We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beverly garland is everything we expected and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Garland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Garland to your Saves list
The Garland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beverly garland is everything we expected and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well we have never been to Los Angeles before so had no idea what to expect both me and my wife where very pleased with the hotel overall it was a friendly atmosphere all the staff were very good handling our queries and giving us any information we needed.Terri in the shop was very good she helped us sort out our super shuttle problem out thats another story. Breakfast buffet was superb we used this everyday good value and Tulas cocktails were delicous!
The room was more than what we expected we had two queen sized beds very comfortable and plenty of space with iron and ironing board and free wifi which was great for keeping in touch with home.The location is North Hollywood and not Hollywood thats something to remember when you book up any transport to the airport its a little out of the way but the shuttle to Universal city and the Metro was very welcome and we used this everyday.
There is a small shop with gifts etc this was also useful but if you walk out of the hotel to the left over a bridge there is small shopping area with a bar and supermarket with a couple of stores if you need any supplies.I would recommend this hotel to anyone we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. I am happy to hear that out staff, especially Terri was able to help you with all your needs. We enjoy helping our guests make the most out of their time while staying with us as Los Angeles has so much to offer. We also thank you for dining at Tula’s, our Executive Chef, Dani Csotai and his culinary team create beautiful and tasty dishes that coupled with the right cocktail makes a perfect combination. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    675
    210
    71
    30
See reviews for
560
574
83
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed here twice and have loved both stays and will keep going back.
The staff are friendly and helpful, Barbara and an older lady (Short blonde hair) in Beths Boutiques helped us alot.
Rooms are clean and have lots of space, this time are room was facing the car park but didnt here anything.
The Food is to die for, Breakfast you have a menu option or buffet. We chose the buffet and there is loads to chose from and you can go up for more if you want for $18, which i think is fair for the amount of stuff you can get.
Dinner was amazing too, definitely leave the restuarant happy.
Beths Boutiques is a lovely store where you can book tickets for parks and other tourist attractions. Very helpful.
There is dry cleaning or diy laundrette

Room Tip: There is a motorway/highway behind the hotel, i had a room facing this the first time i stayed here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for choosing us twice! We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to continuing to do so on every visit to our hotel. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a really nice place to stay!
We stayed here for a total of 7 nights. there is a complementary shuttle to universal studios and the universal city subway which takes you to downtown Hollywood.
We stayed in a first floor room and it was a little dark in the room during the day and there is no fridge or microwave unless you ask then its delivered to your room for a daily fee.
The room size was average bit we did have a room with 2 queen beds. Hi speed Internet is complementary and we received complementary drinks to their restaurant Tula's which is a a really nice restaurant.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is so well maintained and everything seemed in the right place and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us for your trip to Hollywood. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide and are thrilled to hear we delivered on our promise. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. This is by far the best holiday inn I have stayed in. Our room was really nice and spacious. The only downside was there was no safe in the room, however you could have access to one at reception for a deposit of $25 but they were really small and barely fit anything other than passports. The pool area was really nice and open till quite late which was great to go and use the hot tub and sauna at night. Breakfast in tula's was average and a little over priced. Great shuttle service to universal studio's which ran frequently too and from hotel and also dropped you off at the metro station where you can take the metro one stop to Hollywood walk of fame. There is a gift shop with info about local attractions and things to do and the lady here was very helpful and not pushy. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate you choosing us for your visit to the Universal Studios area and look forward to your next trip. It is nice to see you to take advantage of our pool complex…hope you were able to get a beverage of choice from Splash Bar…sure helps with the California sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arrived a few days ago and have enjoyed the stay immensely.The hotel is top class with top class staff.There so helpful and courteous.The room and it's facilities are faultless.It doesn't get much better than this.We are having a fabulous time here and Beverly Garland would be proud of her legacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Yes, Beverly would be proud. Her family still owns the hotel and insists that we operate in the same fashion Ms. Garland did from the day she built the hotel. I really appreciate your comments about our “Top Class” staff…a building can be nice, but without caring staff members, it is just a building. I am proud to work with such a great group of people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a grand place with wonderful staff. During our stay a problem took place when a representative of a company booked two tours for the wrong day. We had the original print-outs listing the correct date/ time for the tours, but this didn't matter. Keith, noting our distress, offered assistance. He spoke with the tour representative but without success. He then called the company hoping to at least get a refund. This failed too, but his professionalism and kindess helped to greatly make up for the gross neglience of another individual. Keith was extremely helpful. We have since been promised a refund, but if not for Keith our vacation would have been a total mess.

Room Tip: Our room, located on the first floor, was lovely. There were several major events but we never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the complimentary review on Keith. He is a great associate and enjoys working with our guest and I am thrilled you feel the same. Sorry to hear you had an issue with your tour company and I am happy to hear they have agreed to refund you. Our entire staff is dedicated in making the most of everyone’s stay here in Los Angeles, whether you are on holiday or business. I really appreciate your recognition of their efforts. We hope your travels bring you back to The Beverly Garland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed this past weekend for 2 nights. Immediate impression was friendly efficient staff. Had no expectations, except from reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. The hotel has a small, quaint feel. Beautiful grounds and pool all lit up at night. Our room was pretty standard hotel room, but with 2 queens instead of doubles. Room was up to date decorated, bed and pillows good, decent towels and very quiet. We did not have an opportunity to take advantage of the poolside movie night on Saturday night- bit plenty of families watching and many kids just floating in the pool also watching. With the fire place going in the background- it looked like a great way to spend the evening. The free shuttle to Universal, City walk and the metro station is a great bonus. Tulas, the on site restaurant was good. We enjoyed breakfast- I had buffet, nice fresh selection and my daughter ordered an omelet- she loved it. We back for a late light meal on Sunday night- it was great to have it open til 10. Ordered a few appetizers, all delicious- especially the humus platter. They do also offer room service til 10 from the restaurant. Little gift shop on site and clean laundry room. If I ever travel in the area again- would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Was very pleased with our location, in the Portola Bldg, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGHI, General Manager at The Garland, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are very happy to hear you and your daughter loved the experience at our hotel. The hotel has such a great feeling, especially at night with all the beautiful landscape lighting and the poolside fireplace. No better way to have an enjoyable night then sitting next to a beautiful fireplace on a gorgeous Southern California evening. We understand you did not have the opportunity to use the pool facilities, but that gives you reason for a return trip…see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garland

Address: 4222 Vineland Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 91602 (Formerly Beverly Garland's Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk into The Garland and you're instantly transported to a secluded, urban oasis, yet close to all the action and excitement of Universal Studios, Hollywood and LA's best attractions. Nestled within seven tree-shaded acres, this authentic LA experience is complete with a welcoming vibe and modern amenities to keep you plugged in, yet completely relaxed. Our guests enjoy a glittering pool under sunny skies, dining on savory dishes and sipping perfect martinis during sunset. The Garland is setting the standard for 'Retro-cool'. Check in and check it out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Garland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Garland`s Holiday Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Beverly Garlands
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.