We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #41 of 323 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City is in a great location if you are going to Universal Studios and plan to eat all of your meals in the park or in Universal City Walk. For that reason, the hotel commands an expensive per night rate. However, if I am going to pay this rate, I would expect better upkeep. The bathroom faucet squirted all over the sink area; the fold open doors to the TV cabinet kept closing while watching the TV; the coffee pot kept shutting off prematurely; and the most frustrating part of the experience is the elevators are extremely slow. Many of the indicator lights are burnt out, so you do not know if the elevator is going up or down and you don't know what floor you're on unless you stick your head out and read the lettering on the side of the doors when they open. If they paid the same amount of attention to these details as they do the landscaping (which they are constantly manicuring) the hotel would live up to its rating as a 4-5 star hotel. What amazes me is that cheaper hotels/motels offer a complimentary breakfast and free wi-fi. I have never understood why an expensive hotel charges for wi-fi ($7.95 per day) and breakfast is outrageously expensive. There are some restaurants and fast food franchises on Lankershim if you don't mind the traffic and the difficult parking logistics. We found a great Thai restaurant near Moorpark and Lankershim called the Rustic Spoon. Not fancy, but great, inexpensive food. There is a McDonald's a little further north on the left hand side, but the parking lot is a little larger than a postage stamp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. We're very sorry that you were not happy with your guest room and the issues you occurred during your stay. As a AAA Four Diamond hotel, that is not the type of service we look to provide to our guests and will work to remedy and inconsistencies in service levels. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We will forward these concerns to the appropriate manager and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please send your contact information to our marketing manager at LBriones@hiltonuniversal.com. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    690
    262
    92
    60
See reviews for
714
471
77
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a conference for one night. Brought my son and sister who visited Universal Studios and other sights in the area while I worked. Great location, clean, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I throughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. However, there should be a shuttle to and from the airport. Also I have stayed in much less expensive hotels/motels where Wi-Fi is free. It is $7.95 a day here unless you have enough Hilton Honors points which I did not. Buffets were expensive. Otherwise, it was wonderful. Beds are heavenly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are hotter. Make reservations early.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not see a recyclable area but that does not mean there wasn't one. They do have a don't have to changed sheets or wash towels as often if you choose.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent overall service! Free shuttle to the theme park.I enjoyed the room and the view of the park! Very clean room! walking distance to the park! Excellent buffet! see u soon! me and girlfriend is thinking of coming back in September for my birthday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are the number one priority. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I like the view the hotel provide, although I wish I was on the on the other side of the hotel. I was happy that I could book the last room available without compromising price and quality. I made a last minute booking, because I was unprepared of the trip. I called other places before I called Hilton, and I was shocked how much they were charging per night. When I called this Hilton hotel, I quickly booked the room since it was their last room available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regensburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed in this hotel about 2 years ago. Very nice, very friendlich service and management. Beautiful rooms.I can highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay next to the amusement park of Universal Studios. It´s a bit of a drive to get down to Beverly Hills or Venice Beach. Rooms are very clean, very big and comfortable.

I find this hotel very recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stay here monthly because of the staff, the food, and the convenience to City Walk and Universal Studios. There is a shuttle to take you right up to the front and then back to the hotel. The restaurant has a wonderful seafood buffet on the weekend with the best variety of food this side of Las Vegas

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests are our number one priority and we are so glad this customer service came shining through. We have forwarded your feedback regarding the parking fees to Our Executive Office for review. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to the Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.