We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mikado Hotel to your Saves list
Mikado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“outdated but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Mikado inn 2 weeks ago for 10 days. I've been to LA several times, and this location in Sherman Oaks is by far the best area to stay in. It is close to the freeways, easy access to downtown hollywood or glendale/burbank area.

This Best Western is privately owned, so I had my trepidations from the start. Lobby was nice, but the rooms are definitely out dated. Our room faced a small parking lot and the freeway, there is no inside hallway- just your room and the parking lot (motel style). It didn't feel like the safest place to sleep. Carpets were very dirty, I refused to walk around barefoot. The best part of the room was the showerhead!

Breakfast was good in the mornings, but they put out the same food so we were sick of it halfway through our trip. Wifi is accessible in the room but good luck getting any work done on it because it is extremely slow.

Overall, decent room for the price,staff was very friendly but I don't think I would go back. I would pay a little more and stay at a Sheraton or Westin.

Whoever owns this Best Western Mikado Inn needs to update the rooms, because the location is great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
47
23
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The calm and quiet Japanese ambiance, along with the comfortable room, made my stay here very relaxing. I was pleased with how convienent the location is for the north Los Angeles area. Reuela was very helpful and friendly. We were glad we chose this as our place to stay.

Room Tip: My 2nd floor balcony was a treat because I could enjoy fresh air all night for a good night's sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights and were very pleased. The room and the hotel in general were very clean. There was a complementary hot breakfast every morning and is was very good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The rooms are clean. The vanity area is separate from the toilet and shower. Breakfast was good but they didn't keep enuf food in the warmers. Bedding was clean but old. GR8 landscaping. Easy parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I didn't realize this when I booked it but you pull around to the back of the hotel where it is dark and you access your room from the outside. I felt uneasy and unsafe. The breakfast was okay at best. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was really good for my wife and I. Very convenient with a parking place for our car, a nice room (very low toilet though) an ice machine and not far from the mains attractions.
I will come back !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This Best Western is nothing fancy, but it is a tremendous value in the Hollywood/LA area. At only 10 minutes from Universal Studios and about 30 minutes from the coast it is easily accessible. As a family of four, we appreciated the included breakfast. The pool area seemed a little run-down; however the service was excellent both at check-in and check-out. It was a clean, decent room and though nothing fancy, it was more than satisfactory for us, since we weren't spending much time there anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.