We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want Universal studios location then this is it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City to your Saves list
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001 (Central L.A)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points
Ranked #35 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Mundare, AB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“If you want Universal studios location then this is it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Booked an executive room on the 24th floor. I've definitely had worse but I've had better just likely nothing better anywhere in this area so if you want to stay close to universal its the nicest. Very annoying that you had to pay 7.95 for every Internet connection each day... So for me I needed for phone and notebook. Higher end hotel that should be included. Valet parking was 24 per night self park 20... Good service at the restaurant but pricey.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    727
    282
    94
    62
See reviews for
754
509
83
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Typical Hilton. Staff were cold and one was even irritated with me. I had booked this hotel 6 months in advance only to fine requested upgrades were not available. When I expressed concern I was given a cold stare and she began tapping her keyboard with force. Must have needed chocolate or a coffee.
Anyway, the room was clean and comfy. Nice view of the highway with lots of background traffic noice 24 hours a day (and we were on the 16th floor!!!)
The restaurant food was very expensive but good
Great location for City Walk and the Studios

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUniversal, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us this fall. I am disppointed to hear of the service that was provided to you on your visit and would like to apologize for your experience. This is not the level of service we aim to provide our guests as a AAA Four Diamond hotel. We're appreciate your comments, as they provide us the opportunity to make any necessary changes in order to improve our hotel.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,
Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are visiting Universal Studios and are just looking for somewhere close to rest your head then the location of this hotel is perfect. It's under a 10 minute walk to get to City Walk and the gates of the theme park. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are new however the decor is rather dated from the pale green textured wall paper, to the brown carpet. The rooms are a decent size but the bathroom is small. Rooms have an empty fridge which is great for storing snacks and water to take to Universal Studios.

The pool area is nice enough and the hot tub was good. The restaurant at the hotel was rather average but as we arrived late in the evening, it was good enough to fill the void. The lifts are very, very, very slow and you are often left waiting for 5 minutes to get up or down.

The major let down for me was the customer service. The check in staff were cold and unhelpful and failed to tell us about free internet in the lobby and the free shuttle to Universal. We had an issue with our air conditioner and no one came to repair it until we called again after another day had passed. I complained to the manager who then reluctantly offered me a free breakfast for 2 - it was 10am and we were meant to be checking out at 11am. I wasn't very impressed at the offer. He didn't event attempt to be sorry for the inconvenience or to provide an alternative compensation. Our flight was leaving at 11pm so we asked if they could do a deal for the extra 12 hours. The response was an overwhelming no and they charged us full price. After I made a fuss, they knocked $50 off the rate as compensation for the air conditioner problem.

Out of principal, I wouldn't stay here again any time soon due to the service experience and would try one of the other hotel chains which is only a couple of minutes further away from Universal Studios.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for a night. Quite pricey since its very accesible to Universal studios. No need to drive to the park, just take the shuttle to and from the hotel. The hotel room is big enough and clean. Nice view of the freeway and entrance of universal studios. Bed is comfortable. U have to pay $20 for parking. Buffet at the hotel is very expensive so you're better off eating along the city walk. More choices for restaurants.

Room Tip: if u want something close to niversal studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Easy to get to by car and there is a self parking available, if you don't want to pay for valet parking.
Very friendly and helpful staff - as expected at Hilton.
The room was outstanding. Clean of course, but it was spacious and we got a great view.
The pool area was nice and good tempered. The Jacuzzi felt great after a hard day at Universal Studios.
A free shuttle bus takes you to the Universal City area where you find a lot of restaurants and shops.
As a Hilton Honours member, complimentary continental breakfast is included and you can upgrade to the buffet for a small cost. Free Wifi for one hour is also included if you're a member
(a little bit cheap in my opinion...).
We had the dinner buffet which I would not have undone. Pricey, but you find things you've never tasted before - just make sure to be really hungry when you go there.

Room Tip: Before you make a reservation, make sure to sign up for Hilton Honours since you get a continental b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've stayed here for business three times in 2012, usually two nights each..

My first stay of the year in February was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in some time. Check in was smooth and efficient, I was given a nice ground floor room with a patio next to the pool. As I was settling in to my room i received a fruit basket (which was just what I needed at the time), and breakfast the next am was great.

Fast forward to September. I had tried to book that ground floor room again. Got a message the night before asking if I really needed a accessible room. I called back immediately saying I did not and wanted the same room as last time - but no one answered and I left a message. When I arrived at the hotel the next day it was clear that no one had listened to my message. I got a different room that was really nothing to write home about. I asked for different options and was told that the hotel was completely sold out. No fruit basket this time either. I liked that the room had the universal charging adapters, but disappointed that it didn't charge my iPad. The stay was fine, but definitely not as good as my one earlier in the year.

Now, I'm back, third visit of the year. I didn't mention it earlier but I'm HHonors Gold. This time, no upgrade, no lounge appetizer/bar coupons, no fruit basket, and no bottled water in my room either. Again told that hotel is completely full. The rooms here clearly don't transcend average, and the declining service for HH elite members has sunk to that level as well.

I had a great stay at Andaz over the hill last year. If i'm not getting any real special treatment for my status here, I might as well just stay there instead.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City

Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Dr, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Silver level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located at the main entrance to Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.