We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for overnighting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Angeles Airport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Angeles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Los Angeles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5855 West Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #62 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for overnighting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We arrived in LA after having travelled about 20 hours from New Zealand. We only stayed one night as we flew out to Chicago the next day. I found the room to be clean, tidy and spacious. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both were great meals and the wait staff were great. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    745
    244
    97
    41
See reviews for
321
465
131
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
703 helpful votes 703 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived from Istanbul into LAX. Our home is Las Vegas so we overnighted. We used the one night free certificate from the Marriott Rewards Credit Card as payment.

They have a shuttle from/to the airport free of charge. It runs about every 15-20 minutes. Shuttle to hotel was full.

Arrived at hotel. They have a separate check-in desk for Elite members from 3-11 pm. Well, at 6:00pm NO ONE was there. Anyway, went over to the reg. registration desk. No one acknowledged us as gold members as they always do. Clerk was indiffernet and was more concerned asking if we parked a car so they could charge us the parking fee.

Went to the room. Have not seen a room this TINY at a Marriott Hotel in ages. The bathroom was a freakin joke. REALLY...even for free...this room was overpriced.

We were dead from our long flight so we went to bed. Slept awhile and then...OMG...the itching began. It was about 1:00am. This itching has happened at a few other Marriotts we have stayed at. It is either something they put into the wash/dry cycle of the linens/towels. OR, something they spray onto the mattress to resist/kill bedbugs. It only is at Marriott does this itching sometime occur. Literally, we were up till about 6am...itching, talking about it, more itching. Sleep was slim this night.

Had a flight out around noon so we went down to have breakfast around 8am. The prices for breakfast...you know, eggs, waffles, coffee, tea, etc. were again a joke. The buffet was $21.00 and the continental buffet was around $17.00. REALLY?

Well, the food was tasteless and the "service" was even worse. Used plates/glasses were sitting on our table the entire time. I had to ask for every tea refill. Then, the bill came and it was wrong. Go figure.

But, the real killer was on the one side of the bill portifolio was a notice to the "International Guests" staying/eating at the hotel. It says that it is customary to leave a 15% - 20% tip for service. REALLY? Almost embarrasing for a US citizen to read this crap. A tip should be just that...a voluntary tip for GOOD service. Not because the hotel/restaurant does not pay the employee an adequate salary. Or, because they want the diner to feel obligated to leave money to keep the employee. The "service" we had here was crap. Why would we, or anyone want to award this person for this??

Marriott really crossed the line on this one in our minds.

We would never stay at this place again and could not recommend that you do either. There has to be better than this.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

A really good hotel with a really user friendly and efficient airport shuttle sevice. The rooms are a good size - great comfy bed - well appointed & spotlessly clean.
The pool is great, although being in an inner courtyard the shadow can effect it in the later months of the year - don't be put off, there's loads of sun beds so you can easily move with the sun!
Check in was quick & easy, really helpful staff, particularly at the info & tours desk, and the sports bar offers really great food and drink in a really 'buzzing' atmosphere.
Car rental desk was really convenient - parking was a pain!
A really good airport hotel with great facilities & well placed to explore Santa Monica and the surrounding area - including a brilliant City tour that picks up from the hotel.
I would highly recommend it, for a stopover or a short extended stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a night there while awaiting our flight home. It was close to the rental cars so easy to drop the car off and walk to the hotel. A solid hotel with everything you would need for an overnight stay - efficient staff, nice rooms with a comfy bed, minimal airplane noise, restaurants, a sports bar, Starbucks and an airport shuttle. Didn't use the pool but it was large and inviting. A couple of minor things - wifi was slow and our shower was either hot or cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel and will definitely use again.
From the shuttle pick up to the extra friendly staff and high quality rooms, everything was just great. Beds are luxurious and comfortable, just what you need after a long haul flight. Room was perhaps on the small side but fine for short stays. Located in amongst all the other airport hotels, after staying at the Hilton on another occasion, I would recommend this hotel over the Hilton.
Great shuttle service back to airport and walking distance ( even with luggage) to the car rental area of LAX.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a very clean hotel with lots of amenities to make a stop-over comfortable. The shuttle bus was easy and efficient. It was very close to the airport but the air traffic noise did not intrude,

The pool was fantastic with pool toys for the kids. The restaurant was very good, though the "to-go" lunch was a bit slow.

The wifi didn't work in our room, which was a bit annoying. We did tell the hotel staff who were going to send an engineer(?) to look at it but it never got sorted out. It also seemed very slow in the lobby but was fine by the pool.

We had a very late flight and were originally told we would need to book 2 nights but at check-out they changed it to a late check-out fee (much cheaper and much appreciated).

Room Tip: some of the rooms are a very long way from the lift, if you have any mobility issues you should tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Los Angeles Airport Marriott also know as the LAX Marriott. We only stayed one night as we were attending a convention at the Staples Center in Down Town Los Angeles off Pico. The hotel was beautiful inside and comfortable to rest in. Check in was a breeze but parking was expensive.
The rooms were very small but nice.

Tips: I prepaid for my parking using a online parking service to prepay the parking. This service allowed me to pay for the valet parking for only 10 dollars plus tax. I sadly was also charged parking via the front desk but this was fixed. I will repeat this idea at this Marriott as it saved me more than 20 dollars in total. Attempt this technique at your own risk as the front desk did attempt to double charge me for parking.

Also note that there are restaurant within the hotel but here are fast food restaurant within walking 3 to 5 minutes. This is a great option if you are attempting to save money or do not have the time for a sit down meal.

Lastly there is a free shuttle to and from the airport for those of you who wish to use this as an airport stay over or launch.

Room Tip: Tips: I prepaid for my parking using a online parking service to prepay the parking. This service al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Angeles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Angeles Airport Marriott

Address: 5855 West Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Angeles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 985
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Los Angeles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Angeles Airport Marriott Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Marriott
Marriott Los Angeles Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Angeles Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.