We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for a LAX airport hotel, and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #83 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
“Solid choice for a LAX airport hotel, and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

For a one-night stopover convenient to LAX, this hotel proved to be a solid choice and great value.

The hotel is close to the airport but set apart from the mass of big hotels. Its roomy and free shuttle bus goes to the airport every 30 minutes; pickup from the airport is by request. The ride takes less than 15 minutes. The bus drivers were all polite and efficient. For drivers, there is ample free parking in front or in the parking structure around the side.

While the hotel is on busy Airport Boulevard, most of the rooms are set back. Thanks to this and to the thick windows, we found our room to be very quiet at night. The view of L.A. was pretty good, too, since there are no other tall buildings around. Nearby Manchester Street is well-developed but the neighbourhood is not fit for walking. This is L.A. after all. You drive.

Inside, our 6th floor king bed room was up to HIX standards. No complaints there. Everything clean and working nicely. The lobby is actually pretty nice too. It has a small convenience shop. Unfortunately, the two elevators are extremely slow. This irritated pretty well everybody all the time.

The included breakfast was HIX-standard. A nice mix of choices and good coffee and juice. This standard is good in all but one respect: almost no fresh fruit. Bananas only. The main breakfast room is small but there is a large overflow dining room adjacent. The staff took good care of the breakfast spread and room on the two busy mornings we attended. Led by an pleasant female manager, the staff were quick to clean tables, welcome guests, and replenish supplies.

The hotel has a small exercise room, and a pool. The latter is however squeezed into the parking area and surrounded by concrete.

Overall, for $132 all in, we were completely satisfied with this hotel as a restful stopover on the way to or from LAX. It is by no means anything more than that.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor king bed suite. The bedroom faces busy Airport Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    421
    167
    44
    20
See reviews for
219
265
61
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived today after being dropped at wrong holiday inn. Carlos was great,.! Sent shuttle for us. Then got us ride to downtown which ended up being way more than estimate...ride back to hotel didn't show. Call Carlos he helped again to find us a ride and than lower our room rate to make up for holiday inn recommended ride that overcharged us. We head back to Texas tomorrow and wanted to thank Carlos before we left LA. Note to Carlos..we make u an honorary Texan!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night as we had a flight out the next afternoon. They had a shuttle that picked us up within 10 minutes after calling them and it also took us back to the airport the next day, driver was very courteous and friendly. Our flight got in a few hours before check in time but the front desk girl got us in our room 2 hours early which was great. Room was comfy and the free breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I visit my son and his family in California at lease twice a year and stay here exclusively. They have a outdoor pool which is very well maintained in addition to clean rooms and excellent amenities. Also included is a complimentary breakfast buffet which is always fresh and quite good. A great way to start each day. The prices are reasonable and they have free parking as well as consistent shuttle service to LAX.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in the executive room. Clean and quiet. Excellent amenities and at great locations. Close to the airport, freeway and restraunts. I recommend it here. The breakfast is complimentary with your stay here at holiday in express.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here overnight after long flight.

Walked 5 minutes to pick up car next day - pretty good location to stay if you are renting car from HERTZ LAX which is on same block.

7-11 next door, few restaurants nearby too - all walking distance.
Free parking and wifi.

Modern & clean room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we had an early flight the next day. Arrived early and were given our room right away. Room was spacious and clean. We asked the reception staff for directions to take the bus to Venice Beach. She suggested the airport shuttle drop us at the bus stop. The driver even gave us his cell # so we could call him to pick us up! Breakfast was ok - how about some fruit?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#63 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.