We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed many times and have always loved before, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverly Garland

Save Saved
You added The Beverly Garland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Beverly Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stayed many times and have always loved before, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This has always been my "go to" hotel in Los Angeles near Universal Studios. In 2005, I even used this hotel when planning an employee association trip for a large group. The hospitality and service has always been fabulous, the location is great, and their is a unique quality to the hotel which has always drawn me back time and time again. Unfortunately, my last stay at this hotel left a very bad impression. I elected to stay here while traveling on business in September 2012. When I checked in on the evening of Sept, 29, 2012, I was greeted by a very unpleasant older man who spoke to me disrespectfully and was aggitated when I asked questions. It frustrated me so badly that I wanted to shave a day off my stay.

With that being said, I will admit I have always been pleasantly greeted in the past. The rooms are clean. The restaurant is nice and up until this last visit, 100% of the staff have always given great service. I hope this last visit was just a one time incident, but the experience was bad enough for me to not go back. This is all on my mind because I just booked another trip to Los Angeles a few minutes ago and for the first time in more than a decade, I have elected a different hotel.

For those who wish to experience this hotel, I have always recommended it in the past. I just now say proceed with caution. Unfortunately, it only takes one person to make a bad experience. I hope the man I encountered no longer works there. Under no circumstances should an employee speak to a guest in the fashion he spoke to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
amyc1010: We are truly sorry for your experience and we take all these types of things very seriously. I only wish you had communicated this experience earlier as we like to address opportunities immediately. Please give us another try - we want to continue to be your "go to" hotel in Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    524
    181
    64
    25
See reviews for
434
431
77
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with this hotel we had had to stop and ask for the manager and let him know how great our stay was.
He informed us that they would be improving the hotel with updating the rooms in the near future and that they have a commitment to make everyone stay at the Beverly Garland more than just a great night sleep.
We will be going back and can't wait to see all the improvements

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Westerbeke: Thanks for recommending us to all your friends! We are committed to exceed guest's expectations and our staff are constantly commended for their friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a great place to stay and would certainly recommend it to others. It's a great location with easy access to the crazy interstate. I had a wonderful time and would love the opportunity to stay here again.

Room Tip: the connecting rooms are a definite plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Lisa W: WOW - what a statement! "Best place to stay - EVER!" We'll take that and really appreciate the feedback! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was unprepared for how nice this hotel is. Spotlessly clean rooms, stunningly well maintained grounds and public spaces. Front desk very responsive to service requests - we had refrigerator and an extra chair in the room while at breakfast. Very crisp and helpful wait staff in the restaurant, and a really, really good breakfast buffet. Shout out to Miguel in particular. Bell staff conscientious and always helpful and provided usual service plus good help using the metro system and identifying specialty product shopping opportunities in the area. Andy and Joseph -- Tnx guys! Bar has no food whatsoever after 10:00 pm (boo!) and no Drambuie (boo too!) but the space is very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
John F: Thanks for the great feedback about our hotel and team! We all take great pride in our facility and guest service. Come back soon and we'll make sure the Bar has those items available!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This facility was beautiful! Offered many wonderful amenities. Tula's Restaurant on the property was AWESOME! Food was delicious, service was great (many thanks to Miguel, especially), and the breakfast buffet was perfect way to start the day to view the sights. Loved The Boutique. Terri - Concierge was the BEST EVER! Courteous, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. Provided information on tours, etc. in the blink of an eye! I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Mary G: Thanks for all the positive feedback! We have a great team of associates here that go above and beyond for our guests - including Miguel and Terri! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Good location for Universal Studios. and walk of fame. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that takes you to universal studios or can drop you off at the metro station. The bus leaves every hour for drop and pick up. We caught the metro to Highland Blvde which is the next stop. When you exit the metro you are right in the heart of the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Ticket price is $1.50 per person each way. We absolutely loved this hotel. Bev's store at the hotel is great for booking tours. The lady in the store is very helpfully and super friendly. I highly recommend this hotel and with out doubt would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
balihaiPerth: We appreciate your feedback - our location is very convenient to all that Los Angeles offers. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here. It was really handy for the Universal Studios and the Universal City Walk. The hotel Aldo drops you off at the local metro station.

We had no complaints. Breakfast was overpriced. The bed was comfy. The bar was great. Good service and happy hour was a deal.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at The Beverly Garland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Matt_Peel_Hudds: Thanks for the review and we appreciate your endorsement! We are extending the Happy Hour another hour so please come back soon to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beverly Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beverly Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beverly Garland 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for great Family vacation or for business in a relaxed atmosphere.Free shuttle service to Universal Studios and CitWalk. Newly renovated rooms with private balconies, KidSuites, and garden setting, outdoor heated pool and lighted tennis courts. Full service restaurant where kids under 12 eat free with paying adults. Close to Universal Studios, NBC Tonight show, Disney, Warner Brothers and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Beverly Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverly Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.