We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location for Universal Studios” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #37 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location for Universal Studios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had originally booked a hotel on Sunset Boulevard but after reading the reviews for it and worrying about the location I decided to book elsewhere. Even though this hotel was quite a lot more than what I would have paid origianlly I am so glad I booked it! The hotel is away from most of the main attractions in LA but its not impossible to get anywhere - we used taxis a couple of times and there is a metro station just down the hill that takes you to Hollywood or downtown. The hotel is lovely inside and seemed very clean. Our room was huge and had really nice views. We used the pool a couple of times which again was very nice, they have cabanas which can be used free of charge. We ate at the Atrium Lounge in the hotel a few times and the food was very good. They also have happy hour 5-7pm with free appetizers and offers on glasses of wine or beer so we took advantage of that a few times! The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Universal Studios but they also have a free shuttle. I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though its further out its in a nice safe area and I'm guessing a lot quieter than if you stayed right in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. Soaking up the sun in our pool and sipping drinks in our cabanas are what vacation is all about. We are pleased you were able to take the metro ,that is so close by, to see the local sights. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Warmest Regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    728
    283
    94
    63
See reviews for
754
511
83
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've stayed here a few times, it's a nice clean hotel with a perfect location! Ya it is a little expensive, but if you stay at a cheaper hotel you'd be paying the money you saved in transportation to and from Universal Studios. Rooms are really nice, I stayed in the King Alcove room last time. I've had nothing but good experiences with the staff, especially Stewart at the front desk. He actually turned out to be the first person to see me and my fiance and congratulated us after we got engaged :) So overall I don't think you can go wrong. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Stewart is an amazing asset to our Front Office staff and we will be sure to inform him of your kind praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A good example of it's kind. Staff are an asset, but the travel concierge was less than helpful. Knowledge of local transport was very poor and could not accept we did not want to drive.. She was clearly committed to her commission!!!!

If you are visiting Universal Studios this is excellent, if not it is miles away from everything. Breakfast is way over priced and there is limited choice nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and chose the location due to the convenient access to Universal City and the freeways. All major spots in LA such as Santa Monica are not too far.

The hotel is large format and family oriented. The breakfast buffet was huge and the food options during the day were also substantial.

Rooms are large however the bathrooms are a big letdown. The shower is one of the WORST I have used.

No wireless internet unless you toss up $8 on top of the internet fee and since we are Diamond Hilton that would mean paying for something we shouldn't need to.

The Hotel has a small convenience store inside and a free shuttle to Universal City (quite frequent).

Valet is $28 per day with unlimited entry/exits and self park $25.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. As a HHonor Diamond member you are entitled to free WiFi during your stay with us and we regret that you were not informed of this during your check in. We are disheartened to hear you had issues with your shower as well. We will forward this information to our Operations department for further review. Our Rooms Division will contact you shortly to discuss your stay in further detail.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and we hope that you will consider staying with us next time you’re in the Los Angeles area.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Location is ideal, which is what you pay for, as actual hotel was not worth the price.Very comfortable beds,however,had problems getting air conditioning to work properly,no vent fan in bathrooms,and no microwave(Not a huge problem,but if you stay more than one night good luck re-heating anything!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us here on TripAdvisor. Though pleased to hear you enjoyed our beds, we are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. I have spoken with our Rooms Division and they will be in touch with you shortly to gain a better understanding of your experience.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with an unforgettable experience in the future should you join us once again.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and please let us know if you have any questions or comments in the meantime.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night while my husband was on business. I was able to go the Universal Studios with the shuttle during the day. Our room was bright and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Even the bathroom was larger than most. We had cocktails in the bar and it was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet has everything you would ever want and it was all good. We will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your most recent experience at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our location makes shopping on Universal Citywalk ideal to pass empty hours in your day. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service as well. We strive to make every stay an unforgettable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynbrook
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location to all points of interest. Just one metro stop away from the heart of Hollywood. Universal studios and theme park, CityWalk and the metro are all within walking distance from the hotel. Great for first time visitors to L.A. (which we were). Fabulous breakfast buffet, great pool and well appointed rooms with great views of the Hollywood Hills. Staff at every level were courteous and very helpful. What I like best about this hotel is its central location. We did have a billing issue which eventually was corrected. Overall, our stay was very good. I would stay here again because of the convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the highest floor available for a fabulous view of LA
See more room tips
Green Features: knowing t he hotel is environmentally friendly is very important to us as a family and just another reason why we stay here again if in the area.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an outstanding review of our property and your stay with us. We couldn't agree more that the location combined with the amazing staff at the Hilton Los Angeles/ Universal City makes a for a great vacation. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Warmest regards,

Lorie Briones
Marketing Manager at Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
LBriones@HiltonUniversal.com

Follow us @HiltonUniversal on Twitter and Instagram
Like us on facebook at Facebook.com/HiltonUniversal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.