We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverly Garland

Save Saved
You added The Beverly Garland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Beverly Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Beverly Garland for 2 days last week while traveling with our 10 and 12 year old sons. The hotel is easily accesible from two freeways and is just over the hill and thus out of the hollywood chaos. It took us forever to get there from Culver City in rush hour but other than that we had no problem getting around.

The hotel has several buildings and very pretty grounds. We stayed in the El Dorado building in a kids suite. I expected it to be a bit bigger from the pictures and descriptions, but it was perfectly fine for our needs. It was essentially a typically sized double hotel room in which one of the beds was removed and a set of bunk beds were enclosed in a cubby. The boys loved it because they had their own tv in there. There was plenty of space for walking around and luggage. There was also a microwave and mini-fridge, which was nice. The room was clean and the bedding was comfortable. The HVAC is a bit loud, but that didn't bother us. The ceilings are low because it is an old building, and our son on the top bunk did bump his head!

They have a really nice work out room and pool setting. I think it would be nice to sit out there year round because they have a fire place, hot tub and nice seating for cold days, and lots of louge chairs for warm days. There is a nice shower there as well, which saved time for getting the kids ready after swimming. The restaurant serves a nice breakfast (both menu and buffet) and the bar is very cozy and charming and has a nice happy hour daily.

The parking was $12 or $15 dollars per day but was plentiful and very easy to use. We had no problems with our key card.

We probably would have enjoyed staying longer and enjoying the amenities of the hotel. The only improvement I would suggest would be to have the front desk more familiar with local restaurants. I wanted something non-chain nearby and she was at a loss other than recommending the Universal studios restaurants. She did send us to a steak house that was fine but nothing special.

Room Tip: The El Dorado was the building we stayed in and it did have low ceilings. You might ask if other bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    541
    185
    65
    25
See reviews for
455
441
78
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Was very disappointed in this dark,dingy & noisy hotel. Carpets were filthy, halls were dark, air conditioner very loud. The duvet cover had a few spots of blood on it and some long dark hairs. There was next to no hot water. Each room had a balcony but the sliding doors in our room and the room of our friends would not open. The gates to exit the parking lot were not working and when we pushed the button for help, no one seemed concerned, just told us to wait. My friend went in to make sure our card was still activated, they seemed somewhat annoyed, but once they ran it through the machine again we were able to exit, so I think it had been de-activated. The pictures shown on the hotel web site are nothing like the room I stayed in. It is a 2 star at best. The only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
EarnhdartNY: Thank you for the feedback and we're truly sorry for your experiences. There were obviously many issues you encountered that are very uncharacteristic of our hotel and amenities. We do hope you do give us another chance and reach out so we can further discuss. We do have a great location and constantly focus on the guest experience so that these types of things don't happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

very clean and nice hotel if you want to visit Universal Studios Hollywood, free courtesy bus. Bus stop outside to go to Hollywood Boulevard not to costly, just ask at reception for details. we stayed there and the was a wedding reception which was great didnt have any problems. restaurant was next door, great chicken club sandwiches and pasta. staff lovely.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked centre courtyard, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Enfieldgirl: We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Beverly Garland and took advantage of our great location, great food and great staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent two nights here and found everything to be perfectly acceptable. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, helpful staff. Short 15 minute walk to the metro, one stop to Hollywood Boulevard. Hotel shuttle if you don't want to walk. Tula served a great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
soulsjs: Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Beverly Garland. We do have our Trolley that shuttles guests from Universal CityWalk/Studios and the Metro station daily. Our famous breakfast buffet is served daily in Tula's and is still the best value in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while touring LA. They were fantastic here..the staff are a credit to the hotel. Bevs Boutique was a great place to book tours and give advise about trips. the location is perfect for visiting al the sites of LA. I left a bag containing a guess walet,handbag and watch on the free shuttle the hotels runs in error. Alex (one of the staff) found it, didn't know who it belonged to. He contacted the shop as the reciept was in the bag and matched up the name they gave him on my credit card with a tour i had booked through the hotel!! He found me and returned the bag to me...he was so helpful...a real life Sherlock Holmes!! I was so delighted!! The hotel is near a metro stop and the free shuttle to universal studios stops there. I was delighted with this choice and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
sarah123healy: Thanks for sharing your experience and we are very proud of all our associates! They go above and beyond to take care of our guests and patrons. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean well situated hotel with good facilities and excelent helpful staff.Univercal City metro is 5 mins drive on the hourly shuttle or 15 mins walk away with great connections.This walk will also get you to3 burger joints ,2 pizza places and Studio City shopping mall with a ralphs supermarket.Terri andBarbera in the gift shop are extremmly helpful and cope with most requests for information.The website does not do this hotel justice!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
japurv: Thanks for recognizing our "lovely staff" and convenient location. Our associates take great pride in their work and we are very proud of their ability to take care of our guests needs with such warm hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Awesome hotel, really clean and beautiful.
The restaurant, Tula's, is awesome aswell! Best food I had in the states.
The bar also has happy hour from about 6.30pm which was great. They have a free shuttle service to Universal aswell which is great!
The only downside was the location. It was pretty far from town but the taxi's are only about $15 into Hollywood Blvd.
Other than that the hotel was great! If you are doing Universal then this is the perfect hotel!
I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Teisha77: We're thrilled you enjoyed your time at the hotel and took advantage of our great happy hour in Decoy Lounge as well as our fabulous food in Tula's. We do offer an hourly Trolley service to both Universal CityWalk/Studios and the Metro station. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beverly Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beverly Garland 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for great Family vacation or for business in a relaxed atmosphere.Free shuttle service to Universal Studios and CitWalk. Newly renovated rooms with private balconies, KidSuites, and garden setting, outdoor heated pool and lighted tennis courts. Full service restaurant where kids under 12 eat free with paying adults. Close to Universal Studios, NBC Tonight show, Disney, Warner Brothers and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Beverly Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverly Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.