We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOWTIME HILTON” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #42 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SHOWTIME HILTON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent time and service was fantastic everyone made you feel at home- The rooms very confortable and alot of space..Room service quick and good, and the staff in general extremely polite and efficient. Free shuttle to the park and City street , and the bar and restuarants very good.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    785
    304
    103
    67
See reviews for
823
541
90
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location if you are planning to cover Universal Studio. Free shuttle to the Studio every 10 minutes. Free shuttle to the train station too if you want to explore rest of the LA...very well connected.
Rooms very well appointed and spacious, great breakfast and friendly staff. Complimentary Wi-Fi. TRavel Desk very helpful - arranged our private car to Disneyland...no fuss, great driver, beautiful luxurious car and quite a competitive price for that level of service!
Negatives - check-in was an issue, we arrived at 6am and were not given early check-in despite our request during the booking process. The lifts were super slow...I believe some maintenance issue.
Overall - a great experience. Highly recommended. would definitley stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a higher level room to get a good view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl Harbor, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love that they offered a free shuttle to Universal Studios that drops you off right at City Walk. A lot of choices for breakfast at an affordable price. The enclosed parking is also a nice security feature. I highly recommend this hotel and will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First off, I would like to say that it was top notch customer service. A lot of staff walking around ready to help you. When I needed amenities for the room, they took care of it right away. The check in was a bit of a wait, but not bad. Our room was quite spacious, compared to the average hotel room. We noticed the fridge was missing from the room, so I reported it and a fridge was brought up within minutes. Our room was also missing the advertised chair and ottoman, but I didn't realize this until after we got home.The only "con" I would have to say is that the bathtub, on the outside near the floor had a 7 inch thick scratch which was quite rusted and I'm surprised that maintenance didn't repair this prior to renting the room, (room #754). Jesse at the concierge desk was fantastic! Inside the hotel is Dreamline Limo Inc., providing tours and car services. Adrian was our driver for the all day tour and he is fantastic ! The only other "con" that I would report is that the small Starbucks inside the hotel isn't a full service Starbucks, and they only serve one brew of coffee. I like strong coffee and I always order bold, but they didn't have it.

Room Tip: quieter floors away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. Our staff strives to provide excellent customer service and it sounds like we achieved this goal. We want to thank you for your feedback regarding the accommodations and our Coffee Corner. These items will be forwarded and followed up with the proper departments. Your insights help us to improve and enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel provides excellent service; anytime you need anything, you just ask and the staff are right there to serve you. Only complaint I had was the bathtub in the room had a 7 inch thick scratch that was also rusted, and if you weren't careful, your foot/toe could have rubbed against it. Our room was missing the advertised chair and ottoman, but because we were so busy, I didn't notice it until I had gotten home and went on the hotel's website.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and that our staff made you feel at home. Your feedback helps us to improve our products and service. We thank you for your insights and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

There were pros and cons to this hotel.
The pros were it's proximity to Universal Studios. It's a 5 min walk so even though there's a shuttle bus provided, after the first day we found it was just as quick to walk. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. And there's a small Starbucks in the hotel.

The cons were that the check in staff didn't give a very warm welcome, and I felt like we received worse service because we were obviously tourists and not business customers. It also took a long time to check in and it was a long walk from the car park to the desk and rooms. The hotel is mostly carpented in public areas and it was really difficult to wheel our luggage across the thick carpet. Parking costs 25 dollars per night which soon adds up.
The room was clean enough but smelt of smoke and the decor felt quite dated. We also had a problem with a leaky tap and a noisy fridge and air con.

Overall I don't feel we got value for money and wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the disappointing service that you received; I will make sure to address these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback helps us to improve. We are currently during renovations to improve the look and feel of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again once this renovation is complete to show off the new look and WOW you with our customer service.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel as a young man 30 years ago. I was pleasantly surprised that it continues to maintain a standard of excellence. The staff was courteous, the rooms nicely appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to welcome you back and thank you for your loyalty. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Towsley
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LTowsley@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.