We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray for Hollywood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
True Brit
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hooray for Hollywood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our last leg of a two week tour of California and this hotel our sixth and final stay. It was not our favourite, but only because we had had some amazing locations during our trip. The hotel and staff were fantastic, the rooms a little dated but clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great, with lovely food. Being so close to Universal Studios is definitely a huge plus especially as here was an hourly, free shuttle bus provided. I would recommend it as a place to stay if visiting this vast city.
Los Angeles itself is not a place that lived up to my expectations. Hollywood Boulevard, Celebrity stars in the sidewalk, was tired and a bit neglected in places, as was the Chinese Theatre. There are "glamorous" parts and amazing properties owned by Stars and celebrities, but very little was really interesting. Yes it does have to be seen, but we are so glad that we only gave two days of our trip to it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel to end your two week tour of California. Our state is filled with beautiful coastlines, mountains, etc…which make choosing a favorite spot difficult. However, we are so delighted that our staff was able to deliver a memorable experience for your final leg of your tour. We really appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to the opportunity of you staying with us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    605
    198
    68
    28
See reviews for
490
510
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed back in May for a week after a trip to Hawaii, San Francisco & Las Vegas! It was the 6th and last hotel we stayed in on our trip and I must say it was the best hotel we stayed in! Rooms were clean and staff were fantastic! Especially one of the porters (cant remember his name :( ) who went out of his way to help us book tours around Hollywood, dropped us to Universal Studios and anything we asked him to do he did without any complaints. He made our first visit to Los Angeles the best experience ever as did the staff behind the reception desk and housekeeping. On our last day our flight was at midnight so staff happily gave us a key to the pool area so we could sit and wait for our shuttle. Very much appreciated. I have recommend this hotel to my Friend visiting in the next couple of weeks and to everyone else in New Zealand that is visiting! I WILL be back :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Wow…what a trip! Hawaii, San Francisco, Las Vegas and Hollywood. We are thrilled to know we were your favorite hotel as we know your other destinations have some fantastic properties. It is very satisfying to hear everyone at the hotel helped make your experience with us one that will last a lifetime, and we especially appreciate you recommending us to all you friends visiting from New Zealand. We thank you for choosing us and we can’t wait for your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights (14 and 15 October 2012) and were pleasantly surprised but Alex who was absolutely fantastic, he recommended the Universal Fright Night and went out of his way to ensure that we got tickets and made it there. We Loved the location of the hotel and our 2 children were having a great time at the hotels pool so we decided to stay an additional night and went down to the front desk and spoke to Shawn on our last night to book an additional night, unfortunately the Internet was down and he couldn't access the booking information but advised that an additional night wouldn't be a problem and the rate would be no more than $190.
Next morning we went to the front desk to book our additional night, we were served by Angel who was extremely polite and helpful. She advised that she was sure they were booked out but would see what she could do, she went and spoke to her manager (Deone). Yes there was a room available and the rate would be $220, I explained that we had spoken to Shawn and the rate quoted would be no more than $190. Another trip to the manger to see what could be done, Angel returned saying sorry but the rate was $220 . I asked Angel to call Shawn to confirm our conversation from the night before. She said she would call and we went off to breakfast . When we returned Angel advised that Shawn had been spoken to and confirmed the rate quoted and our conversation. At this point I assumed the rate would be honoured and we would stay another night. How wrong was I! Angel apologised but advised that rate would be $220, as I was unhappy with this situation I asked to speak to e manager as it was not my error but the hotels. Out come Deone (in his ill fitting suit) who advised that the hotel was full and they could not accommodate us. Unfortunately Deone could not have been more unprofessional and unhelpful and ill equipped to deal with the situation, I suggest that a course in general customer service and conflict resolution would be most helpful to him. Basil Fawlty from Fawlty Towers would have provided more assistance than this man.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I would first like to thank you for choosing The Beverly Garland for your accommodations while visiting the Universal Studios Hollywood area. We really appreciate your acknowledgement of Alex, he is a great associate and we are thrilled he is part of our team. Universal’s Halloween celebration is such a fun experience, so glad you had the opportunity to take advantage while you were here. However, I am very disappointed that we were not able to resolve your desire to stay one additional night. I assure you that your comments are taken very seriously and we will work very hard to take appropriate steps to ensure your experience is not repeated. In speaking with Deone, he too is very disappointed he was not able to satisfactorily resolve your concerns and sends his apology. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you during your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September before heading to Vegas. What a lovely hotel. Could not fault this hotel in the slightest. Room was beautiful, free wifi, room very clean. We were also given a couple of free vouchers for the bar. To get to the main part of Hollywood was a 10 minute walk to the metro and then 1 stop away. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to Universal studios. Also we got the free shuttle bus to universal walk in the evening to go out for dinner. The resturant next to the hotel Tula's was lovely. We only ever went there for breakfast.

Anyone that gives this hotel a bad review needs to take a look at themselves. I hate seeing reading reviews where people complain about the room - Did you really go on holiday to sit in your room??

Overall we had a wonderful experience, if i ever go back to LA i wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us before your Vegas trip. We hope you had just as an enjoyable time in Vegas as you did while you were in LA. We really appreciate your confidence in choosing our hotel and we are delighted to know that we have become your LA hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this Holiday Inn for two nights. Room itself was a bit cramped but the welcome was warm and included a couple of complimentary drinks. Breakfast buffet is good value and sets you up for a day of sightseeing. Hotel is very close to Universal Studios and offers a free shuttle. Very handy if you don't want to drive - or pay for parking twice - once at the hotel and once at Universal. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were able to recommend good family friendly places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the road were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope your travels take you back to our area and next time, for a little extra room, we recommend trying one of our Deluxe Family Suites…they are perfect for family travel. Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel was lovely. Clean, spacious and comfortable.
Exposed brickwork in the room was nice and the housekeepers were friendly and pleasant.
Check in was easy, parking cheap and safe.
You can easily walk to Universals Citywalk although the hotel offers a free shuttle service every hour which is good.

I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate the trust you had in us for your accommodation needs during your visit to the Universal area. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn in North Hollywood. We stayed there while in Southern California for the Emmy Awards. I loved the swimming pool and spa area. Complimentary drinks (1 for each guest) came with the room reservation. Walking distance from a Jamba Juice and Starbucks in Studio City on Ventura Blvd. Terri was very helpful in getting limo arrangements for the ride to and from the Emmy Awards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! Glad to hear Terri was able to take care of your transportation needs to the Emmy Awards…we trust you had a fantastic time. My team and I look forward to having you return to The Beverly Garland during your next trip to LA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.