We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #80 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

after 8 days USA (SFO, Las Vegas and LA) we stayed one night in the Holiday Inn Express at the Airport. We were earlier than the check in time but it was no problem at all.

The rooms are nice and clean but one bad point was the smell in the room. It smelled like a toilet; maybe there was something leaking.

The breakfast was good; enough choice

As the place is near to the Rental Car return I decided to bring back the car early in the morning and walked back to the hotel. From there the shuttle bus to the airport and off to Vancouver for the next 9 days of Holiday.

Basically you can see: a good location once you want to go out from LAX airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    355
    148
    36
    19
See reviews for
184
228
54
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Despite what you might have read in previous reviews we found the shuttle service to be excellent. This is obviously important when you are using an airport hotel after a long international flight as we did.
The hotel recommends that you call on arrival, which you can do from a 25c pay phone if you don't have cell coverage. Our shuttle arrived about 35 minutes after we had made that call. This may sound like a bit of a wait but a fellow traveller who arrived at the shuttle stop at the same time as we did and was looking for the LAX Marriott shuttle was still waiting after we were picked up, so delays with the shuttles can happen even if you are paying much more to stay at one of the high end hotels. This is not at all surprising given the very heavy traffic around LAX.
The desk clerk greeted us with eye contact and a smile then she quickly and efficiently checked us in - all that was required after over 18 hours travelling.
The room and breakfast were fine (typical of HI Express) and the shuttle driver took us directly to the Alamo rental depot, rather than to the airport saving us the need to get the National/Alamo bus back out of the airport, something that was much appreciated.
The rate at this hotel was very reasonable considering the close proximity to the airport and free breakfast. If getting to your room fast is a top priority then you could skip the shuttle and pay for a cab to the hotel. This would still cost less in total than staying at most other decent hotels around LAX where you pay for breakfast. Or do as we did and accept a reasonable wait for the free (note that word, free!) shuttle, we were very satisfied and happy that we chose to do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express, but the thing that made it so convenient was the airport shuttle. Every 30 minutes the van goes to and from LAX. After flying in from Sydney my Dad and I were absolutely exhausted and the shuttle picked us up at the terminal within 4 minutes of calling. Very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is fairly good value for an airport location and the bonus is that the car rental returns are closed by, down the street, and you cannot hear the planes. I would definitely recommend for a one night stay to catch a flight the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had to stay here after getting in to LAX late one night. The staff was great, I called from the airport and they sent a Shuttle right away. It stunk but, hey, it's an airport shuttle!!
I got to the room and as a routine that I do at every hotel, I headed to the bed to check for bugs. No bugs but just as I pulled up the mattress I found a condom wrapper. Not a condom, just the wrapper. While we all know what happens at hotels, we don't want to witness the evidence. My problem with finding it was that the situation spoke to the cleanliness of the hotel. If the housekeeping staff would have just looked it would have seen the wrapper. I hate a dirty hotel and this was one of the dirtiest. It's a shame because the front desk staff was very polite and were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear lut5556,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see your kind comments and high score for the staff and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel was very clean...staff was very friendly...no problem in getting the shuttle from LAX..breakfast was typical...great location to rental car locations. Was able to walk to pick up rental car.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were flying to and then returning from Hawaii for a vacation. Stayed there on April 12th and April 30th with 4 rooms reserved on both dates. First stay at this HIE and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard HIE. Everyone liked the breakfast. There was a couple choices of restaurants close by for dinner. We went to the Western Sizzlin just around the corner. Good food for a hungry bunch and they're open till 9pm. Large buffet plus you can order off the menu.

The shuttle service vans HIE offers are comfortable and staffed by knowledgeable drivers. The ride is less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.