We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hotel at LAX to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel at LAX
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (Westside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Never written a hotel review before, but I have time...
For the price we paid, the hotel was very reasonable- you cannot expect 5 star luxury if you're paying the amount these guys charge. It is very conveniently located to the airport (and Alamo where we hired our vehicle), and the rooms are comfortable. There is a Denny's next door and a gas station as well, which is great for a tired long-haul traveling family.
Parking can be a bit limited, but there is extra parking at Denny's. The friendly security guy suggested that at night we park back in the hotel premises, which was nice.
There were a couple of small hiccups (like our key cards didn't work the 2nd day), but they were quickly rectified.
True, it doesn't feel like the best part of town, but we never felt threatened or unsafe (but I wouldn't walk around at night). For the combination of location, convenience and price, I can't make any criticism at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
The staff and management are particularly pleased to know that we are the first hotel that you have reviewed. We never get tired of hearing that we fulfilled the lodging needs of our guests. The convenient location of the hotel to restaurants, car rental agencies, and the airport coupled with its moderate room rates creates a unique hotel option for travelers through LAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    446
    268
    108
    86
See reviews for
266
352
152
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 times now after long flts from London. It's always mega convenient, cheap, clean & ideal location after an 11 hour flt when u just wanna sit in Denny's eating junk & forgetting next days journeys
It has a small clean pool with Lou gets & pretty grounds
Staff polite, efficient & welcoming. Free parking & literally a 7 min walk down to Alamo/National. I can afford 5* butlins etc but they're a waste of hard earned money for 1 night when a great little place like this sits slap bang in the middle of it

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks you for submitting your review and "nailing" the description of the hotel and who will enjoy their stay with us. The number one compliment the hotel's staff and management can receive is having guests return to stay with us...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was booked for me as part of a group package. I flew in from Seattle about 7 pm to meet my group and catch a flight out to Palau early the next morning. I called the shuttle and it took about 15 to 20 minutes to arrive but all went smooth. There was a rush and some confusion at check in but not too bad. It is a busy place. I never saw the place in the daylight but I saw a lot of 50's style charm in the main building surrounding the pool. Lots of gardens made you feel like you were not in the middle of a huge city. There is a nice gift shop with lots of souviners, snacks and drinks. The Denny's that is attached the hotel is the restaurant and bar for the hotel and it is typical Denny's style. I stayed in the newer section in the back which is a vitural maze to get to my room but it was clean, quite and comfortable. The rooms were old and the shower was tiny but they were clean and I have no complaints and thought it was the perfect location for some rest between long filghts. I would not stay here if I were vacationing in LA but I will always stay here in transit!! The price was GREAT!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing in your review your enjoyment of the 50ties style charm of the hotel. The hotel is unique. The tropical landscaped grounds that abound with potted plants and flowers does provide the traveler wiith a brief opportunity to remove themselves from the hustle and bustle of airport travel.
Besides the transit guest, we do have "vacationers". The airport is located at the "hub of the wheel" for Los Angeles tourist sites. Instead of having to change hotels, our guests have found that within 15 to 45 minutes from the hotel is located all the popular tourist sites...the hotel parking is free; tourist buses leave daily from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The free shuttle was great (in theory), but we had to wait nearly an hour at the hotel for it to pick us up. We booked a day stay at this hotel for a long lay-over after an international flight and was shocked when we drove up.

When we got out of the shuttle I immediately felt unsafe and I couldn't believe that out of all the hotels on that street, we picked this one. The rooms were old, smelly and our bathroom was disgusting (filled with mold and hair). Our room window backed up to an alley and for our whole stay we had to listen to delivery trucks pull up and unload (not to mention our beautiful view of the big barbed wire fence). Now I wasn't expecting anything fancy but this was definitely below the standard that we were prepared for. If you have children, I suggest you pay a little more and stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: Day rate was great and free shuttle was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
An hour wait at the airport does not contribute to a guest's enjoyable stay. In all the hotel's websites and ads the statement is made that you have to call the hotel for the shuttle service. We are a small hotel and are permitted by the airport for two shuttles; consequently, unlike the large high rise properties were cannot continuously circle the airport--even these hotels are on a 20 minute cycle.
Pay "a little more" -- we are the only hotel that offers a day rate from 9 a.m. t 8 p.m. -- you would pay a $100 plus for an overnight rate.
"Felt unsafe"--we are situated between two 3 and 4 star properties--350 yards. Yes, we are a fifties hotel -- "old" is not synonymous with unsafe as this guest stated. It is an interesting mindset that "old" translates to "tired" "unkempt" and "not safe'. Other reviews comment on the beautiful grounds--this guest had a mind block seeing only "decay" -- mold/hair in bathroom--we are regularly inspected by the City of Los Angeles, AAA, and Wyndham for quality control--we would be immediately cited.
Trucks in the alley--one hotel/restaurant does not translate into continuous delivery. In a day we have a maximum of two trucks that either bring product or take linen to be serviced.
Constructive criticism is helpful -- paranoid responses are detrimental to the traveler reading a review and of course the hotel. Barb Wire -- feeling insecure--would the removal of the cyclone fencing with two strands of barbwire that is designed to provide security actually result in a guest feeling more secure?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed twice during this trip. Once going and once coming back. The shuttle pickup was a bit confusing at the airport but it worked well. Room was ok and breakfast room was very crowded but you could take food and drink outside. If not happy Denny's next door is open 24hrs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for submitting your reivew. The Denny's Restaurant/Lounge that adjoins the hotel makes eating very convenient. Both in food cost and room rate we provide the only moderately priced option to the high rise hotels in the area. The best compliment we can receive is in having guests return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is your classic value airport hotel which offers efficient shuttle service in and out of LAX, rather tired rooms with noisy AC. The included breakfast is a nice breakfast but get there early ! the pools is a nice touch if you are there during the day on a long layover etc. Its good value for money at LAX.

Room Tip: Backrooms are quieter but a long way from the lobby .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael19490_10, Manager at Travelodge Hotel at LAX, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
There is a relationship between opulence and room rate -- the option we provide is unique -- a classic fifties style motor lodge which is located within a mile of the 3rd busiest airport in the worldd...the first hotel at LAX (then called Mines Field) which is now bordered by 3 and 4 star properties. Our objective is to preserve the time when motle/hotels provided open corridors, gorgeous grounds, very clean rooms, updated mattresses and 32 inch flat screentelevisions, junior Olympic size pool, and just plain "down home" service -- free parking (only hotel to provide it); an ever expanding continental breakfast menu (waffles and sausage to be added by April), free Wi-Fi, tours, etc. etc. We provide our own shuttle service rather than teaming with 3 or 4 other properties. Yes, some guests prefer the extended wing as they find it quieter; other guest prefer rooms with refrigerators in the pool area and patios or balconies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel at LAX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel at LAX

Address: 5547 W. Century Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel at LAX 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel at LAX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Los Angeles
Travel Lodge Los Angeles
Los Angeles Travel Lodge
Los Angeles Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel at LAX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.