We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for an Early Morning LAX Flight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles to your Saves list
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #58 of 327 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for an Early Morning LAX Flight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We chose to stay here at the end of a business trip as we had an early morning flight from LAX. The front desk folks were very friendly and check-in was a breeze. I made a comment about skipping dinner in Newport Beach and the man handling check-in handed me a print out from Google showing how bad traffic was that night to Newport Beach. While this really didn't add any value to the stay, it showed he was paying attention and willing to offer help as needed.

The rooms were large and very well used. Most of the surfaces in my room (floor, walls, furniture) were scuffed and worn. The hotel (my room and public spaces) were clean, they just looked a bit rough. This hotel could go for a bit of a refresh - but that being said, this is an airport hotel, not a resort where you'd take your family for a vacation.

The complimentary shuttle service worked out perfectly for us. We got to the lobby and just missed a shuttle, but another one pulled up in less than 5 minutes and we were at the United check-in desk in less than 10 minutes.

Next time I have an early morning flight or a long layover at LAX, I would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel -- the airport right next to the hotel, so it will alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so glad the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel was a breeze for you. Business travelers are a mainstay for us. We know they need what every guest deserves – convenience and comfort. But business travelers like you are often on a tight schedule, and we are pleased that we were able to keep you on time and on track. Our LAX shuttle service runs around-the-clock with a swiftness and reliability that our guests count on. We’ll welcome you back on your return trip and plan to give you the same excellent service you have already received and should expect every time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    1,014
    398
    120
    72
See reviews for
451
572
271
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I dined in the restaurant and in the bar area of the Sheraton and everyone was so accommodating. Kerri was very knowledgeable about the menu and recommended a few of her favorites. I wasn't sure what to drink and Horacio did a great job making my drinks, especially since I was so indecisive on what to order. We later moved out to the lobby bar area, where there was a phenomenal guitarist, singing songs...I believe his name was Paul Lemire. I was able to cop one of his promotional CDs he was giving out that night. What a great touch. My friend and I enjoyed our time there and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your experience at our Paparazzi Ristorante and Rendezvous Lounge. Both are favorite LA dining and entertainment destinations among guests and locals. Your kind compliments to our dining team are greatly appreciated, we’re so glad to learn of the top-notch service they provided. Thank you for your review, we certainly hope you’ll return for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've stayed in more than 10 hotels in the LAX area, since I have family nearby. But I try to stay at the Sheraton, when their price is good. There are never enough check-in personnel, so you always have a wait, even when you're a SPG Gold member. But the rooms make up for it - large, well appointed, well maintained and quiet (especially important when you're near an airport). This visit, the bathroom was not very clean. Stray hairs everywhere, yuck! When I called room service, it rang and rang. Turns out there was only one person working room service and they were out on a delivery. He called me back and quickly delivered a tasty meal. But, beware of the hotel shuttle from LAX. They don't appear to run as frequently as the other hotels. And at LAX, the hotels share shuttles. The Sheraton's is shared with their pay parking lot, so you really have to pay attention as they zoom past. When I was at LAX, I saw two speed past my stop, without even stopping.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our stylish guest rooms, however, we do apologize for any delays during check-in or when ordering room service. Our complimentary shuttle is a cream and orange colored vehicle with both the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles and EZ Park LAX Logos. The service runs continuously, making stops every 10 - 15 minutes 24 hours a day. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel, we hope you’ll return for another stay next time you’re visiting family in the LA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very Nice hotel and gr8 service ... they accommodate changes . Mustafa went out of his way to make sure the reservation was done properly . The Bfast is amazing . I would definitely book again .

The only con is - the room service is slow ... very Slow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
At the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel we understand the importance of accommodating our guests and diligently work to ensure they have everything needed for an enjoyable stay. We’re thrilled you had a pleasant dining experience at our breakfast buffet, however, we do regret any delays while waiting for in-room dining. Your review and recommendation mean a great deal to us, we certainly hope your travels bring you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I thought the hotel was very nice for being an airport hotel...rooms were excellent, had a nice gym and very very clean. I don't really have a complaint about this hotel...I was upgraded to a suite so I am not sure if the other rooms are not as updated / nice but mine was super. Staff was friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are elated to read that your recent stay at the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel exceeded your expectations. Located within walking distance of LAX, our hotel offers all of the comforts of home while you’re here and we’re so pleased you agree. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, we hope you’ll come back for a future stay during your next trip to Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My son and I stayed here for 1 night on our transit day before heading off to Miami on the next day. Most of rooms have views on the LAX airport which is in a very close distance. So, we loved the runway view from our glass window. The only minor comments were the sound of the airplanes landings and taking offs and their airport shuttle bus might need a replacement for a bigger one. Especially during busy times, people need to wait for the next bus which run about 10-15 minutes because of its capacity of maybe 10-12 persons only. But I'll be back here whenever my travel plan brings me back to LA for a transfer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We’re so glad that your recent stay was such a pleasant one that it may inspire a return visit to the Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel. Our expansive glass wall views of LAX offer great views of the planes, while the soundproof glass ensures a relaxing stay with little noise from outside. We appreciate your recommendations regarding our shuttle and would like to thank you for your patience while traveling at peak times. Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This trip was only a 24 hour lay over but wanted to plan a surprise for my boyfriend and was connected to Stephen Dyrus the Front Desk Manager. He not only helped me with the surprise he made it very simple and was just so professional. The Hotel is beautiful and in a great location for the beach cities. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone flying into LAX book your room with the Sheraton Gateway

Amazing time and would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGatewayLAX, General Manager at Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
It was truly our pleasure to assist in arranging for the surprise you requested and appreciate your kind words regarding the service you received from our staff. We’re thankful for your helpful mention of our great location, near LAX and a number of beach towns, as well as your recommendation! We certainly hope to welcome you back for a future stay, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles

Address: 6101 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#44 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#46 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel is a sophisticated, high-tech accommodation with resort-style amenities. Near LAX, Santa Monica, and the Rose Bowl, our hotel has 50,000 sq ft of meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles
Sheraton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.