We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handled with aplomb...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles to your Saves list
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #65 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Handled with aplomb...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I, traveling from Australia, had booked three separate stays at the Sheraton Gateway LAX through a third party travel agent.

A week prior to our departure I emailed the Sheraton to confirm our booking, but unfortunately their response was not received until we were in the air. Our Third Party booking agency had confirmed and then cancelled our initial 5 day booking 3 months prior. We arrived in Los Angeles with no accommodation booked, and a sinking feeling of total dismay.

This was not the start to our holiday that we had hoped for!!

Luckily for us, the staff and management at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel could not have been more helpful.

They quickly found us a very clean, comfortable and well apportioned room, helped us in our dealings with the travel agent, and ensured that we were left feeling at ease with our situation.

We made very heavy use of the hotels complimentary hotel to airport shuttle, using the service at least twice a day. We saved hundreds if not thousands of dollars in transport costs by shuttling to the airport, and catching the FlyAway express bus from LAX to Union Station. We could then easily get wherever we wanted to go within LA using the Metro bus and train routes.

The hotel breakfast was certainly adequate, and while possibly not as all encompassing as other buffets we have visited, the selections were varied, well presented, at the appropriate temperature and delicious.

We did not have the opportunity to dine in either restaurant for lunch or dinner, but did have a light meal in the bar area, which was very good, and ordered from the Room Service menu on two separate occassions. Both times the food was outstanding, and among the very best food we enjoyed while on our three week vacation.

We did not venture into the pool area, but it looked inviting and beautifully furnished with plenty of lounge chairs.

The hotels small laundry came in handy, and I found it to be very underused, so there was no waiting. Laundry detergent could be purchased from the hotels small shop.

Overall, the Sheraton Gateway exceeded all of our expectations. We had hoped for a comfortable airport hotel, with easy transportation links, instead we were welcomed into a professional, clean, comfortable and luxurious hotel, with extremely polite and helpful staff, and all the amenities you could wish for.

The one option that I would hope the Sheraton would consider for future alterations is the supply of an on-site (or nearby) hotel affiliated hair and beauty salon. The availability of a third party masseuse was lovely, but a greater variety of services would have been appreciated.

Overall, I would very highly recommend the Sheraton Gateway at LAX for all travelers looking for a clean, comfortable and well located hotel near the Los Angeles airport.

Room Tip: We requested rooms on higher floors, and asked for rooms with a view of the airport. It was wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and for sharing your experience at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel with us in great detail. Although it’s unfortunate that you encountered such a serious issue, we’re glad that we were able to provide you with the assistance you needed and make things right. It’s great that our laundry facility and complimentary airport shuttle added convenience to your trip. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to return to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    1,075
    425
    134
    76
See reviews for
470
614
282
895
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here overnight between flights. Nice shuttle service to and from airport--runs are numerous, short and timely. The staff greeted and treated us well.Rooms are okay, but here are some negatives that I noticed:

- Repaired crack on the granite counter in the bathroom was not done very well. The glue was yellowing, lumpy and stained. It was a very large spot and the repair was unprofessional.
- Water pressure in the shower was dismal. I know they are trying to save water in LA, but wow...water came out very poorly. The same goes for the water out of the faucets.
- Carpet looked at felt very worn and old under my feet.
- Continental breakfast was okay, but staff was nice.
- My wife made reservations for the two of us, and in the bathroom were two bath towels, three hand towels and one wash cloth. Ummmm..... one wash cloth?

Some positives:
- The bed was okay and I slept very well despite being near LAX airport--so sound proofing was good.
- The temp control/HVAC worked well through the night and did not shut off unexpectedly like some of the newer thermostats/HVAC units in some hotels I've stayed at.
- Buffet brunch downstairs was very nice. Lots of choices of hot and cold food as well as fruits and meats.

I would have rated the hotel higher, but low water pressure and the old/tired room could have been better. I wouldn't stay away from this hotel, but I would not recommend it to others at the current state the hotel is in. This is supposed to be a Sheraton/SPG hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Your detailed feedback on your recent experience is greatly appreciated. We’re glad that both you and your wife slept comfortably on your stay. We’ll be renovating our guest room bathrooms beginning in September and the updates will address several of the issues you mentioned. We hope that you’ll return once we’re complete and see the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute, staying here at each end of an international trip. I have since decided this will be my go-to hotel when I'm traveling through Los Angeles and need a place near LAX. The hotel is literally minutes from the airport, with a free shuttle. The rooms are modern, quiet and clean. The bar and pool areas are both very nice. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but had a great meal in the bar. Service was pleasant on all fronts. We made use of the pool and the gym, both of which were perfect, and enjoyed the Starbucks in the lobby for morning coffee. In addition, the "Oceans Express" shuttle is available from this hotel. For $5.00 (purchase tickets at concierge desk) you can take the shuttle to Manhattan beach where you can enjoy shopping and beachfront activities. This was a nice bonus for us as we had some time to kill on the outbound portion of our trip. We also took a short walk up to the nearby In-n-Out (less than a mile away) which is a big deal for us as we only get to eat there when we are in LA!

Considering I paid almost the same price for a horrible "Super 8" style hotel at LAX last year, I was very impressed with the Sheraton and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I know!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We’re very excited to be your hotel of choice in the LAX area! It’s incredible to hear that you had a perfect stay both times that you visited us last month. The Ocean Express is such a great way to see some of LA’s best shopping and beach locations, and we’re glad you had an opportunity to take advantage of them before flying out. It’s great that you were also able to use many of the amenities we offer; a fresh cup of your favorite Starbucks coffee is the perfect treat before a day of traveling. Your recommendation of the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is greatly appreciated and we’re looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Like many reviews below, my stay was fine with good spacious fairly well done clean rooms. Some points to note:
-Pick up shuttle from the "Hotel Shuttle Pick Up" area outside the terminal. They come by every 15-20 minutes (and shares with the Parking Lot so can be full)
-It's a big hotel with quite a lot of traffic / also running events and conferences
-Complimentary internet in the rooms and Club Lounge access is only for SPG Platinum members (I was disappointed to find this out when I was there as I'm SPG Gold)
-There is free wifi in the lobby and bar areas
-The mattress was old, worn out and springs made a lot of noise .... not comfortable like other SPG hotels I've stayed at. Quite strange and surprising!
-The bar was loud and busy in the evening/midnight (perhaps because of a conference going on)
-There is a public bus terminal behind the hotel with a bus (3/R3) going to Santa Monica blvd for $1 each way (around 25-30min)
-I got there in the late afternoon and there was also an option of an evening city tour from 5.30pm for 4.5 hours for USD65

Green Features: Standard for SPG - choose to reuse linens towels etc
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Your perspective on your recent stay is greatly appreciated. We’re glad that our complimentary airport shuttle and proximity to public transportation options added convenience to your stay. For future visits, we offer several package options that include Club Lounge access, WiFi, and more. Our beds are often a favorite among our guests, and we sincerely apologize that your experience was different; your comments have been shared with our maintenance department, so they can look into it. We hope that you’ll stay with us again at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was a very convenient and comfortable hotel for the last leg of our US trip. Compared to other airport hotels (which are usually run-down) this was by far the cleanest. The restaurants down in the lobby has great selection. There is also a cafe in the lobby. Business centre (for photocopying, email, fax) was quiet and easy to use. They only have valet parking on site (there is a parking lot around the back).

Pros
- Convenience of proximity to the airport
- Clean
- Good restaurants

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Your shining review of the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is truly appreciated! Our goal is to not just be an airport hotel, but a hotel with great service and amenities. We’re ecstatic that we really hit the mark and that your experience at our hotel was the cherry on top of your US trip, especially when it came to dining and business needs. We hope to be your hotel of choice in the LA Metro area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel is within minutes of LAX airport and rooms offer great views of the main runways (if that's your type of thing). Parking available offsite behind hotel or through onsite valet. On check-in we were welcomed by Mustafa who made a fantastic effort to make us feel special (we were in town for 4 days to celebrate a 10th anniversary).

Hotel pool was great, good gym and good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Happy Anniversary! Being a part of your special celebrations was a true pleasure. It’s great that you enjoyed dining, relaxing by the pool, and watching the planes take off from the comfort of your room. We’re also thrilled that a member of our team helped make your trip even better. Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel. We would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at this property for the first time this week. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The property was very clean and up to date. My room was large, clean and well appointed. The hotel was busy but didn't seem crowded. The bar area looked nice but I didn't use it. The lobby was welcoming. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
It was a great pleasure welcoming you to the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel! We’re glad that our accommodations and lobby area met your expectations. We hope that you’ll have an opportunity to take advantage of our Rendezvous Lounge the next time you’re with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Address: 6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is a sophisticated, high-tech accommodation with resort-style amenities. Near LAX, Santa Monica, and the Rose Bowl, our hotel has 50,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.