We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I don't even know where to begin. I stayed at The Beverley Garden Inn from the 1st to the 5th of December and was blown away at how nice and caring the staff were towards me since I was a single 18 year old traveller coming from Australia. They were very helpful with anything I needed, especially one of the ladies that was in the boutique who helped me organise tours during my stay. I stayed in a king bedroom which was very nicely furnished and everything was clean (I'm an absolute neat freak so this made me happy)! The restaurant next to the hotel was also very good, meals were very nice and filling for the price that I paid. Only downfall for this hotel would be the size of the bathroom..it was slightly small but could still be doable. Great location, great people and also excellent security at night time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    606
    199
    68
    28
See reviews for
491
511
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel staff were amazing and the room was very clean and bathroom was fantasic. There is a shuttle from the hotel to Universal Studios and they have a very good range of room service food. There is free wifi so not much else to say here

Room Tip: want good service tip well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

You may find other hotels with great rooms like the Beverley Garland Holiday Inn and you might find hotels with great restaurants and pool areas also like the Beverley Garland
BUT..you would be hard pressed to find a hotel with atmosphere and service such as we experienced with our family holiday this November.
The whole establishment from the doormen, front counter and staff were excellent and the serenity and layout of the hotel just added that extra bit when you needed it. The food and room sevice was excellent.
Try it, I'm sure that like us you would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Travelling with 4 kids we found that the family suite was great after a day running around to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It is so nice to stay at a hotel WHERE THEY CARE. Every employee we dealt with was pleasant and helpful. From Mehrsa, at the restaurant who truly took care of us with skill and warmth. To Branco, who made sure my kid had pool toys when they were splashing around. We are doing construction on our house and everything has been very disruptive. The staff at the Beverly Garland made an oasis of calm for us. They worked to help us get in and out when we needed. Really loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in this tidy hotel - it is a stones throw from Universal Studios Hollywood and City Walks with the free shuttle to and from these busy spots being very handy! Friendly, helpful staff were able to recommend other things to do / places to go in the local area and helped organise an airport transfer without fuss. We made use of the onsite bar/restaurant too which was fine. Slept very well although some may find the noise from the nearby freeway a bit much - if you don't mind that though this is a good find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here in October 2011 with my partner and 2 kids. We stayed in the Queen Kid Suite, which had a small cordoned off area with bunks for the kids, and a Queen bed. It was small and tired, the air-conditioner was so loud we couldn't sleep with it on (and there was a heatwave) and the walls were VERY thin, which could have been very embarrassing if the neighbours had woken up my children, as they did me! The room service meal we had was atrocious and the bathroom was tiny and tired. Having said that, for the price and the location it was good value. It had a fridge and for 2 nights (we were pretty much only there to sleep anyway) it was fine. The pool area was lovely, Tula's restaurant was great and the staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very close to Universal Studios Hollywood! I found the free hotel shuttle to the park very convenient. The hotel lounge has a terrific happy hour (even weekends!) with 50% off the bar menu for food! Excellent presentation of the food and it was very tasty. Overall, the hotel has beautiful landscaped grounds and most importantly well maintained! Very attentive staff regarding cleanliness. My room was a little small and noisy due to the nearby freeway, but the pros definitely outweigh the cons at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#29 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.