We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverly Garland

Save Saved
You added The Beverly Garland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Beverly Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Central Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good hotel and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

great hotel, friendly staff. Has all the facilities except fridges in rooms. Pool, laundry, free shuttle to metro station and universal, bus stop out front, taxis in waiting on grounds, Tula's restaurant and bar open till late, rooms clean and spacious, great beds and modern facilities. The only bad thing was no fridge and was a distance to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Downtown etc that took a while on public transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    534
    184
    65
    25
See reviews for
448
436
78
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I can only confirm what other reviewers have said. The hotel has a great location for a base to explore LA.The free shuttle to universal and the metro was great bonus.One stop on the metro will get you to Hollywood boulevard and there you can link up to the hop on hop off bus.The hotel is a short walk to shops which you will pretty much find anything you need.We ate a couple of times at tulus and found the food excellent.Great stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, a very nice clean hotel, friendly staff, lovely heated pool, good on site restaurant nice food at reasonable prices, good location close to main routes, only a few minutes drive from central Hollywood and Beverly hills, a free shuttle bus leaving every hour to Universal studios approx. 15 minutes away, our room was run of house so we had extra room with sofas kitchen and bathroom, very nice, only negative was having to pay 10 Dollars a day for parking, but everything else was very good we would stay again.

Room Tip: we had a room on the back over looking the car park which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Check in was quick, our luggage was taken from the mini bus and directly up to our room by the doorman which was very much appreciated,

The room was tidy and well laid out, good comfortable bed,plenty storage and a bedside clock and good TV set. The bathroom, although rather old was functional.

We eat at Tula's, the onsite restaurant twice at breakfast time, the buffet option was quite pricey, if you are not a huge eater in the morning maybe an option off the menu will be better. Food quality was really good though and the staff were super friendly.

The main reason for staying here was for the free shuttle that takes you to Universal and the local Metron station every hour, we made good use of this and was a great facility to have, The last bus back from Universal is 10.15 but a taxi from there will only cost about $7 should you stay longer. A taxi from the subway is a similar cost.

No safes inroom but there are safes and boxes at reception, this is free. The only bad thing about our stay were some noisy neighbours directly downstairs on the last night having a loud drunken time on the balcony. I did hear the guy next door phone to complain but it would seem nothing was done about it was it went on till 3am, as we were due to rise at 7am to go home we were rather tired then. I guess noisy drunks can happen at any hotel though!

Overall we had a great stay and will definately come back when we return to LA in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel and staff cater to adults. Kids under 14 are treated like second class citizens. Beverly Garland needs to stop sending mixed messages. They claim their hotel is family friendly but it really isn't. Showing kids movies at the pool at dusk doesn't cut it as kid friendly. Denying a 5 year old a noodle to use as a floating device because it "attracts kids to the pool" is ridiculous!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
SMK7: Thank you for acknowledging our "beautiful hotel" with perfect scores for location, rooms and cleanliness. We take pride in our hotel. We're sorry that you were unhappy with our pool rules and service. We do everything possible to have the "best of both worlds" with catering to both adults and children. Our hot tub is reserved for adults and kids over 14 years of age while our pool is open to kids of all ages. This policy has worked well and allows all to enjoy the facility. We also have the "Dive In" movies nightly and that's when we bring out the pool floats for all to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on how nice and modern the rooms were decorated. Clean no clutter. I would definitely stay here again. Grounds were nice many amenities. I enjoyed the happy hour at decoy and was so surprised when I received the bill. :) location was convenient for the reason that brought me to studio city. Lots of shops, eating, and convenient grocery store and gas stations nearby. Great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Bbsfolife: We are thrilled our property exceeded your expectations and that you will "definitely stay here again!" Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here for twenty years. Good family hotel. Close to what ever your here for. Theres a good place to eat right there. And a cool bar next door. We park are buses in a back lot on site. Sometimes music stars stay here too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
NashvilleOkie: Thanks for being a loyal guest for the past twenty years! We agree we have a great, convenient location and we appreciate your patronage of our restaurant and bar. Tula's and Decoy have also become "under the radar" preferred local destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beverly Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beverly Garland 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for great Family vacation or for business in a relaxed atmosphere.Free shuttle service to Universal Studios and CitWalk. Newly renovated rooms with private balconies, KidSuites, and garden setting, outdoor heated pool and lighted tennis courts. Full service restaurant where kids under 12 eat free with paying adults. Close to Universal Studios, NBC Tonight show, Disney, Warner Brothers and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Beverly Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverly Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.