We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-cost solution for sudden change of plans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hotel at LAX to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel at LAX
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 323 hotels in Los Angeles
Oak Park, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Low-cost solution for sudden change of plans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Because of a last-minute scheduling change, we had to fly into LAX the night before our connecting flight and the airline refused to cover our hotel costs. This hotel was the best deal we could find -- $90 included round-trip shuttle service and continental breakfast. Our room had spartan but modest furnishings, a very comfortable king bed, cable TV, mini-fridge and coffee maker. My only two complaints about the room were (1) very poor lighting -- no overhead light in the room and dim bulbs in the side table lamps and (2) -- the old-fashioned heating/air conditioning unit was noisy. The evening was chilly and it produced very little heat.
Be aware that all the rooms have entrances from exterior corridors so you have no privacy without the drapes closed.

We arrived late at night, so didn't see until the next morning that there are beautiful landscaped areas around the pool and around the several two-story buildings in the complex. There are no elevators but the motel offers assistance with luggage if you need it.

The continental breakfast was what you'd expect -- a couple of cereal choices, 3 kinds of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, bread, English muffins, bagels, and a waffle maker. Terrible coffee.

The front desk staff in the very small lobby were friendly and helpful.

In summary, for the price it was just what we needed for an overnight.

Room Tip: Request first floor room if stairs are a challenge for you. Rooms around the pool each have a patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay. The hotel does have two sections--one with guests rooms in the pool area that does have outdoor corridors and the standard section where the entrance doors are in enclosed hallways. Guest room design of the fifties must have focused on electrical conservation as not all guest rooms have a ceiling fixture.
Where ever you might be lodging, if there is any maintenance issue (ie. AC unit not producing sufficient heat), contact the front desk. We have maintenance on staff 20 hours a day...available to address any special service needs. The control settings on the AC units which seem simple enough can be a little tricky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    419
    253
    102
    83
See reviews for
254
330
141
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a late night flight so wanted the chance to freshen up and give our 4yo daughter a chance to rest. We arrived later than we had expected so didn't have as long to rest as we'd hoped but it was still worth doing. They accommodated our request for a sleepy bear den and our daughter loved it! There were teddy bears printed on everything, the bed spread, the shower curtain, pictures on the walls, curtains, she was so excited!
The room was very clean too and the shuttle to the airport was great.
Denny's was on site so we were able to have some food and a shower before our long flight. They have a day rate price so we didn't have to pay for a full night and it's something we would definitely do again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The day rate option provided by the hotel is very popular with travelers who have a lengthy wait at the airport for a connecting flight. The day rate is available from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. -- an hour extension to 9 p.m. is available on request.
The Sleepy Bear room is designed for children...even with a Sleepy Bear chair to watch television.
Since the hotel does not have an elevator there is always available staff to assist you with your luggage.
If you overnight at the hotel, there is the "extended" rate option which for a nominal fee you can remain in your room until 8 p.m.
thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moormerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel offers a free shuttle service, is quite clean at a reasonable price. That makes it a good choice for a stopover. If you want to spend more time in L.A. there are better places to stay. I arrived very late and got a quiet room. On the downside was that I had about 90 kg of luggage (film equipment) that needed to be carried upstairs as there was no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. The staff and management appreciate knowing the hotel satisfied the guest's lodging needs. Many of our guests stay for several days and use the hotel as the base for their exploring Los Angeles, The room rate is moderate; the parking is free; a continental breakfast is served that includes waffles; tours leave daily from the hotel; the freeways are within a few blocks of the hotel; and the metro lines stop one block from the hotel. Plus when you arrive back to the hotel, the Denny's Restaurant/Lounge that adjoin the hotel awaits to satisfied your food needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here with my brothers-in-law for one night as a stop over to Vegas, as well as with my wife on the way back to Australia.
Location-wise it is convenient and close to the airport and it is serviced by a complimentary shuttle. If you need to kill a bit of time while waiting for your flight you can take a shuttle to Manhattan Beach shopping or cab it to the nearest Westfields (about $20-$30 one way) in Culver City and Century City. There is a Denny's diner next to the hotel for your meals if you really have no choice.
The rooms are a decent size. Double beds, toilet, table, TV a couple of seats and armchairs. Bed was comfortable and had enough pillows. The main building has a convenience store. One important thing to point out - there are no elevators in this hotel. The layout of the hotel is several 2-story building blocks around a central pool area behind the main reception building. If you have several heavy suitcases, try to ask for a room on the ground floor.
Other nice things about this place is you can extend your room for an extra $40 + taxes if your flight is not until the evening, otherwise they have day rates where you can stay from 9am until 8pm for $50 + taxes. The facility also offers free wifi.

Room Tip: No elevators so ask for one on the ground floor if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although convenient to LAX is important, the key to the hotels success over several decades has been the clean rooms, efficient and friendly staff, the moderate rates, the free amenities.that include parking and Wi-Fi access...then the expanded continental breakfast menu. The "icing on the cake" is the tropical setting of the interior court yards...flowers and fauna abound. Then, of course, there is the 24 hrs. Denny's Restaurant and Lounge and adjoin the hotel.
No elevator...you can request a first floor room or there is always staff available to assist you with your luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

for the price and location this is a fine hotel for an overnight between flights from LAX. shuttle bus very prompt, front desk helpful. first room was smelly and window screen was broken, desk moved us to another room without a problem. comfortable beds.
landscaping around pool area very nice with many flowers, plants, etc. lobby was a little shabby, but compared to the prices of other LAX airports I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review... Although the goal is to have every room at 100%, the reality is rooms are renovated on a 5 year cycle. If the room does not seem comfortable to you, please do as this quest did ask to see another room. The goal of the staff is to provide you with an enjoyable stay regardless of its brevity. We strive to provide you with a pleasant lodging experienced at a moderate room rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a stop over after flying from Kansas City, before we took a 13 hour flight to Sydney. Located very close to the airport (maybe a mile). Free shuttle provided. Check in was easy. Site is pretty spread out, so it was a long walk to our room. it was an rare rainy day in LA and part of the walk was in the rain. Has nice pool. Denny's restaurant located on site with good food. There is also a McDonalds, Subway and Taco Bell located within walking distance. Room was away from the street, so it very quite except for the planes taking off. Breakfast room was pretty small, but dry weather would have allowed for some outside seating. It is not a luxury place, but the price was right for a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Century Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
For the moderate room rates and the age of the buildings to attempt to be a 4 or 5 star hotel would be a comedy. Instead we do strive for 5 stars but in the areas we can achieve them...service, efficiency, cleanliness, convenience, and hospitality.. We maximize the uniqueness of the property...expansive landscaped grounds -- an expanded continental breakfast bar that now includes waffles with sausage to be added by March 25th. The pool is heated to between 68 and 70 degrees which for some is cold but those traveling from Canada find it very warm. Thank you for submitting a review...we do believe we provide an excellent hotel value--now if we could just get rid of the taxes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

For the price paid ($86 including tax), I didn't know exactly what we'd be getting. It was just myself and my 7 year old daughter. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had one of the "Sleepy Bear Den" rooms; everything was decked out with bears, very cute. Room was clean, tidy and the heat worked well (was a cold evening and following morning in early February). Shower worked well, and the free breakfast was nice the next morning. Friendly staff, they let us lounge in their reception area and locked our bags away for us while we just sat and waited for a late flight.

We didn't use the Denny's next door but it would've been super convenient. We made use of the bigger Gas Station that was across the road.

Never felt unsafe. And would totally stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The Sleepy Bear Room is popular with children. They have their own Sleepy Bear television chair -- plus the room provides a microwave and refrigerator. Children videos are available at the front desk. The breakfast room can become crowded-- recently we added a garden patio just off the room; then the pool area is also available for guests to enjoy their continental breakfast...waffles are a recent addition with sausage to arrive on March 25th. Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel at LAX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Address: 5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel at LAX 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Hotel at LAX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel at LAX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.