We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be Excellent, but rooms/bath a little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mikado Hotel to your Saves list
Mikado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would be Excellent, but rooms/bath a little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife, son and I have stayed at the Mikado several times, after our initial stay in July, 2013. We found the service to be excellent, the rooms were comfortable and adequate, although a little old and tired. The beds were comfortable.

I don't understand the comments about noisy rooms. We prefer to stay in room 235 which is directly next to the freeway. However, there is a row of heavy bushes between the motel and the freeway, and the insulation must be pretty good, as I have never had a noise problem during any stay.

The breakfast is very good, and yes, it is served in the Japanese Restaurant on the property..... I guess I don't understand why that should be a problem for one reviewer.

The neighborhood is NOT BAD as some reviewers indicated. I am 78 years old, and always take a 30 minute walk in the morning. I felt very comfortable walking around in this area.

Room Tip: I like room 235 next to the freeway.. Not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    42
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
28
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After booking this room via hotwire, I was concerned about the reviews on here. However, after staying here, I am surprised by some of the poor reviews. When I was searching, I found this to be an affordable alternate to the overpriced rooms in Hollywood. I was concerned about this being a motel, with doors that open straight to outside, but once I arrived, I felt like the area was safe, and I didn't worry about it. The free and ample parking more than made up for it.
The hotel is on a main road and there is expressway noise outside, but I felt as if our room was quiet enough. You may want to request a room on the front side if noise is a concern. There are several chain restaurants within a few minutes drive, and if you take Laurel Canyon Road, you can be in Hollywood in just a few minutes. Also, Universal Studios is just up Ventura Blvd.
The free breakfast includes hot eggs, sausage, potatoes, and eggo type waffles in addition to the normal cold breakfast items. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool.
If you require a Marriott, and are willing to pay $200+ for one if Hollywood, then you may not like this motel. However, if you are a price conscious family traveler, this may be your best bet for Hollywood attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We always recommend this hotel to family members when they come to visit. The main building is clean, the rooms are clean, it's relatively cheap given the prices of other hotels in the area, the pool is clean and you'll have it to yourself. It's easy to jump on the freeway to get anywhere quickly. Especially if you want to do the studio tours and Universal City.

With that said, the hotel actually backs up to the freeway so some people are bothered by the noise of the cars driving past at all hours. I wouldn't eat in their restaurant when so many other really good places to eat are nearby including Hugo's which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

There is no reason to stay here, unless you want a reasonably priced hotel and don't care about anything beyond a clean room and fair breakfast. The hotel backs up to the 101 Freeway and is on a busy street. Our room was in the back, and it was pretty quiet. The room itself was a decent size, but it was 'old and tired', and a bit dark for my taste. The hotel lobby was a nice place to sit and visit, and the people who worked there were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I did not actually stay here, but my niece and her family-hubby,teenage daughter & son - did and I came to visit. Room looks comfy and accommodating, good parking, seem comfortable and enough room for all with coffee maker for early coffee. I heard they also have continental - muffins/bagels - for breakfast
. The cost was great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel. I was happy with the location as far as driving to tourist destinations. The room was very clean. The price was fair. The breakfast included was adequate. WI Fi was included in the rate. The Desk person was very helpful with any questions we had about directions, sites, Tour ideas. The neighborhood was safe.

Room Tip: to queen bed room near the pool, king beds room near the garden, seemed very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Yes I would go back again, clean, quiet . .great breakfast . . 2.5 star hotel . . And it is ok . . Buttttt I would spend another $25 per night for a better location . . Closer to Universal Studios . . Not really a kids place. It is close to Universal . . so I guess my attitude is more about the neighborhood than anything else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.