We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Be Returning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Be Returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Reception and Guest Services staff were nothing but friendly and helpful. The hotel had great amenities, Pool, Spa, Gym, Bar, Restaurant, Tennis Court and a Laundromat which was of great service during our extended trip to America. Parking available for $17 per day and a buffet breakfast was also included each morning which was a bonus. Buildings required room keys to access the building which I thought was great. Only thing that would have made our stay perfect was a Bar Fridge in the room as that was quite inconvenient. The staff working in the Gift Shop were able to organise our rental car and we were able to purchase ourUniversal Studio passes from and they were very helpful, they also have a free shuttle bus which goes out to the Studios everyday.

Great place for all people to stay and is also very family friendly. Very close location to Universal studios and there is a supermarket and pharmacy just down the street which was handy.

Overall no complaints and I will return here on my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    605
    198
    68
    28
See reviews for
490
510
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our second stay here as our first experience was excellent. The comfort and cleanliness of this hotel and pool is still very good and has a great gym and also the check-in staff were friendly enough but we found some of the staff in Tulas and Decoy to be quite rude. the problem with Decoy was one waitress in particular just completely ignored us, even when we tried to get her attention. I don't mind going into bar but when every other table is getting table service I expect it too. We ended up just settling bill and leaving. Met people later on who had had same experience with her but that night she could not have been nicer to us but when it was the end of her shift and she demanded we settle our tab with her, even though we were not ready to leave yet we realised it was all about getting tips for her and the reason for the rudeness the first time was we didn't start a tab with her. Needless to say we weren't back and she never got her big tip!
As for Tulas most staff lovely but every time I tried to order French toast they didn't have it and one day the waiter actually laughed about not having what we both wanted and that was after sitting and waiting about 15 minutes before being served. Yes the place was busy but we watched people sit after us and get served first.
If you are wanting help from the concierge go to the boys that work at night they are far friendlier and helpful.
If I was marking it on the hotel itself I would have given higher but for the price we paid I would expect a bit more from the restaurant and bar staff. We also asked for a room that didn't overlook the freeway when we booked 9 months earlier but once again we got the freeway!

Room Tip: make sure to ask for one that doesn't overlook the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
On behalf of the Beverly Garland and the Food and Beverage team, we are very sorry for the poor experience you suffered while you stayed with us at the hotel.
While we are currently following up with our staff to make sure that no guest in the future has a similar experience, it does not take away from the unfortunate occurrence that you encountered. We always strive to get better as a team and your feedback will help us to do that. As we continue to grow our offerings and service, we hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust. Thank you again for the very valuable feedback and our true apologies for the poor service and food you received.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here with a friend on our first night in LA. We were going to Universal Studios the next day to see a Hello Ross taping and wanted to stay close to the studio. The hotel had multiple buildings and you could only get into the building with your room key, which I was happy to see. The room itself was fine, had enough space for two and the beds were typical hotel beds. The next morning we ordered breakfast, which cost $45 bucks for the two of us. No continental breakfast/breakfast vouchers, which would have been appreciated. The bathroom was not very clean at all- it didn't seem like that much attention was paid to that area of the room. The hair dryer that comes with the room overheated so I called the front desk and they had a maintenance person come up. He was very nice and replaced the hairdryer but the same thing happened again with the new hairdryer. There was obviously an electrical problem with the room we were in which was really inconvenient. I also got the room for $250+ with room service so this was not exactly cheap and I felt I could have gotten more for my money than I did. I will probably stay elsewhere if I go to the Universal City area again. The hotel wasn't awful by any means, but it could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
JuliaVA713
Thank you for your detailed feedback, it is very important to us. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences with the hair dryer and the cleanliness of the bathroom. We appreciate that you realize how safe the hotel is and the friendliness of our staff.
We are going through a full renovation of our hotel soon and we do hope you give us another chance in the near future to get you right.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly informative staff nothing too much trouble. It was delightful staying here after the hustle and bustle of caesars palace in Las Vegas. Room was good size and bed really comfy. We had room service for dinner one night and it was delivered quickly and hot and was very good. Free wifi in the rooms with easy access. A safe was available to guests in the business centre which was not ideal but better than nothing. Overall nothing bad to say We stayed in six hotels during our two week stay and this one we would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
dmi65
We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services and we thank you for your kind review.
We are going through a major renovation soon and all our rooms will have safety boxes. We hope you can visit us again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I only had the chance to stay two nights at this wonderful Hotel, after four nights in another Hotel [dump] in Hawaii this was heaven, friendly and helpfull reception staff, quiet clean and comfortable room, one complaint no BAR FRIDGE.

Decoy bar & lounge unbelievable with great staff, I arrived on a late flight and Tulsa's were closed, however a young fellow managed to make me the best salad sandwich I've ever had what a treat.

As I had a midnight flight I managed to get two breakfasts & two dinners in Tulsa's and what a treat, breakfast almost all you can eat and for dinner you can't go past their New York Steak and the Chocolate Lave Cake & Vanilla Bean Icecream, the waiting staff very cutious and helpfull.

Iwill return again for a much longer stay, even at 76

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very nice hotel at an affordable rate. The grounds are nice and lush. The design of the hotel and rooms is modern and rustic. The bathroom was a bit small and could use a remodel but fine. The only thing missing was a safe in the room. Everything was great with a nice restaurant/lounge and complimentary and reliable shuttle service to Universal Studios. Businesses like drug stores, coffee, drive-thru restaurants are close but not walkable. Friendly staff. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about the Beverly Garland, we stayed there at the beginning of our trip and at the end in September. The hotel has lovely grounds and the pool area is nice too, the rooms were very clean and modern with free wifi access which is a must these days. Although there's not much in the near vicinity to do the restaurant on site serves top notch food and there's also a bar, if that's not enough then there is a free shuttle bus that goes to Universal city hourly which is only a 5 minute ride, we went there most nights to eat and for entertainment as there is a huge variety of restaurants, bars and shops there, the hotel is also in a very good location for visiting Hollywood, WB studios, Griffith park and observatory and a has easy access onto the 101 freeway which will get you to most places. The staff at the hotel can't do enough for you, they were always very helpful and very friendly making our stay very pleasurable. In conclusion I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.