We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on Sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff's Edge

Cliff's Edge
3626 west sunset blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026
(323) 666-6116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 8,658 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Edgecliff
Transit: The number 2 and 4 bus lines stop at the corner of Sunset and Maltman.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An oasis on Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The serenity of the setting is matched by the freshest of the food. We started with a drink in the bar, which on Wednesday night serves a very special drink menu. The bartender was warm and friendly and open a bottle of wine for me to taste, before ordering. Then on to dinner, which is somewhat of a tapas style. we ordered the gravlax, beet salad, brusselsprouts,
Octopus and the agnolotti. Each dish was well prepared and very tasty. I really enjoyed the agnolotti. For dessert we had the chocolate tarte and the pudding like, salted caramel. They were both delicious. We so enjoyed the meal that felt we could sit there all evening, enjoying the ambience.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food in a warm inviting setting

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Went here (3/30/13) to celebrate a birthday and it ruined the night. They didn't have several things on the menu and food was just ok at best. We told the manager about the birthday celebration and he said they would do something special...they did NOTHING and when I confronted the manager he was very rude and did nothing. He didn't even apologize and blamed his staff. Actually the servers and the patio were the only nice things about the restaurant but the overall experience was EEK! If you want a nice night out keep looking for another spot and if you are a restaurant manager go apply because if the owners are smart there will be a manager spot open!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A must drink/dine - if only for the ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a lovely evening here recently with old friends. The one amazing thing about this place is the outdoor seating and serene lighting - you can hear nothing coming from W. Sunset... The cocktails are inventive and the food seasonal and fresh. We had mostly vegetable dishes with the brussel sprouts being the stand-out dish for me. (There are plenty of meat dishes as well.) Outstanding service. Unless you are walking, plan on valet and if you don't live in L.A., be sure you get an idea of where you are going first - there is no sign in front the restaurant (at all) that I could find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“SUCH AMBIANCE and then there's the Oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

completely hidden in an oasis off busy Sunset Blvd. in Silver Lake, you'd have to know it's there. $5 valet parking in a small scruffy parking lot in front or with luck, we found a free spot on a nearby sidestreet.
I almost hesitate to mention the Thursday evening 6 to 7 - $1 oyster hour ! 1/2 regular price and DELISH ! great cocktails to pair with the oysters. luckily it was Dine Out LA week, so we had fixed price menu option, as it is a little pricey. the interior is nice, however the much larger outdoor space is amazing! a wonderful setting with plenty of space heaters, so the LA chill is not an issue. { warm enough that i shed my jacket for short sleeves }
we arrived right at 6:00 and there were 2 - 3 other tables. 90% full by the time we staggered out full and happy around 8:00. the table service was excellent. our only critique was the host was awol when we arrived and the numerous staff were polite but ineffective.
on to the food. oh the octopus appitezer, generous size, and scallops entree. chicken liver pate and lamb sausage were quite good as well. desert, ONLY because it was included with Dine Out LA menu, were "to die for"! ergo the staggering out.
2 people - 2 dozen oysters, 5 cocktails, $35 each fixed price menu came to $158 including tax.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow - What an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a lovely, romantic restaurant with great food. I had never heard of it, but my boyfriend found it on the web. When you arrive, you see a parking lot with cracks in the asphalt and not very well maintained. I wondered where the entrance was. You walk through the entrance and what do you see? A beautiful garden with romantic lights. The tables are beautiful with benches on one side and chairs on the other. The benches have beautiful pillows. The food is Mediterranean and beyond amazing. Fresh figs (yumm-o), rabbit and the most wonderfully light and delicious flourless chocolate cake. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff's Edge also viewed

 

Been to Cliff's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.