We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Standard: OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 342 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Standard: OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Convenient location: near Hollywood attractions, close to City Walk and Universal Studios (the hotel offers complimentary scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios), but you need to use a car to go everywhere. You can buy tickets to the park in a store located off the lobby. Very large parking lot. Bellman always available (very nice guys). Cordial and helpful staff. Room: Holiday Inn standard, clean, not large, OK. Bathroom: clean, OK. High: room service; very efficient; we needed to keep a medicine cooled, so they installed a small refrigerator in the room just after requesting. Low: atmosphere, ambiance in the floors (rooms’ corridor); cold, not welcoming, a little bit dark (remembering some haunted buildings in horror movies). In general, an average, not special stay, without problems, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First hotel booked as a package for our four week trip to America. Probably shouldn't have left it to the tour operator! Not the best placed hotel, an hour away from the Airport and 30 minutes from LA central and amenities apart from Universal studios.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic9961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in the Berverly Garland hotel sharing a room with my sister and had other family members staying in other parts of the hotel for a family party in the area. For me this hotel is okay for a one or two-night stay but I wouldn’t want to be there any longer than that. We had a standard room with two double beds and the room was pretty dark-the cinderblock walls add no warmth to the room and after awhile the room started to become depressing to me-some aspects of the room were very outdated like light switches. It sounds nitpicky to complain about that but it just added to the weird vibe I was getting from the room. The tv channels are very limited in their selection and the wifi was hard to connect to at first and cut out on me a few times. The room was clean which is always a plus but I didn’t find the staff very friendly. There were two things that bothered me though and one of them was the high price they charge for parking when the rooms are nothing spectacular and are expensive. The other annoying thing was the room key cards and hotels that were covered in advertisements for a new movie coming out. I know we are close to Hollywood and all but I don’t like to be subjected to advertising all the time when paying over $200 a night for a room, especially when the advertisement on the key card makes it very hard to see the arrow to put it in the door the right way. I have stayed at cheaper hotels with better amenities and would probably look for something better next time I’m in the area-it was a very underwhelming stay for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutie4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is near Hollywood boulevard (9 min drive) and near the Universal studios. Nice big rooms, a good surprise relatively to Holiday inn rooms. The hotel have a nice jacuzzi, nice restaurant (Tula) - a bit expensive - we ate breakfast buffet and payed 16.95 dollar per person and the service was just OK. The parking cost us 15$. I would go back again , like i said it's a good surprise for Holiday inn hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I was really fascinated by the service I recieved from Anna at the front desk. I had left my camera at the hotel & by the time I realized I had done so , I was in Anaheim. I called the hotel & spoke to Anna, I told her about my situation and she took my phone number and said she would call me back. I though to myself...great, it's one one of those I will call you back situation just to get rid of you. 5 minutes later she calls back and said that they have it. She asked me if I wanted the camera to be shipped overnight or if I was coming back to pick it up. Keep in mind thatI did not have a car and I just had taken a cab that nearly cost $125. I told her that she could overnight me the camera. She then asked me if its ok that she take the camera to me since she is headed in that direction sometime that afternoon. She could have just simply done her job by mailing me the camera but instead this young lady went out of her way to assure me and help me save time and money. Now that is what you call a service with a heart! Thank you Beverly Garland for having great employees such as Anna.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannett1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First the good:
Beautiful setting, almost idylic. A welcome oasis to return to having 'done' Hollywood and Universal. Lovely rooms. The location and rooms are spacious. Free WiFI most welcome.

Now the bad:
Bordering on the offensive, surly reception staff (not all, but too many). Maybe they dream of a career in Hollywood, but they don't deserve their reception desk role at least!

Only a visitor to the hotel will appreciate the amount of space this hotel occupies, and the generous amount of parking that is available. Therefore, to be charged to park a vehicle, in LA, California (where you're considered 'odd' if you attempt to walk anywhere) is just greedy, especially considering this is not ian nexpensive hotel.

Must try harder to match the guest experience to the splendour of the surroundings!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceLDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is a quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle. Rooms have no safe and no bar fridge which makes it difficult when travelling with a little one. NIght staff were very un helpful and rude upon arrival, however the day staff were fantastic and the menu at Tula's was fantastic value and child friendly. Free shuttle to Universal Studios was great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway it can be very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#15 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 2,469 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 342 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Westside
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles - Beverly Hills - a Kimpton Hotel
Universal City Area
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#125 of 342 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garland 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing