We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cali Trip ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #36 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cali Trip ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This property was what I expect from Hilton. Property was clean ... Beautiful lobby and dinning areas. Buffett was amazing. Giving 4 stars because of lack of insulation between conjoined doors. Heared everything from the neighbors rooms.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    732
    283
    94
    63
See reviews for
761
512
83
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The location is convenient to Universal Studios and to the red line on the Metro for access to central LA.
The room was comfortable and quiet. Housekeeping is definitely sub-par at this hotel however. There was hair on the floor of the bathroom. The plastic vent above the bathroom sink has obviously not been cleaned for a long time, as there was layered dust on it. The biggest problem was that our room was completely skipped for servicing and we came back from a long and hot day to find a room with still unmade beds and dirty towels. We had even made a point of letting housekeeping know when we left the room earlier that day so that they could make use of our absence and access the room. By time we got back in the evening, it was too late for them to offer anything but an apology and some fresh towels. The excuse offered was that the staff did not speak English and therefore might have misunderstood what we were telling them when we left! I get better service at the Motel 6, and at these prices, this type of mistake is inexcusable. On top of that, the bottled water in our room (for which there is a fee) had already been opened by the previous occupant, and a fresh bottle had not been provided. We had to call the front desk to let them know so they would not charge US for the bottle.
Granted, housekeeping might make an occasional oversight, but this combined with the bottled water fiasco gave me very little confidence in the management, and housekeeping in particular.
in addition. the concierge desk offered little information about access to the metro, a map of the metro, or worthy places to visit. We actually walked across to the Sheraton and got much better information from their concierge, along with a helpful map. I am a frequent Hilton guest, but this experience was definitely not up to the standard I expect from a Hilton. Overall I would probably stay again, thinking this was a rare oversight, but management needs to be aware that this leaves a very unfavorable impression. For the prices charged, mistakes like this are inexcusable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We value your loyalty and your comments have been noted to help us provide improvements on our property and services. I want to apologize that your recent stay did not meet your normal expectations. I have reached out to our Executive Office and a representative will contact you shortly to discuss this in further detail. We want to thank you for choosing Hilton and look forward to providing you flawless service the next time you stay with us.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Upfront I'll say this review is from the perspective of the business traveler who has stayed at this property consistently over the last few months. I've stayed at both hotels located next to Universal.

Overall the rooms are consistently nice. I can't say I've had an unacceptable room and they all seem to have plenty of room. Every room has a mini fridge. The TV has a decent channel selection. The only issue I've had with the rooms is the air conditioning is inconsistent from room to room. Sometimes so silent you don't know it's on, sometime a blowing fan and sometimes with annoying humming noises.

The elevators are a nightmare. I believe they have 5 but I'm pretty sure all of them do not work at the same time. When the hotel is busy they have a staff member stand at the elevators constantly pushing the up button to try and get the elevators to come down. No idea what the problem is but it's been that way for the last 6 months.

The bellmen are outstanding. After a couple of weeks they recognized that I was a regular and have always been very helpful.

The front desk staff are nice, but they have no idea if you've stayed at their property before. Usually after staying at a hotel as much as I have at this one, the front desk recognizes you as a regular customer. Instead it feels like it's the first time they've met you every week.

And if you are a member of Hilton Honors, don't expect much as well. Free internet for gold and diamond. They have no executive lounge, although they do have executive floors. They give you breakfast coupons that are only good for the 'Deluxe Continental Breakfast'. Not really deluxe they bring you a plate of food with a small cup of fruit, several pastries and a piece of fruit of some kind. This is for gold and diamond. Diamond gets nothing more even though they would be guaranteed exec lounge access under the Honors program. They seem more interested in upselling you to the Breakfast Buffet for $9. Personally, the breakfast process is too much of a pain. Need to be seated in the restaurant, wait for the food to be brought out, and you may not want what's on that plate. For me I really just look for something quick that I can get in and out since I'm off to work.

I did get the 'privilege' to stay on the Executive Floor, which require you to swipe your key to get up there, one time (I'm a diamond member. Not sure of the point of the key swipe since there is no lounge up there. The entire difference was, a robe, an actual bath mat and turndown services that sometimes left a chocolate on your pillow, although this only happened one of 3 nights.

Room upgrades are rare and far between.

So, if you are a business traveler looking for the perks of being a frequent traveler, don't expect much here.

As for me, I'm voting with my feet and will be moving to the other property located down the block.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are ##64-69, as they face away from the highway but are not right up against the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We value our guests and their experiences help us improve our product and services. I regret that you had issues while staying at our hotel. We are in the process of upgrading the elevators to increase the speed and flow of our guests. We value our HHonor members and want you to be satisfied with every stay. Our Rooms Division will reach out to you shortly to discuss this matter in further detail. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We landed late Thursday night and went straight to hotel. This Hilton has a feel of a five star hotel. The customer service is not to be believed! Upon check in they explained how to get to the park, parking at park and ticket choices. They were very helpful. We had a private tour booked of Universal so we were all set but they were still very helpful.

Room overlooked universal, very pretty at night. The bell hop offered to get us milk for our baby girl. He even asked if we needed it warmed.

The next morning the hotel was full. Breakfast was fabulous, ate at restaurant in lobby.

We rented a car and held our bags until the car arrived. They loaded us up and we were on our way. The check out was simple.

This hotel is a perfect location for a Universal Studios visit and I would stay here if visiting LA or Hollywood as well. There is City Walk attached to universal which is great for dining and shopping and nightlife. Great location. Great customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just recently to be close to Universal studios. Staff were friendly and helpful, can't really fault them at all. However the property is showing signs of its age. The bathrooms have been renovated at some stage but they did not replace things like the bath, they only coated it with paint and now that is peeling away.
The elevators were the worst I have ever experienced. Waiting for an elevator that never comes is frustrating, push the button and it stays on for 10 seconds then goes out but no lift ever arrives. The staff had to ride the elevators and select floors otherwise people would be stranded. Once you actually got in the elevator they were extremely slow and rough, bouncing at each floor.

The parking was $24 a day which is a little steep but convenient.

Overall I would probably stay again but bear in mind it's a little expensive for the product they were offering.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Location was great, we had a great view of Universal and the shuttle to the park was efficient and a great benefit. Easy drive to Hollywood and Burbank. Rooms were standard (price was reflective of standard room). Front desk was not overly friendly and had an issue with parking pass working. We were also overcharged for parking but it was taken care of quickly. Cafe Sierra had a nice breakfast buffet but a tad overpriced which is expected in a hotel. Overall would stay again for the location. The Valet service staff was outstanding and very friendly. Charge for parking was high.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience. We regret you had issues with your parking but are delighted to hear that the issue was corrected quickly. Your comments help us to improve our property and service so thank you for the feedback. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I loved how we had a perfect view of the universal studios entrance, and in fact, even the whole park! (room #2469 and on the very top floor, 24) the staff was very nice and happy to help. the restaurants are very nice and on one night they were cooking up all kinds of stuff, but we did not eat there. they have quite a few elevators, but can get to be REALLY BUSY/FULL!!!!!!!!! the pool was also very nice and so was the hot tub. they gave you free popcorn and pool side/bar service. I will definitely go there again

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of universal studios. they will be happy to give it to you and they gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read your recent review. We agree that our Universal Studios view is the most popular for the fact you can see not only the entrance but the whole park. So glad you were able to take advantage of the pool and whirlpool during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.