We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as previous reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mikado Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mikado Hotel to your Saves list
Mikado Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus) (South San Fernando Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad as previous reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I was a little hesitant to stay here based on some of the reviews. I did anyways expecting the worst. It is dated but was inexpensive so for me it was an even trade. I didn't hear any noise from the street with the fan on. The staff was nice and overall I had no complaints. Close to all the sights of LA.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
24
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yavne, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

we are a family of 5 and stayed at the hotel for 5 nights during August 2012. the location of the hotel for families that are mainly looking for the northern LA attractions (Hollywood, Universal, SixFlags, Santa Monica) is great. you don't get stuck in traffic jams. however the hotel is right on the freeway so it means if you are noise-sensitive just don't go there. for us it wasn't a problem. rooms are clean and well maintained.
our biggest disappointment was breakfast that many other reviews praised. first of all its very basic. second, it doesn't matter at what time we got in, half of the things were missing. from cups and glasses, silverware, and all the possible types of food. seriously annoying.

all in all, you get a good value for your money

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing Riverside st. that way you get a bit less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel looks great on the picture but for the price you pay you would expect a better room. The parking spaces which are in the bank, are cramped I was afraid i would get my car door hit. The room feels tiny and we got the feeling of the crawlies; it feels more like a filthy motel than the nice hotel they make it to be. (bring your own portable DVD player.) I left a day early cause I couldn't take it anymore. I was willing to pay for both days as I knew they would. They and charged me $100 deposit upfront which remained in my bank for 7 days! They serve a free breakfast in their restaurant next door which is okay if you like cold, half cooked eggs, mushy potatoes, (not hash browns) and warm orange and apple juice. The neighborhood is NOT what you would think, but If you need a couple of good liquor stores nearby you're in luck.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and 12 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. The lobby is clean and inviting. The pool area and courtyard are somewhat dated but functional and adequate. Our double room was quite large with 2 double beds, flat screen, fridge, micro. Room was clean with plenty of towels. We ate dinner in their Japanese restaurant and enjoyed the meal and friendly service. The comp breakfast was quite nice with hot items, as well as the regular high carb fare. We will stay here again when visiting family in SoCal.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel tries hard and is very clean. They need to think about some updating and renovations as its a little worn. The rooms are comfortable and the food in the Japanese restaurant is very good. Good location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area as there areoften late swimmers making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

very average, no frills, basic accommodation. room amenities are considered vintage (old) location: near universal studios but very far from downtown LA. bfast: so-so... nothing special really. the only consolation: wonderful and accommodating staffs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

So it was very mixed experience.
We had some trouble getting a crib for our kiddo on check in, but was told it would be there the next day. Next day it was not there and since we called after 6 we were told it would not be available that night either. But in the morning the person on desk was helpful and got it taken care of and followed up with us.
Our tub drain was broken and was fixed right away.

The room, the furniture was worn some of the finish was worn off the desk. The carpet was quite dirty, something I'd not be too bothered with alone but with a kiddo it was kinda icky.

And again on the positive side, the included breakfast was very good.

Right off a 4 lane highway and a busy road there is a fair bit of traffic noise.

The long and short is it was very average experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mikado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikado Hotel

Address: 12600 Riverside Drive, North Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 91607 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > South San Fernando Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 328 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mikado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Inn located just off Ventura Freeway (US 101) between Laurel & Coldwater Canyons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mikado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mikado Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.