We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5-Star, but good value for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hotel at LAX to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel at LAX
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not a 5-Star, but good value for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was a stop over after flying from Kansas City, before we took a 13 hour flight to Sydney. Located very close to the airport (maybe a mile). Free shuttle provided. Check in was easy. Site is pretty spread out, so it was a long walk to our room. it was an rare rainy day in LA and part of the walk was in the rain. Has nice pool. Denny's restaurant located on site with good food. There is also a McDonalds, Subway and Taco Bell located within walking distance. Room was away from the street, so it very quite except for the planes taking off. Breakfast room was pretty small, but dry weather would have allowed for some outside seating. It is not a luxury place, but the price was right for a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Century Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
For the moderate room rates and the age of the buildings to attempt to be a 4 or 5 star hotel would be a comedy. Instead we do strive for 5 stars but in the areas we can achieve them...service, efficiency, cleanliness, convenience, and hospitality.. We maximize the uniqueness of the property...expansive landscaped grounds -- an expanded continental breakfast bar that now includes waffles with sausage to be added by March 25th. The pool is heated to between 68 and 70 degrees which for some is cold but those traveling from Canada find it very warm. Thank you for submitting a review...we do believe we provide an excellent hotel value--now if we could just get rid of the taxes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    405
    249
    100
    81
See reviews for
248
322
138
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

For the price paid ($86 including tax), I didn't know exactly what we'd be getting. It was just myself and my 7 year old daughter. We were pleasantly surprised to find we had one of the "Sleepy Bear Den" rooms; everything was decked out with bears, very cute. Room was clean, tidy and the heat worked well (was a cold evening and following morning in early February). Shower worked well, and the free breakfast was nice the next morning. Friendly staff, they let us lounge in their reception area and locked our bags away for us while we just sat and waited for a late flight.

We didn't use the Denny's next door but it would've been super convenient. We made use of the bigger Gas Station that was across the road.

Never felt unsafe. And would totally stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The Sleepy Bear Room is popular with children. They have their own Sleepy Bear television chair -- plus the room provides a microwave and refrigerator. Children videos are available at the front desk. The breakfast room can become crowded-- recently we added a garden patio just off the room; then the pool area is also available for guests to enjoy their continental breakfast...waffles are a recent addition with sausage to arrive on March 25th. Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The pick up from the airport was fast and the hotel is not far away. This is quite a large, leafy property and the staff prepared a map to help you navigate. The rooms are large but worn. The flat screen TV is big with many channels and wifi works perfectly. The bathroom is in a similar state, everything works well but is not new. Equipped with iron and ironing board and coffee making facilities and everything else you might need. There is an onsite Denny's that runs 24 hours and also brochures for delivery pizza available in the room. There is a lovely outdoor heted pool that I think wastes too much energy. Also the rooms and common area use incandescent bulbs, hope they can improve this. The gym like everything, works but no great. Breakfast crowded but quality better than expected. The free shuttle back to the airport was good and fast. Good bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Request for a non-smoking room or die!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate when a guest has an understanding of the lodging option we provide travelers. The buildings that house our guest rooms are from the fifties...yes the have been updated...but the design remains intact. Our lobby is small...not opulent but definitely is functional and quickly addresses our guests needs. I like the phase "good bang for the bucks" -- with a 24 hr. Denny's Restaurant/Lounge adjoining the hotel plus the free amenities of parking, Wi-Fi, and expanded continental breakfast the value creates a big BANG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I flew into LAX a day before our international flight. We booked the Travelodge based on the location, price, and favorable TripAdvisor reviews. What a delight! Just a few blocks from busy LAX, this hidden gem is an like an oasis in a concrete jungle.

Our room on the first floor was impeccably clean, with a lanai that looked out on the pristine swimming pool. Flowering shrubs and trees shelter the hotel from the major streets and add charm. Road noise was practically nonexistent with the sliding glass door closed.

Everyone on the staff was friendly, from the shuttle driver to the front desk help. For an additional $30 we were able to extend our stay until 8 pm, which was perfect for our 10 pm flight! We lounged at the pool and then took a taxi a few miles away for some shopping, and were able to shower and clean up before leaving for our flight.

The hotel is adjacent to a Denny's, which was a good place for a few inexpensive meals.

I would definitely pick the Travelodge again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for submtting a review of your recent stay with us. Many of our overnight guests have late connecting flights. For a nominal rate the traveler can stay in their room until 8 p.m. -- chose to sit by the swimming pool, take a guided tour or an Ocean Express bus to the costal community of Manhattan Beach and shopping centers. Then return to the hotel...have a meal at Denny's Restaurant that adjoins the hotel...shower...and then depart for the airport--on request an hour can be added to the check out time of 8 p.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Never written a hotel review before, but I have time...
For the price we paid, the hotel was very reasonable- you cannot expect 5 star luxury if you're paying the amount these guys charge. It is very conveniently located to the airport (and Alamo where we hired our vehicle), and the rooms are comfortable. There is a Denny's next door and a gas station as well, which is great for a tired long-haul traveling family.
Parking can be a bit limited, but there is extra parking at Denny's. The friendly security guy suggested that at night we park back in the hotel premises, which was nice.
There were a couple of small hiccups (like our key cards didn't work the 2nd day), but they were quickly rectified.
True, it doesn't feel like the best part of town, but we never felt threatened or unsafe (but I wouldn't walk around at night). For the combination of location, convenience and price, I can't make any criticism at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
The staff and management are particularly pleased to know that we are the first hotel that you have reviewed. We never get tired of hearing that we fulfilled the lodging needs of our guests. The convenient location of the hotel to restaurants, car rental agencies, and the airport coupled with its moderate room rates creates a unique hotel option for travelers through LAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 times now after long flts from London. It's always mega convenient, cheap, clean & ideal location after an 11 hour flt when u just wanna sit in Denny's eating junk & forgetting next days journeys
It has a small clean pool with Lou gets & pretty grounds
Staff polite, efficient & welcoming. Free parking & literally a 7 min walk down to Alamo/National. I can afford 5* butlins etc but they're a waste of hard earned money for 1 night when a great little place like this sits slap bang in the middle of it

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks you for submitting your review and "nailing" the description of the hotel and who will enjoy their stay with us. The number one compliment the hotel's staff and management can receive is having guests return to stay with us...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as part of a group package. I flew in from Seattle about 7 pm to meet my group and catch a flight out to Palau early the next morning. I called the shuttle and it took about 15 to 20 minutes to arrive but all went smooth. There was a rush and some confusion at check in but not too bad. It is a busy place. I never saw the place in the daylight but I saw a lot of 50's style charm in the main building surrounding the pool. Lots of gardens made you feel like you were not in the middle of a huge city. There is a nice gift shop with lots of souviners, snacks and drinks. The Denny's that is attached the hotel is the restaurant and bar for the hotel and it is typical Denny's style. I stayed in the newer section in the back which is a vitural maze to get to my room but it was clean, quite and comfortable. The rooms were old and the shower was tiny but they were clean and I have no complaints and thought it was the perfect location for some rest between long filghts. I would not stay here if I were vacationing in LA but I will always stay here in transit!! The price was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing in your review your enjoyment of the 50ties style charm of the hotel. The hotel is unique. The tropical landscaped grounds that abound with potted plants and flowers does provide the traveler wiith a brief opportunity to remove themselves from the hustle and bustle of airport travel.
Besides the transit guest, we do have "vacationers". The airport is located at the "hub of the wheel" for Los Angeles tourist sites. Instead of having to change hotels, our guests have found that within 15 to 45 minutes from the hotel is located all the popular tourist sites...the hotel parking is free; tourist buses leave daily from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Hotel at LAX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Address: 5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel at LAX 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Hotel at LAX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel at LAX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.