We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton - not the quality I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #45 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hilton - not the quality I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed one night, Thursday night 2/28. For the price I expected much more quality from my stay. I paid $175+ for one night and expected a lot more than I got.

Parking, $10/day... and there is no other option due to location.

Checking in, the front desk clerk was decent and I could tell he was doing his best to be helpful. He seemed like he was new as he fumbled a bit but I appreciated his helpful attitude. The other clerk seemed apathetic.

However, after check in, it was all disappointment. The room decor was bland and outdated, looked like it was from the 1990s. The water in the room was $3.95 for a small bottle, larger bottle $5.95, not even complimentary.

When taking a shower I noticed that the only half the nozzles on the shower head were passing water, the others were blocked by mineral/dirt build up, looked pretty old. You would think the hotel would replace a $20 shower head more often in a $175/nt hotel room.

The Aircon didn't work as I set it to 70 but woke up after a sweaty night to a room that was 78 degrees. It must have been known to them because the panel covering the aircon/heating unit wasn't fully fastened, as if maintenance had looked at it recently.

Overall I got a room that was equivalent to a $79 room along the side of a freeway. Value for money just didn't cut it. I guess they rely on a "captive audience" being right next to Universal Studios.

I won't stay there again...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room and bathroom. Your review is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve the quality of experience we are providing for guests. In addition, please know that your comments have been sent to the appropriate department managers and the executive office. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    654
    244
    90
    60
See reviews for
640
435
73
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in March as a family of four, two of which are children. The room was good sized, convenient dorm fridge in room for drinks and snacks, and bathroom large with more than ample counter space. Only complaints about the room are double beds (pretty tight fit for two when you're used to sleeping in a king!), no lotion amongst bathroom amenities, and only one towel in bathroom per person.

We never utilized the shuttle to Universal Studios/Citywalk-we walked every time we went over there, and it is an easy, quick, safe walk.

Utilized the coffee cart a few times, which was very handy for quick breakfast foods and Starbucks coffee. Did not eat at the restaurant/buffet, but walked by several times and it looked super!

The exercise room was a bit of a letdown: not very large, no upright bike, kind of small. However, it was never crowded, so no waits for machines.

Kids really enjoyed the pool despite the cooler weather that week, and the hot tub was great!

Overall, a good stay, and I would definitely choose this hotel again if we were to visit the area.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views of the hills. Also very helpful for elevators, as they are slow and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We only stayed one night and day in LA so we didn't have too much time to spend in and around the hotel...we checked in at midnight which was quick and efficient. It's really great that they have a 24hr room service and the food was really good, especially the burger and fries! It was a 5 min walk to Universal Studios. The concierge organized a tour with La La Land Tours, which was really convenient, as the tour guide (Hamlet) dropped us off at the Airport after our LA in a day tour! The only negative of the hotel was that they were quite inflexible about a late checkout time...considering we only checked in at midnight, it would have been nice of them to let us leave a little later than 1pm...

Room Tip: We were on the 20th floor, view of the highway, but was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hilton for seven nights while on vacation so we had a good chance to evaluate the entire complex. Overall, nothing but great things to say. The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are clean and modern, great views, nice pool area, and the location is excellent for vacationing. Obviously, being located so close to Universal Studios/City Walk is a big plus. The hotel has a shuttle that runs back and forth from City Walk every 15 minutes. It’s just as easy to walk the 7 minutes which will put you at the entrance of Universal Studios. The pool at the hotel is very good and it also has a large hot tub and several lounge chairs to enjoy the sunshine. Workout facilities are pretty good by hotel standards with several cardio machines and a separate area with free weights and weight machines. The weekend buffet is amazing (Fri/Sat/Sun). It is not cheap ($47 or $43 on Sunday evening) but you get what you pay for. The variety of good food and desserts is impressive. All of the service was excellent with helpful front desk and staff. The hotel bar had a relaxing atmosphere and had snacks and drink specials during happy hour each evening. I saw a comment on some reviews about the “slow” elevators. Several days while we were there the place was packed but we never felt like we waited a lot of time. They may not be superfast but they certainly are not ridiculously slow either. If you are at this hotel you are probably on vacation or attending a conference or wedding so relax and enjoy it it…waiting a tad bit longer for an elevator ride isn’t a big deal :)

Outside of the Universal area, it is a ten minute drive to Hollywood Blvd/Sunset Strip and if you don’t have a car it’s an easy subway ride. You can be on the beaches of Malibu in about 45 minutes, and the LA zoo is less than thirty. So if you have a car, it is very easy to get around and see other things. This is the approximate amount of time it took us but understand LA traffic can impact the commute time. Also, if you are there for a few days and want to pick up some reasonably prices supplies, there is a shopping plaza within walking distance that has a Ralph's grocery story, Rite Aid, City Wok restaurant, Jamba Juice, and some others places. As long as you don't mind walking up the steep hill on the way back it is very convenient.

Based on my experience I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference, you can have a room view overlooking Universal or the Hollywood Hills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you need to be close to Universal Studios or the neighborhood our children live in, this hotel is perfectly located. Room is large, bed quite comfortable, linens very nice and all was clean. Carpet a bit tired. Bathroom is adequate, although you can hear activities in bathrooms above and below. View is beautiful, even if it includes the highway. Amenities ok, missing body lotion. Wifi in room worked well, but why do we have to pay an additional charge? One hour free wifi daily in the lobby is appreciated. Doormen and bell staff especially friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was not acceptable, we just tried it once and went elsewhere the rest of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to Universal Studios, and wanted a hotel close by so we didn't have to drive. Choice was Hilton and Sheraton. Chose the Hilton, because we got a good AAA rate. The room was clean, quiet with good view from 18th floor. The hotel has a cafe and coffee shop on Lobby floor. Both were good for breakfast with good food/service. We ate by the pool on one of the days. Bus stops every 15 minutes to take to/from Universal Studios. It was very convenient. Had a good time with lots of places to eat/shop at City Walk.

Only complaint is they left only half the towel allotment on the second day. Otherwise would give an excellent rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Hilton is showing its age. For as large as it is there are only a main restaurant and one bar. The food is the worst, plan all meals OUT except maybe breakfast. I was at convention so tried to eat there. Sunday buffet goes on and on down the halls around the corner , piles of crab claws ,limp greens , overcooked everything. Tried menus only difference is the surprise when you see it and taste it. It's mostly clean. Front desk not overly helpful, the staff is " busy" most of the time. As a designer it really need a make over when their is so much great other hotels in LA.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit to the hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experiences and found the property not to your expectations. Your comments will be shared with our culinary team and executive office so that we may continue to improve our quality and service. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope that you might consider giving us another try the next time you are in the area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.