We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to Hollywood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #36 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
san diego, california
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good location close to Hollywood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the executive floor. The room had a nice view and was average in size. We were disappointed that the executive floor did not provide any special perks, no happy hour or such. The bed was very comfortable. We were on a high floor (23?), yet at night we were able to hear very loud music for several hours and late into the night. We are unsure if the music came from the hotel's ballroom or a restaurant/club by the park entrance. We used the hotel's shuttle to get to universal studios, and that was quite convenient. The seafood dinner buffet looked absolutely spectacular, including whole main lobsters. We wished we would have known about this before arriving at the property. We want to return just to dine at the buffet. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    731
    283
    94
    63
See reviews for
759
511
83
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed here in 2012, and hadn't reviewed the hotel. I only stayed for 2 nights en route to Australia, but I'm so glad I did. The room was fantastic and very spacious. Amazing views over Universal Studios and the surround hills towards Hollywood.

This hotel is perfect for Universal Studios and Citywalk. Also just a short walk and train ride to Hollywood/Highland.

I'd stay here again if I was ever back in LA and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Had a Beautiful trip with my 3 kids. Hotel was very close which is always a good idea just in case rest is needed.City Walk was amazing so many Resturant options. Would book this hotel again it was great but they really need more options for breakfast for the family .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had driven from San Francisco and this was our last stop. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. We were on the 15th floor and the view was of Universal Studios which was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very spacious and clean and the air con was good , especially after staying in a few hotels on the way down which were very noisy.
We decided to have the buffet breakfast, which was very good. There was so much choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly book again if we ever came back to LA.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room overlooking Universal studios as we could of got a room on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was closest to Universal Studios - so were pleasantly surprised when everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations.

Our room was great, as were all the staff right from the front desk to the maids who were both very efficient but also happy and genuinely welcoming. We also had some room service when we were pushed for time and again they came up trumps with some really great food at very reasonable prices.

We walked to and from the park every day and it was a breeze - just 7-8 mins and certainly not taxing for anyone used to the rigours of a theme park day out.

Front desk even checked us in a couple of hours earlier without any hassles. Loved it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were very comfortable here. Excellent setting, very nice staff and exceptional service. Genuinely, the staff were just the friendliest hotel staff I'd ever met. Very much recommend! And just a 5 minute walk to Universal Studios!

Room Tip: Join the HHonors scheme before travelling to get a free upgrade and snacks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed April 2014, 9th Floor. King room had excellent view of Universal City Walk. The day of my arrival, I was able to enjoy sites at Universal from my room that included a small sprinkle of fireworks and a show that set someone on fire. The room itself was spacious. Bed was comfy. Room had a fridge. Bathroom was a nice size. My only complaint about the room is that it could have been a tinge cleaner. The shower/tub and the carpet (along baseboard) was not cleaned to my liking. There were crumbs of some sort that were there upon my arrival and stayed the entire 6 days I was there. Because of my work schedule, I was unable to enjoy the amenities (gym, pool, etc.). The buffet looked scrumptious but was a bit too pricey for me. I did eat at the bar one night and service was friendly and the seafood pasta I had was good.

Some details that may prove helpful is that the hotel has a free tram to Universal. The hotel is located close to a metro (Hollywood/Universal) which is down the hill and across the street. Hollywood Highland is one stop away. Fare is $1.50, $3 R/T. I walked up and down the hill until I realized that you can get an exterior elevator that takes you down to the Sheraton and from there, if you cut through the parking lot (veer left) and walk down towards the gate, you can get another elevator down to street level from the garage structure. You can also catch the hotel tram, walk to the Universal Tram stop and get that tram up and down the hill. Food is cheaper at Universal City Walk. Bubba Gump’s is gross, unless you like nasty seafood. Pinky's is worth a try.

All in all, my stay was good and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Universal City Walk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.