel and staff. I will make sure to pass them along. On your next special occasion, we hope to see you here!

Thanks,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Erwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.