We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and within walking distance from Universal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #34 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice and within walking distance from Universal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Love every single thing about the hotel. Within walking distance to the entrance of Universal and City Walk. There also a complimentary shuttle provided by Universal which runs till 9pm daily. There's an outdoor pool, whirlpool and nice little workout area which is surprisingly bigger than any other hotel.
The room is big enough for large suitcases. Beddings are so comfortable that I honestly don't feel like getting up. The hotels well kept and pretty clean. There's a few restaurants in the hotel but didn't really had the chance to check it out as there's tons of restaurants at CityWalk to choose from.
Check in was a breeze with no issues. There's a charge for parking with in and out access. I just don't remember how much it cost. I would return to this hotel whenever I'm in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, please do stop in at the restaurant. Cafe Sierra is most famous with the L.A. locals for the weekend buffet or champagne brunch.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back in Hollywood soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    715
    279
    93
    61
See reviews for
744
495
81
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not the best Hilton I’ve stayed in by a long stretch but I suppose when you’re next door to a major theme park you don’t have to really try. This hotel has more than 22 floors and the most depressing bar area I have ever come across, with it’s 70’s retro decor, beige ceiling tiles with no relaxing “old man settees” to chill out on after a hard days slog around the shops.

You could have stood at the bar of course but when you’re my age, those days are over.

The purpose of the stay was to see a gig at the Gibson Amphitheatre which was just a ten minute walk. I had paid extra for an alcove room which was spacious and had a cracking view of the motorway and LA hills. Shower over bath was adequate but you had to run the hot tap for ten minutes before the water got hot and why do they only give you one bottle of shower gel and hair gel between two people .............do they think your going to pinch them! Another thing that I didn’t like was the paper cups in the room for the coffee machine, for 200 bucks plus a night I expected proper cups and quite air con.

BTW the website is wrong – valet parking is $24, park it yourself $20 and don’t have the buffet breakfast it’s not worth it although the coffee was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for ther review of your recent stay. We're always delighted to hear back from our guests as it provides us the opportunity to make any necessary changes in order to improve our hotel. I see from your review that you thought that some of our amenities were outdated including our bar area as well as the shower in your room. We have definitely taken your comments into consideration and will be reviewed by the management team for improvement projects and consideration in future renovations. Also, I understand that you were unhappy with the valet charges. I do apologize if the charges were not clear when you booked the room. I will make sure to check our website and correct any information that is incorrect. Our main goal is for all our guests to have an exceptional stay while they are with us and your feedback will only help us improve our guest experience.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and I hope that you will consider staying with us next time you’re in town.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hilton Universal City was well below the quality offered by Hilton hotels. The room was clean and spacious but the towels were old and one was even torn. The bath tubs were old with peeling paint. The toilet did not flash well resulting in the toilet bowl filling up. There was nothing in the minibar. And worst of all they charged my credit card twice. On asking them they simply denied and now I have to wait for 90 days for the bank to resolve it. The limo to the airport was supposed to be US$91 dollars and they gave me receipt for US$91 BUT on checking my bank account they actually debited $131. It is a pity because the loaction is fantastic.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear TJee,

Thank you for providing your feedback. This is not experience we aim to provide for our guests. We have sent you a personal message, in an effort to address the concerns you presented and resolve some of the issues you encountered during your stay.

Please reach out at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will continue to stay with Hilton in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice and friendly staff everyone I spoke to was keen to help. Great location for universal studios

The room and lobby feel very old and in desperate need of update. The fitness center is small. And be ready to pay for parking which for a suburban hotel is a minus

The evening pianist at the bar is a special phenomena. Great funny entertainment you do not want to miss.

Food is ok with some Asian cuisine available as well.

If you can forgo the old look the service will deliver a great value

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselve on creating a home away from home experience. So it pleases me to hear that you took note of the service standards and welcoming nature of our team members. I will be sure to forward your comments to our executive team, including your notes about how we can improve the look and feel of the property.

We hope to see you in Los Angeles again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after we returned from a cruise to go to Universal Studios on Nov 16-17. We arrived at 10am and was greeted by Stewart. We have never received such great service at a hotel. He checked us in right away. He was very friendly and told us about the area and also recommended the prime rib and seafood buffet at Cafe Sierra. We had an alcove room. The room was great. It was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable.

We decided to take Stewart's recommendation and try the buffet. It was amazing!! The food was overwhelming and everything was delicious.

When we checked out the next morning Stewart was there again and inquired about our stay. We ended up talking for a while. My husband and I talked for quite some time on our way back to Phoenix what great service we had at the hotel and how much we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton and how much we enjoyed the buffet. We started joking around about returning the next weekend with the kids for Thanksgiving. Well...we just got back from another great visit. Stewart made sure we had another alcove room and there was a cot in the room for one of the kids. Even though he was gone by the time we checked in, he called us to make sure we had everything we needed. The buffet was great and the kids are already asking to go back. We had another great stay for the 2nd weekend in a row and we can't wait to go back again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to let Stewart know how much you valued his service and suggestion. Our Seafood & Prime Rib buffet is an L.A. local favorite. Our culinary team puts out an extensive spread every weekend, so it was the perfect choice.

It is our hope that all of our guests feel like this is their home away from home. Knowing that you would bring your family back to spend your holiday in Universal City says a lot. Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback. We cannot wait to see you again, on your next trip to Los Angeles.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, have stayed here a few times now and each time it has been great. The Hilton Universal is located in a fantastic position, right opposite Universal Studios and CityWalk so it is extremely convenient. The quality of the hotel is excellent with confortable rooms and lovely beds. The hotel has a great swimming pool and spa just great after a long day sightseeing. The only downside and it is only a small thing is the in room internet, it would be great if there was no charge but the $8 fee per day is not bad, certainly better than some hotels that charge $20.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of your recent stay and your comments on your experience. We hope to be your Los Angeles hotel the next time you are in the area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Universal Studios. We were glad we picked this hotel as it was extremely close to the park at only a 5 minute walk. It was also extremely close to Universal City which has a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel clean and comfortable, the bed extremely so. The staff we dealt with were all very friendly. The free hour of WiFi in the lobby was very helpful to keep in contact with family. Would recommend the hotel for its location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.