We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service for such a large hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #36 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Camas WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Personal service for such a large hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was impressed by the attentive personal service from everyone for such a large and extremely busy hotel. Great check-in and lots of "hellos". I listened in on the manager dealing with another's group problem.....very courteous.

The Honors freebies (breakfast, nightly snacks at the bar) met my family of 5's needs.

Room amenities on the 20th floor were nice. Rooms a bit small. Ask for a room facing the park.

Spa was clean and towels were a plenty.

Shuttle service to the park was very convenient. The 10 minute walk option was also good.

Room Tip: facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay. It pleases us immensely to hear that you experienced such personal service while you were here. Many of our team members have worked with us for several years and pride themselves on creating a home away from home for our guests. We hope that your stay has inspired you to continue to stay with Hilton.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    731
    283
    94
    63
See reviews for
759
511
83
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The is the nicest Hilton I've been to We had a spacious, well appointed alcove room with a nice view of the mountains. This Hilton is right next to Universal.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but the buffet looked magnificent . I fact the only downfall is that the Buffet setup takes over quite a bit of the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be the best that you have experienced. That is high praise and we appreciate that you have takent the time to provide your feedback. Your note about the buffet setup has not gone unnoticed and will be forwarded to the appropriate department managers. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I attended a 3 day convention and every thing was top notch. Had a very convenient and short walk to Universal Studios and the attached street mall. Great view of the inside of Universal Studios Theme Park from some rooms and views of the surrouding foothils from the other rooms. Only oddity was the walk way from the lobby/elevator area was lined on both sides with buffet food. If I was eating there I would not want everyone not eating walking within inches of all the food I was planning on eating. Very attractive food displays I must say though. The business center computer would not print my boarding pass but a very helpful staff member took me to his office and let me use his setup.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Theme Park have a view of some of the attractions if interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and fournd our staff accommodating. We hope to see you return soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Ampitheater on the property of Universal Studio's. We did take the free shuttle (shuttle ends at 9 pm) to Universal Studio's but the second day walked. It is a very short walk, literally across the street which is great.

Self-parking and check-in were a breeze. The line for non-Hilton members (even though I am one) was shorter and moved quicker so we chose that. We were on floor 16 and had a wonderful view of Universal Studio's. The bed was so comfortable which was very nice, especially after standing for many hours at the concert. The elevators were a bit slow which was annoying and our faucet leaked, but I rigged it with washcloths and it didn't bother us. I would like to see lotion in the bathrooms instead of mouthwash as well. The room was very spacious. Even had a mini sitting area with desk, lounge chair and lamp that overlooked the window area. Very nice. The room also had a safe. Sweet deal!!

We would totally stay here again and may make this concert a yearly thing, if we do, this hotel will be our #1 choice since I am a Hilton Honor member, the location is great and we had a wonderful stay.

Oh also, The Champagne Sunday Brunch there looked wonderful and very delicious, we did not have time to eat at it (saw the price, its very reasonable).

Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Our room over looked Universal Studio's which was fun to see!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and for being a loyal HHonors member. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We have forwarded you notes about the in-room amentieis and faucet to the appropriate departments for follow up.

Definitely plan partaking the Jazz Champagne Brunch the next time you visit. It is a favorite of Los Angeles locals. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a good location for Universal theme park and that's about it. The room was spacious but I didn't come for that, towels old, toilet got plugged and got dirty glasses. When I asked for help directions and new glasses the staff didn't seem to care that I had dirty ones left for me to use. For the amount of money I spent on the room the view was horrible and in the end they wanted you to pay for wifi....when it's free at Starbucks imagine that.
I just joined trip advisor for this and I wish I did before I would have known, it shows a lot when the manager of this hotel only replies to good and excellent reviews and doesn't even apologize for bad ones. An apology does help and shows that you care about your customers and this hotel and their staff do not. The Hilton is poorly represented here, my advice to anyone is do not go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that your experience was not what you expected from our hotel. Your concerns regarding the level of service will surely be addressed as this is not typical of our property or staff. We apologize you did not receive a higher level of service, and we take this very seriously. The level of cleanliness has also been addressed with our housekeeping staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return to see our improvements.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a stop over arriving from a long Hal flight before going to Jamaica. The location is great. Within walking distance to universal studios. Room service was nice.... Pancakes not nice though!

Great hotel considering its not overly expensive.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to forward to the Chef and food and beverage team your note about the pancakes. We hope that you also had an amazing time in Jamaica and we look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Los Angeles.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for five nights in November 2012. Was attending a business meeting which was also scheduled at the facility. (The hotel primarily caters to those tourists who desire to go to Universal Studio as it is walking distance to the hotel.)

The facility was OK – no major issues except Wi-Fi (noted below).

The facility has in-house cafeteria for breakfast and restaurant for lunch / dinner. As part of the group rate, I had received a voucher for continental breakfast (which consist of choice of yogurt or oatmeal, one cup of diced fruit, one small size croissant, one small size muffin and one small size danish roll and a choice of orange juice or coffee or milk. Unless you specify otherwise, the restaurant staff will decide on their own and bring based on their existing inventory so please tell them if you want some other combination.

The hotel does have local gym and for most parts, it is OK. As the facility is small (for the size of the hotel), you better go their early else all machines will be occupied.

The hotel is in walking distance from Universal Studio and Citywalk. The Citywalk will provide broader choices for restaurants and entertainment. Of courses, their prices are much higher than similar restaurants in other parts of the town. Also these restaurants mainly cater to tourists.

The hotel does have a local Starbucks (for those coffee drinkers). You will have to pay for it – their services are not covered as part of the hotel’s café.

The hotel does have Wi-Fi; however, the speed and availability is of concern. Had to call the hotel staff few times in order for them to investigate why the Internet access throughout my stay was almost zilch.

The hotel is up on the hill so unless you have some transportation, you will be limited to the hotel facility or Citywalk or Universal Studio for any restaurants and outing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback of your stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and appreciate your comments for improvement so. Please know that all of your concerns have been forwarded to our department managers and the executive office for improvement.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Los Angeles.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.