We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aroma
2903 West Sunset Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90026
323-644-2833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #708 of 8,645 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unexpected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A late arrival in L.A. and looking for a bite to eat. Using Tripadvisor we found this place. Not an inspiring entourage, but GREAT food. Penne with porcini and pancetta: wow! Veal scaloppine Milanese style: crispy and tasteful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unassuming exterior, fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What a find!! This small restaurant in a strip mall off of Sunset Blvd in Silverlake had some good reviews from our neighbors, so we thought we would try it. It has the type of facade that doesn't look particularly appealing and the parking was tight though valet was available. However, the small intimate and quiet interior was a surprise but the best surprise of all was the delicious food and attentive staff! Our waiter recited a long list of specials, each one sounding absolutely delicious. We settled on the signature appetizer of a medley of chopped mushrooms with fontina Parmesan crisps in a rich and creamy sauce that was large enough for two people to share but in retrospect, we each loved it so much we probably should have gotten one apiece. I had linguine with tiny clams, broccoli I ans tomatoes and my husband had veal parmesan that was super thin, lightly breaded and melt in your mouth delicious. We will definitely return!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You certainly cannot tell a book by its cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located in a strip mall on a high traffic street (is that a redundancy in LA?) this restaurant is a real jewel. The waiter presented the daily specials in such a way that most of our 7 person group didn't even look at the printed menu. The caprese salad, the mushroom truffle appetizer, and the other special appetizer let us know that we were in for a great meal.

We took a look at the winelist, which thought reasonably priced, was rather ordinary, but when the waiter heard two of us discussing the two better reds on the list, he offered us a look at some "reserve" wines - not a winelist, he just brought out 4 Barolos and an Amarone - $70 for any of the Barolos, and $65 for the latter. We took the Amarone and one of the Barolos and thought the price reasonable for what we got.

The entrees included sliced duck breast - crisp on the outside, medium rare and tender in tha middle, linguine and manila clam sauce, Baramundo ...all were very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great coffee. Nice to sit outside on Sunset Blvd and enjoy a nice menu. The Jachnun and smoked salmon plate dish was very good. Medium to high priced food. We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the outside....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were attending a play in the area and wanted to try a different restaurant nearby so after reading Trip advisor reviews we decided to give this place a try. it really does look awful from the outside but don't let that stop you from going in. It was delightful! The service was excellent...Jaime was great! Ask about the mushroom/truffle appetizer and get it! They give you a nice bruschetta to start and wine corkage is only $10. I had an eggplant pasta and my husband had the linguine and manila clam special...both were very good. We came early but it was filling up when we left so reservations are needed. This is not a fancy, romantic spot but a very good neighborhood Italian restaurant...we will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

 

Been to Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.