We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ELEVATORS VERY S.L.O.W” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #44 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“ELEVATORS VERY S.L.O.W”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Be forewarned....the elevators are super slow. They have 5 but when you call the elevator, only one comes at a time and during peak hours, it can take forever to get to and from your room. This hotel is a bit dated so I guess the elevators are old too. Could use an upgrade.

I came down to Universal with my two kids on a whim and thought it make for a fun getaway. Upon arrival, everything was great. There was a bit of a wait during check-in (we arrived around 1:30PM). We got an upgraded room with the Universal view!!! Great right??? Well.....as we went up to our room, we put the card key in and it turns out, THE ROOM WAS ALREADY OCCUPIED!!! How crazy is that? We have stayed at many, many hotels all around the world and this has NEVER happened to us. Very unprofessional. It could have turned out really bad for the guest if we decided to go through their bags you know? Of course, we're not that way but hey, some people are.

We went back down to the front desk and told them what happened. No one really apologized. They just looked stunned as how could this happen? Instead of the great room we thought we had, they were going to give us one with 2 double beds, an older room and not so great view. Our check-in lady was going to give us free appetizers while we waited for our room to be ready. No, thanks!!! I was tired after driving for 6+ hours with the kids in the car so I settled for the not so great room BUT she did give us 3 free breakfast buffets. It turns out, their breakfast buffet ($23 for adults, $10 for kids) was great! We enjoyed the selection and it actually tasted really yummy!!!

Oh....for you toiletry hoarders like me, the hilton has Peter Thomas Roth brand. Cruelty Free and not tested on animals!!!

Location was GREAT!!! The free shuttle took us right to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We're always delighted to hear back from our guests as it provides us the opportunity to make any necessary changes in order to improve our hotel. We apologies regarding the issues with the elevator and the occupied room. We wish to request your contact information to have a manager follow up further. We hop you will consider staying with Hilton the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    653
    240
    90
    60
See reviews for
635
434
73
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a short walk to Universal Studios and is very well maintained. However, all restaurants are very overpriced (breakfast buffet $23) and the rooms are small. Good pool area, but hot tub is not hot. Our main problem was the management. As a long time diamond member, I expected a good room, but got a terrible one that was so small it ruined the trip. I was also told that nothing on the Exec level was available for several days, but the next day two of my acquaintances checked in and got rooms on that level. In short, we were constantly given the "runaround", as managers did not seem to know the status of our booking or the room availability.

Room Tip: No tip, as management does not have a good system for identifying available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. This is not the type of service we strive to provide our guests. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be used to help improve the property and services. We would like to request your contact information so a manager can contact you for further follow up and an opportunity to right this experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice Hotel walking distance to Universal Studios however we were given an upgraded room and never told it came at a price that was quite a bit higher than we were expecting. We also had issues with the elevators. Some never worked during our 4 night stay and others scared us. We stoped at the lobby but the doors did not open then went down to the pool level and again the doors did not open, back to the lobby acording to the light in the elevator but were actually on the second floor. This time the doors did open and everyone got off and took the stairs. Another time we got on and the doors would not close. On the last day of our stay my daughter found a screw on the floor of the elevator that appeared to have fallen out of the control panel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are disappointed to her about the inconveniences and issues you had with the elevators during your stay with us. We apologies for the lack of communication with the room rate for the upgraded room. Our guest are the number one priority and we would like to have a manager contact you to further follow up with this matter and right this experience if you could please provide us with your contact information. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Your staff was very engaged and ready to assist in any way possible. They delivered on all expectations. The facility was clean, well organized and customer ready when we arrived and throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights so I could spent time at Universal Studios and Hollywood Blvd. The service here was fantastic during my stay as well as the rooms were clean and modern, also had a great view from the room.
It is conveniently located next to Universal Studio's and the City Walk were there are many different food options available.
The Hilton was also located close to underground train network which was only one stop away from the bright lights of Hollywood Blvd.

I would recommend the Hilton to anyone wishing to stay in LA and visit Universal Studios

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for visiting universal studios. It's about 10 minutes walk away. Staff were friendly. The food at the Sierra cafe was yum. Pool area was nice and they provided pool towels. Room was nice- a good size, bed was comfy, bathroom was spacious.
Only negative was the air conditioning unit didn't work properly which is isn't good on 100deg days but we only stayed there one full day so by the time we realised it wasn't working, it was too late to get it fixed.
Overall an enjoyable stay.
A tip for universal studios- if you are planning to go on the rides and the tour, buy the front of line pass so you can skip the queues. Wait time for some rides was 70 minutes!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our apologies for the issues you had with the air conditioning. These concerns have been forwarded to the appropriate manager. We would love to contact you to follow up further. Please call our Executive Office to provide your contact information at 818-509-2072. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Los Angeles area

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in july 2013 . We decided to treat ourself to an executive room during our stay and got room 2054 on executive floor 20. After our stay I can say that staying in an executive room added NO extra value to us. I am already an Hilton honors Gold member and the continental breakfast that was included in the room was of no value since I would have gotten that anyway. There are NO executive lounge on this hotel. So you sit in the general breakfast area and what worse is, is that you are treated like an idiot, I was 3 feet away from the bagels but since I had only continental breakfast I was NOT allowed to stand up and go and get the bagel myself, A server had to do it for me !!!! Another bad thing is that I had to wait for my room to be ready for 1,5 hours in the lobby ! They promised 50 minutes but it took 1,5 hours and they did not even apologize for that. the room itself looks like any other room in the hotel so I would recommend not choosing an executive room.

To summarize the stay:

PROS: Wonderful beds, Nice layout of the hotel, Excellent location for all tourists visiting L.A.
Nice layout of the rooms, Warm colors in the rooms. really fast Wi-fi internet (5,5 Mbit/s download and 4,5 Mbit/s upload). Great breakfast buffe as opposed to the continental breakfast for executive and Gold members. Clean rooms and clean hotel. Upscale and very nice general areas.

CONS: Rude staff, rooms in need of some renovation, No extra benefit for executive floor guests. Long waiting time during check-in. Treated like an idiot at breakfast. Never a smile from staff.
Gold status by Hilton will give you almost nothing except free wi-fi. They will nickel and dime
you for everything. Expensive parking (20 dollar a day). Again: treated like an idiot....
No extra value for paying 276 dollar a night in a executive room. i was NOT allowed to use a luggage cart outside hotel, so i had to carry my luggage to the room. Turn down service just one night out of 3. Stays at Hampton inn have had much better value than this hotel.
I asked for a room facing L.A and/or Universal studios and was given a room facing the highway.......
Again: Treated like an idiot....

Would I stay here again ? I really don't think so, there are other Hilton hotels nor far away and I would prefer to try my luck with those instead.

Marschall
Sweden

Reservation: 3475307688

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay with us. We want you to know that our guests are the number one priority. We apologies if anyone made you feel less valued. Our HHonors members should feel special for joining our frequent stay program. We will have someone contact you shortly to discuss this matter in further detail. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.