We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day, the lobby was nice, there is a restaurant on-site, and the staff was very helpful when I needed to spend an extra day. One day it rained, and the staff put in the lobby a dozen or so umbrellas.

The hotel is within walking distance of Universal Studios and a metro station, but they provide shuttle bus service anyways.

The Fitness Center was the nicest I've ever seen in any hotel. It's a big fitness center with three treadmills and other machines, weights, clean towels and a water cooler. All the equipment is new and functioning properly. Each treadmill has its own television with ear plugs so you don't annoy the other guests.

It's near a highway, but you would never know. It's very quitet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    606
    199
    68
    28
See reviews for
491
511
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This hotel has everything you can imagine. We go back there every year bcause they feel like "family". The hotel is immaculate. They have the nicest employees, all the way from housekeeping, room service to the maintenance people. Everybody there kept asking us if there was anything they could do to make our stay there more pleasureable. They have a great pool, spa, playground for the kids, and tennis courts. Thank you to all the employees there for making our stay there one we will never forget. P.S. Can't wait to see Mr. Seneca, the General Manager all of his wonderful staff again next year!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

The hotel was OK for the price. The rooms are basic, a little run down, but clean. The main complaint is the freeway noise, which is significiant. If you are a light sleeper, you will have a problem.

On the plus side, the grounds of the hotel were nice as was the pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This is an older Holiday inn, that must of been done up recently, although still seem a bit dated in places, but this was not a problem the rooms have plenty of space and are clean and well kept, and also a balcony if you want to take in the sun.
Down side of the Balcony was that the noise came though the door even when closed and curtains drawn.
Bathroom was good, clean and had all of the usual items you would need on your trip.
Staff were very helpful, hotel shuttle bus ran frequent trips to Univeral studios, so no need to use your car once checked in.
Parking was $11 per day but this seemed in line with most hotels in the area.
On site was a nice pool area, small shop, and a small restarant. We didnt eat any evening meals here just the Breakfast buffet which was £13.00 but when you worked out the cost of all the items on offer it was a fantastic offer.
(just remember if your doing the rides at universal dont go crazy on the buffet!!!)
Overall a great hotel!
Oh and free internet available in your room!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Fantastic hotel. When we arrived we thought we were miles away from all the glitz and glamour yet it was only a 10mins ride on the bus, bus stop just outside the hotel door. I have a walking disability and everything was fantastic and easy accessible. The meals and bar area are also fantastic and the largest best value for money meals in the area. I couldn't believe the pool area and that we were swimming at 8pm and lying in the heated spa, watching the stars, then sitting next to the large poolside fire. This was fantastic. I feel a bit bad that I could not remember the staff's names but we moved on to San Francisco after that. The blonde haired lady in the shop was so helpful and gave us great tips on what to do the first night we arrived and booked our transport back to the airport with no hassle. Thomas in the bar was fantastic, he didn't need to ask what room you were in, he knew everyone, room number and what they drank. The receptionist was also very helpful and very smart with a lovely smile, her name was La something, again we should have taken the names as we were at 3 hotels that holiday and this was far the best, in fact I think it's one of the best in our travels. Definately a yes for a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Maine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the location. It is close to all LA sightseeing opportunities. The second best was the value. We booked through Hotwire for $75 / night. The grounds are very nice and the pool looked gorgeous, though it was too cold to use during our stay in January. A nice touch is the outdoor fireplace near the pool that was lit every evening. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They will give you bottled water at the front desk.
Cons: Our King room seemed small to me and the block wall construction was blah. Sounds from the freeway right next to the hotel kept us awake our first night but we also live in a place where it's very quiet at night. The parking fee was an added annoyance but we got the room so cheap on Hotwire that it was still a good value.
This hotel is in a great location so I would consider using it again but will ask for a room that is away from the freeway side of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed here for four nights at the end of honeymoon. We were upgraded to a larger room when we checked in. The room was a great size, had a fridge, coffee making facilities, balcony, large TV.

The hotel was fairly close to Universal and the train station was only about a ten minute walk away from the hotel.

We were given fresh towels and the room was cleaned every day.

The only problem was we were in a room at the end of the corridor next to a service room so it was a bit noisy sometimes.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.