We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #49 of 318 hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a typical airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel becuse I had an early flight the next day and was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel had some character. In addition to all of the hotel necesitites, it had a nice pool, starbucks in the lobby and a little bit of style that made my stay at LAX seem anything but staying at an airport hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Getting some relief from the hustle and bustle of LAX and relaxing with a great traveling experience is just what we want for our guests. We work hard to set ourselves above the rest and we’re pleased to know that the amenities we provide allow us to achieve that goal. Thank you for your review and we hope that you visit the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    708
    816
    328
    107
    56
See reviews for
343
458
232
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were scheduled to stay one night at this hotel in June 2013. Our flight to LAX was nine hours late. I contacted the hotel and they held our room and gave us a late checkout as we did not arrive until 8 AM the morning we had to check out. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff was very nice. We did have one problem when the staff assigned us to a room that was already occupied. The staff was very apologetic and got us to the correct room quickly. The hotel restaurant serves a very nice breakfast buffet at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to assist you during a stressful situation such as a long-delayed flight. We understand that traveling doesn’t always go as planned, and do our best to accommodate our guests in these situations. We do apologize for the room assignment error and we’re glad that you were able to have a satisfying stay despite your flight being late. Thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only stayed one night but wanted somewhere close to LAX for 10.30am flight. Complimentary bus to and from hotel was a nice touch and the rooms were unbelievably quiet. We both found the bed to very comfortable. We went Club for a few extra dollars. Free wi-fi, breakfast included, free happy hour drinks around 5-7pm, not much else, but glad we went Club.

Taxi fare to Hollywood would have been $70 each way, so not a central hotel for Universal Studios and other tourist attractions, so be warned!

One sticking point is the cheap plastic cups that all hotels seem to now use. I hate it.

Overall the Sheraton were efficient and gave us a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Consider their Club deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We’re so glad that you chose to upgrade your accommodations to our Club Level Rooms and were able to take advantage of the exceptional amenities provided by our Club Level Lounge. While we are conveniently located just minutes from LAX, we are bit removed from areas like Hollywood, but there are many options for public transportation that can make your stay even more enjoyable. We do have plastic glasses in our guest rooms per Los Angeles city ordinance, however upon request we will deliver glass drinking glasses to your room. Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel and we look forward to greeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just spent one night at the Sheraton Gateway on a stopover through LAX. The bus from the airport was great, we didn't wait long for it at all, maybe 5 minutes. Check in was a breeze, our room was ready at 2pm when we went to check in, there wasn't a line at check in and the gentleman who checked us in was very polite and friendly and we had a high floor with a runway view as we had requested. Nice having Starbucks in the lobby too.

There was a bit of plane noise, but as we wanted a view of the airport this did not bother us. The room was nice, beds very comfortable. Room service was good, food took maybe half an hour and all of our meals were delicious.
We checked out early the next morning and again the bus was very quick to arrive. We watched the bus leave as we arrived downstairs and thought we would have to wait for a while for another, but only about 4 minutes later another turned up.

We will stay there again when we have another short stopover in LA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Convenience can be overlooked many times and hearing that so many of our amenities were sincerely appreciated by you during your stay makes us very happy. We’re glad that your stay with us was easy and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles hotel on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Sheraton was a great place to stay. Being right next to the airport, I couldn't believe how quiet it was! We didn't want to fight the LA traffic, so the last night of our stay we stayed here. Clean, quiet, many amenities like complimentary wi-fi, an office and printing area in the lobby for your boarding pass and free water in the room!! Thank you Sheraton. And the price was right!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there was a bad room. Ours was just fine.
See more room tips
Green Features: They definitely had no noise pollution! Energy efficient light bulbs, Green practices, and organic/healthy foods nearby. Very convenient to the airport and returning rental car.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed our convenient location and comfortable accommodations. Our goal is to provide our guests the utmost in care and we absolutely appreciate your kind comments letting us know we succeeded. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and we thank you for your gracious review of the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Customer service makes a stay away from home perfect. Diane Cheek went beyond the call of duty to make me feel welcome in a city far from home. Any questions or concerns i had she went the extra mile to help resolve them. If ever i am back in LA i would definitely stay at the Sheraton Gateway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hearing that our staff made you feel right at home makes us very happy and we thank you for your kind comments regarding their service. It would certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel in the very near future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Lonsdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed overnight in a king bed room. I asked for a quiet room and it was very quiet. I arrived early 12noon and my room was ready, pool area is lovely and lunch by the pool a highlight. Dinner was also very good in the bar downstairs. I paid $50 extra for 5pm late check out which was very reasonable. Staff were very good especially the concierge who weighed my luggage for me before I left for airport to check it was not over limit for me. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear how much our staff impacted our guests’ experiences and knowing that your stay was made memorable by their efforts makes us smile. We’re glad that you were able to get a restful night’s sleep while here and had the opportunity to enjoy many of the amenities that make the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel a great place to stay. Please come and stay with us again soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Also Known As:
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton
Address: 6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is a sophisticated, high-tech accommodation with resort-style amenities. Near LAX, Santa Monica, and the Rose Bowl, our hotel has 50,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.