We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #83 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A decent airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

A smooth good service minded check-in and check-out, a good sized hotel room and no particular noise from the airport or freeway , free and a great breakfast...actually one of the best we have had in any American hotel in a long time! Free airport shuttle, on time and also very service minded!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    421
    165
    44
    20
See reviews for
218
265
61
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arrived to be given key to an occupied room. So back to reception. Next room ok and cleared car so we could return it to Alamo. Ticket given at reception did not work in barrier so back again to reception. Despite these minor issues the room was good and the breakfast lovely. Slept well no airport noise to disturb. Free transport to terminals.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel for its proximity to LAX but more importantly, its proximity to car rental pick up locations (Avis). I liked this hotel as it was far enough away from LAX to get some peace and quiet after a long flight from the UK. My criteria for a good stay in a hotel are: clean, comfortable, reasonably noise free and helpful staff. Tick all of these, I was able to get a good night’s rest post flight and that's all I really need of an airport hotel.

Some tips:
The hotel is serviced by a free courtesy bus which you need call (via courtesy phone) and arrange collection. If arriving at the Tom Bradley International Terminal the phones are located on the right side of the public side of the TB terminal (after clearing immigration) there are a couple of hotel phones and you need the Holiday Inn one. You then should go and wait in the courtesy bus waiting area which is through the nearest doors to the right of the courtesy phones, go to the red zone waiting area, the bus will arrive (we waited about 15 mins) and collect you. It is customary to tip (in US) if the driver helps you with bags ($1 a bag seems acceptable).

We had a car rental to collect the day after we arrived, from the Avis lot. This is just down the street, a short walk! Yes that's right a short walk (5 mins tops). Certainly, in daylight hours the area is safe so you don't need a taxi to take you there and the advantage to us, we were able to leave luggage at hotel and go and collect the car come back pick up luggage and we were on our way.

Although we did not use the local restaurants we found the 24 hour 7 Eleven at the back of the hotel very useful to get a couple of sandwiches and some refreshments. It’s a well-stocked shop where you can get a range of food and beverages (including beer). But note no matter how old you are take some ID if you want to buy some alcohol from them, they will ask!

I recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked a room with a king bed, and when we arrived at the room it turned out to be a queen bed (if it wasn't a queen bed then it is the narrowest king bed I have ever seen), end of corridor, and the room was a little tired. We could have gone back downstairs, however, we had a lot of luggage, we were beat; so we decided to just get on with our re-packing and not bother requesting a room change. During the night I wish I had, but it was a little late to do so. The bed was uncomfortable and we couldn't keep the room cool enough with the AC.
Positives: the breakfast was great, as most others have commented. Big variety, well cooked and tasty food. The location is very central and the transfers to LAX on the half hour are timely as well. The staff were very prompt and professional as well. It is extremely sound proof- never heard a plane.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Greg_N_C_10,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here over Father's Day Weekend and this hotel was actually our second choice. Our first choice was booked so I took a chance on staying here. My main concern was that the hotel was so close to the airport that I feared our sleep would be disturbed by the planes flying in and out of LAX. That never happened. I don't think that we ever heard a plane the entire time that we stayed there even though our room faced the direction of the airport. The hotel itself is showing it's age. It could use some updating. However, the room and public areas were kept extremely clean and everything was in good operating order. In a nutshell, the hotel staff makes the very best out of what they have to work with. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms that worked flawlessly. One thing that impressed me with the free breakfast was that the staff never let any of the food run out. This included a couple days that the hotel was completely booked and at times the dining room was so swamped that they had to open an adjoining meeting room for people to sit and eat. We stayed in a standard room so there was no microwave or fridge which we really didn't need. The hotel was a very short distance from where we rented our rental car which made returning it a breeze. It was also a short distance to the 405 which made it extremely convenient to get to anywhere we needed to go. Parking could be a problem if you arrive late at night as the lot seems to get pretty full in the evenings. There's a McDonald's right across the street as well as other restaurants within easy walking distance. The price was very reasonable assuming that you are not looking for a lot of frills. Our experience was so good that this hotel will most likely become our new first choice when we visit Los Angeles.

Room Tip: The elevators are terribly slow. As such, I would suggest that you request a room on one of the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pros:

-Friendly staff (thank you Noella for the unexpected discount!)

-Great breakfast (omelettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, turkey sausage, Oikos yogurt, pancakes, bagels, biscuits, cereal, and more)

-Location is close to the airport, but not too close that you hear planes while sleeping

-Toiletries are from Bath and Body Works

-Free wifi in the room

-Hot water all the time

-Fitness room (has treadmills, ellipticals, and an exercise ball. No weights unfortunately)

Cons (though staff helped to alleviate some of the problems):

-Parking spaces were very limited at night around 10-11 pm, though this may be because it was 4th of July weekend. Good thing is, there is a staff person who will help you find a space if it's full or nearing full. I also recommend having a compact car. We had a mid-size car and parking was very tight, literally inches from other cars.

-Both room cards kept getting disabled multiple times a day for some reason. Staff was very nice when we requested to have our cards reprogrammed. There's actually a guest phone on your floor, so you don't have to go to the lobby to get a new card. They will come to your floor.

-In our room, there was no bathroom vent at all, so we tended to use the 1st floor bathroom at times...

Other notes:

-Both elevators were quite slow. Sometimes it was hard to tell if I was even moving or not.

-We didn't request daily housekeeping service, so I can't comment on that.

-If you're a light sleeper, I would be wary of using the air conditioner.

-The spa tub in the king suite is in the bathroom

Overall:

I would recommend this place and will be coming here again hopefully!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Really enjoyed the service here. Very friendly people who helped out with restaurant for dinner, changed my room to a more quiet room upon request, really friendly.

Room is nice, has all amenities, bed is comfortable and the room was really clean. Breakfast was basic, but good. Good service here again. Large room with lots of tables spaced well across the room for some relaxed breakfast.

Shuttle-service to LAX runs every 30 minutes and was a clean bus, nice driver and quick. Value of the room was good, given the nice location, you can easily walk the area for restaurants at night. Lots of parkingspace in front of the hotel.

Great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#63 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.