We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great, we had to go back the next weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Save Saved
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #45 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Anaheim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So great, we had to go back the next weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after we returned from a cruise to go to Universal Studios on Nov 16-17. We arrived at 10am and was greeted by Stewart. We have never received such great service at a hotel. He checked us in right away. He was very friendly and told us about the area and also recommended the prime rib and seafood buffet at Cafe Sierra. We had an alcove room. The room was great. It was spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable.

We decided to take Stewart's recommendation and try the buffet. It was amazing!! The food was overwhelming and everything was delicious.

When we checked out the next morning Stewart was there again and inquired about our stay. We ended up talking for a while. My husband and I talked for quite some time on our way back to Phoenix what great service we had at the hotel and how much we enjoyed our stay at the Hilton and how much we enjoyed the buffet. We started joking around about returning the next weekend with the kids for Thanksgiving. Well...we just got back from another great visit. Stewart made sure we had another alcove room and there was a cot in the room for one of the kids. Even though he was gone by the time we checked in, he called us to make sure we had everything we needed. The buffet was great and the kids are already asking to go back. We had another great stay for the 2nd weekend in a row and we can't wait to go back again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to let Stewart know how much you valued his service and suggestion. Our Seafood & Prime Rib buffet is an L.A. local favorite. Our culinary team puts out an extensive spread every weekend, so it was the perfect choice.

It is our hope that all of our guests feel like this is their home away from home. Knowing that you would bring your family back to spend your holiday in Universal City says a lot. Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback. We cannot wait to see you again, on your next trip to Los Angeles.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    654
    242
    90
    60
See reviews for
638
435
73
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, have stayed here a few times now and each time it has been great. The Hilton Universal is located in a fantastic position, right opposite Universal Studios and CityWalk so it is extremely convenient. The quality of the hotel is excellent with confortable rooms and lovely beds. The hotel has a great swimming pool and spa just great after a long day sightseeing. The only downside and it is only a small thing is the in room internet, it would be great if there was no charge but the $8 fee per day is not bad, certainly better than some hotels that charge $20.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review of your recent stay and your comments on your experience. We hope to be your Los Angeles hotel the next time you are in the area.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Universal Studios. We were glad we picked this hotel as it was extremely close to the park at only a 5 minute walk. It was also extremely close to Universal City which has a lot of restaurants and shops. The hotel clean and comfortable, the bed extremely so. The staff we dealt with were all very friendly. The free hour of WiFi in the lobby was very helpful to keep in contact with family. Would recommend the hotel for its location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

On arrival and during the stay all staff were welcoming and professional. The room (King Alcove room) was very clean and well maintained during the stay. Bed was very comfortable. We had a front facing room and although we could hear the highway noise it was faint and bearable. Location was good with Universal Studios a short walk across the road. Metro stop was also a short walk down the hill. One stop to Hollywood Blvd. Bus 155 in the other direction stops about a block short of Warner Bros., or $15.00 in a taxi, door to door.
Lounge bar and restaurant had a nice quiet and claiming atmosphere, just want you need after a long day sightseeing. Good food available.
Our waiter, Sergio, made a good experience a memorable one.
Only down side was $7.95 per day for in room Internet, although they do offer one hour free per day in the lobby.
Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The attraction for us of this hotel is the close proximity to Universal Studios. For that purpose it was great. Good clean room (after we were relocated from the room with a leaking shower tap) and great location...but...unlike many hotels that now give free wifi in the rooms the Hilton charges you unless you want to sit in the foyer. The so called "best buffet in California" comprised thawed crab and oysters, which both still had traces of ice. It was an ok buffet but in truth lacked flavour. I would pass on the buffet and catch the shuttle to the Universal City Walk and eat there. Less expensive and better flavours. Also be careful if you ask the staff for the opening times for Universal Studios. You would think they would know this as they are primarily in this area to service visitors to the area. We were given three different opening and closing times and each were wrong! We wasted a hour we could have used elsewhere. Would we stay again? Possibly, but may explore other options a bit more closely, for the value for money aspect.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundare, AB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Booked an executive room on the 24th floor. I've definitely had worse but I've had better just likely nothing better anywhere in this area so if you want to stay close to universal its the nicest. Very annoying that you had to pay 7.95 for every Internet connection each day... So for me I needed for phone and notebook. Higher end hotel that should be included. Valet parking was 24 per night self park 20... Good service at the restaurant but pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Typical Hilton. Staff were cold and one was even irritated with me. I had booked this hotel 6 months in advance only to fine requested upgrades were not available. When I expressed concern I was given a cold stare and she began tapping her keyboard with force. Must have needed chocolate or a coffee.
Anyway, the room was clean and comfy. Nice view of the highway with lots of background traffic noice 24 hours a day (and we were on the 16th floor!!!)
The restaurant food was very expensive but good
Great location for City Walk and the Studios

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us this fall. I am disppointed to hear of the service that was provided to you on your visit and would like to apologize for your experience. This is not the level of service we aim to provide our guests as a AAA Four Diamond hotel. We're appreciate your comments, as they provide us the opportunity to make any necessary changes in order to improve our hotel.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.