We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Needs upgrading but..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles to your Saves list
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #56 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location! Needs upgrading but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just spent 1 night here. Location close to LAX is superb. Shuttle service extremely convenient, had to wait less than 2 minutes each way. Rooms are fair size but definitely in need of some upgrading. Inconvenient access to bathroom. Bar service downstairs superb. Very attentive wait staff. Have stayed here previously and okay if you're not expecting 5 star rooms. Front desk staff not real friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our location near Los Angeles International Airport and our free, 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport. It is also good to hear that your received outstanding service in our lounge. We want each guest to receive courteous and professional attention throughout the hotel, and we will use your comments to further focus on that task. It is great to have you as a repeat customer. We look forward to your next visit when we will do all we can to impress you with our accommodations and customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    977
    391
    119
    68
See reviews for
436
555
265
822
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked 2 nights prepaid in advance 2/4/13 & 2/5/13. On check in , I told the front desk representative  that I would leave the room about 9pm on the second night to catch a late night flight from LAX.  I didn't ask, but he said he would credit my non refundable second night and charge a $50 late check out.  Saved me over $125. I'm a gold member but this was completely unexpected, and a fantastic gesture. Thanks again.  Room was spacious and clean, great bed. We enjoyed the Paparazzi Italian restaurant and I recommend the Osso Bucco.  Free shuttle every 15 minutes or less to LAX, stops at you airline door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It is always great to receive customer service that goes above and beyond the ordinary, and we are happy to have provided that for you. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable room, our free shuttle service to and from Los Angeles International Airport, and our Italian restaurant, Paparazzi. We are also glad we could accommodate your change in schedule and save you some money. Please come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just needed an overnight before my son left on his international flight in the morning. Very professional check in process. Room clean, the window view was the airport, we could watch the planes taking off and landing. Even though I work for an airline, that scene never gets tiring. Had a bit of trouble hooking into the internet. They sent someone up immediately to help me out.
We went down to the Bar to have some lunch. The soup of the day was excellent, the nachos--have had much better. The lobby area is inviting, cozy. We had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant, it was average, staff was excellent and attentive.
Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like. We had a higher floor with view of the airport, we liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are so happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel and more importantly, you’ll come back and stay again! It is gratifying that enjoyed your accommodations, your view, and our restaurants. We are also pleased that our staff was professional, efficient, friendly and courteous, as we expect them to be. Another measure of our commitment to customer service, we believe, is our response to your Internet issues. We regret that you had any difficulty at all, but when a guest reports a concern of any kind, our policy is to address it immediately. We hope you agree that your experience is proof of that. We look forward to your next visit when we will once again show you the professional and friendly service you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is not bad for a one night stop over...awesome if you get a good rate....just be careful not to arrive early or staff will make you wait until 2pm to check in.........UNLESS coincidently there is availability if you upgrade to a club room! Which I did because it was 9am and I was sleepwalking already after a 14hr flight. Beware unlike most countries and hotel the club is rubbish and you have to pay for alcohol..awesome airport views for plane lovers though! My only other complaint is the walls seemed paper thin I could here everything in the next room. The bar, Internet and rooms were great. The trolley to manhattan beach is a must!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed the value and comfort of our hotel, and regret that some elements of your stay were not what you expected. We do our best to accommodate guests arriving from long flights and it’s a shame that a room wasn’t immediately available for you at your booking rate. Regarding our accommodations, we will thoroughly review your comments to see where improvements can be made. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some local attractions on your brief stopover and hope you’ll stay with us again to explore the area further and give us a chance to demonstrate our dedication to customer comfort and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I'll jump straight into all the inconveniences and hair tearing experiences I myself encountered staying here.

No refrigerators. I should have read the reviews further down before booking. Seriously only in suites?! Please, you're a 4 star hotel for crying out loud. I stayed in Best Western, a twin bedroom and it had a refrigerator, and it wasn't even a 4 star hotel. This is a basic!!

The TV was frustrating. Switching channels was a pain, it took 3-4 seconds for a channel to switch like slow-mo, and the HD channels kept buffering like 70% of the time. Almost impossible to enjoy a show televised on HD channel from start to end.

WATER IS SELECTIVELY COMPLIMENTARY. I took their 1L water thinking it was complimentary, but clearly it was not. It was a day later I realized that there was a USD 3.00 charge on it, printed so tiny weeny I had to squint to see it. Whereas they have a smaller 500ml bottle of water that's complimentary placed under the tv away from sight. With complimentary words printed significantly larger. Both bottles have the same tag on them, exactly the same logos and wordings, placed differently (charged bottle on study table). Great job on fleecing your guests.

Service was the last straw. I called for cutlery for a meal. It never came. The next day I asked for more creamer, after 20 mins, still nothing. It took another 2 more calls to front desk to FINALLY receive my creamer. No apologies from staff. Wow, great service.

These are all basic stuff that I never expected to encounter here. I will never ever stay in any Sheraton owned establishment again. Sure, if you're doing a night here no biggie? But staying a few days here... STAY AT OWN RISK.

NOTE: Wifi isn't free in the rooms. $12.95 a day.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It seems that your stay with us did not meet your expectations in many ways. We regret that, but thank you for your comments. We rely on all of the feedback from our guests to help us keep our focus on customer satisfaction and look for ways to improve our accommodations and services. While many of our guests compliment us on our courteous and professional service, we see you had a different experience. We ask you and all of our guests to please let us know about any inconveniences or issues while you are staying with us so we can seek a resolution immediately. For example, refrigerators are available on request for a one-time fee. We hope you’ll stay with us again so we can prove our commitment to customer satisfaction and do our best to regain your trust in our hotel brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Like most people we only needed to stay one night. When we checked in about 11am and were given the bad news that the water had been turned off (not the hotels fault), so they offered $40 off the room rate to stay, or go the hotel next door for $99. We decided to stayed and the water came back on at about 8pm or so. This was an inconvenience after a long haul flight as we just wanted a shower, but when you travel you have to roll with the punches and the hotel did what they could. We got into the room at least, and then headed for the pool.

The room showed its age in the bathroom space, but the bedroom area was nicely furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The hot tub and pool are wonderful, along with the restaurants.
We ate in the hotel for dinner and the food was excellent and good value. The staff there were great and we had a most enjoyable meal. The chicken parmesan was just wonderful.

The breakfast buffet really was amazing. There was fresh fruit (not canned peaches!), home made yoghurt, berries, artisan breads, croissants, fresh little muffins that didn’t look tired and old, great juice, and the usual pancakes, eggs and bacon etc. It was fantastic to enjoy such fresh food, quite unexpected for an airport hotel. The only down side was a rude staff member who gave us the bill for breakfast and when we said it was included in the room rate she looked annoyed and just told me to 'get a voucher'. So I had to walk all the way back to the front desk for that and come back, I don't know why she couldn't get that verified herself, as in other hotels the breakfast place has a list. Or if that is not their policy then at least ask before seating us.

I wanted to book the Club floor but I saw somewhere on their web site the evening snacks & breakfast was only offered Monday to Friday. This was not stated on the booking page so I decided not to risk it as the room rate did not seem cheaper without those things. Overall it was a good stay and I would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and thorough review of the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced, and thank you for, as you say, rolling with the punches. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of your room, our pool, our restaurants and our extensive breakfast buffet. We hope that for each of our guests, these features add value and satisfaction to their stay, and it is good to hear that was the case for you. We look forward to your return visit when we expect the water to be flowing, and your stay to be perfect in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

very convenient hotel for a stopover or if you have to fly out early in the morning. We got a very reasonable price. It's close to the airport's runways but due to excellent window quality we were able to sleep very well. Check-in took a long time due to a bunch op people that wanted to check-in, there was not enough staff at the desk. Concierge was very friendly und helpful with my request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad you found comfort and value at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel, and we thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is gratifying to hear that our Concierge desk was friendly, professional, and helpful. However, we regret that your check-in did not move as quickly as you had hoped. That is out of the ordinary for us, and we will review your comments to see if any adjustments need to be made. We hope you’ll return for another visit so we can demonstrate our commitment to customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Address: 6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is a sophisticated, high-tech accommodation with resort-style amenities. Near LAX, Santa Monica, and the Rose Bowl, our hotel has 50,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.