We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel/Terrible Parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045 (LAX Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #80 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel/Terrible Parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was going to say "No" in recommending this hotel, but decided not to for this reason: if you don't care about parking, then overall this is a nice place to stay at a reasonable rate. When I'm paying for a room I'm also expecting parking on the property. When we arrived back to the hotel on Saturday evening, 10/21 at 10:30pm and are told there is no more parking available, please driving around the building and park out back at the Sizzler parking lot, that does not make one happy or comfortable. When we asked the person at the front desk he apologized and said "this is why this hotel does not charge extra for parking" really? He also suggested we could speak to his manager Carmen in the morning. We did not, we checked out and plan not to stay again. Next time we will stay at the other Holiday Inn that has a bar in it along with parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear DandRWolfe,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations with regards to parking. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for future improvements needed.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    355
    148
    36
    19
See reviews for
184
228
54
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed over one night (10 May 2013) en route from New York to Hawaii. Love Holiday Inn Express worldwide as you know the standard you are likely to get in this chain of hotels. As usual, everything was clean and acceptable. Airport shuttle collection both from the airport to hotel and from hotel back to airport in the morning was without a hitch. Whilst waiting to board our plane I realised I had left my expensive ring (a birthday present only a week before) on the shelf next to the bed. A phone call to the hotel resulted in the manager personally checking our room, finding the ring, and jumping on the hotel shuttle to rush back to LAX to meet my husband at departures. This man pulled out all the stops to help us and we were so grateful to him for his time and effort to return the ring to me. OUTSTANDING SERVICE. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Used this hotel as a stopover before an early flight to Las Vegas

Checkin and checkout were very efficient, the rom clean and spacious, and we had a quiet nights sleep

We did find it hard to find the free shuttle bus from LAX so jumped in a taxi instead. To be fair to the hotel, they refunded us our taxi fare, which was a nice and unexpected touch

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived late after tiring flight and the HI Express was very comforting- familiar and with a pleasant reception from the staff. As HI Expresses go, this was a little tired in terms of decoration and bathrooms, and it is near the airport and therefore not in an interesting area. However, for a stopover it is just the job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear eastridingowl,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a Holiday Inn and it is not the most awesome part of Los Angeles, so it is not magnificent and if you go in expecting it to be then you will be disappointed. However, it is far from awful. I will relay bad news first then finish off with all the good stuff.

CONS: Check-in was simple enough and they were alright at the front desk - a bit chatty amongst themselves, but friendly enough. Then when we got to our room and it smelled like diapers and armpits. We opened the window and had a movie to see in Hollywood and rushed right out. By the time we got back, it still smelled awful and there was nowhere to switch to (but maybe there was nowhere to switch to anyway beforehand). Their solution was to send up housekeeping with a can of deodorizing spray. The mega-industrial spray worked for a few hours but then wore off. They wouldn't let us keep the can in the room and when the housekeeping person walked in, she was stunned by the funk and laughed in agreement about how awful it was. She was very nice and fun, but I would have liked to have kept the can to use again when the funk returned. We woke up with sore throats. The room rate was a bargain, but there was absolutely nothing offered to us for our room's funk issue. The A/C had us either freezing or hot - couldn't get quite comfortable which was too bad because the beds were awesome.
If you are a tourist, there is nowhere to walk to and if there were I would tell you not to. I lived in the area for a few years - just take a cab to the Fox Hills Mall or Hughes Center or rent a car. If you're visiting L.A., you should know you can only walk both around and to a few places, otherwise transportation is needed. The location is pretty central to get to a lot of great shopping and fun though without having to drive too far.

PROS:
Parking is simple and free (unlike other nearby hotels) and there is free wi-fi and breakfast! Real breakfast with plain scrambled eggs, cheese omelette-esque thingies, bacon, sausage, bread, pancake maker doo-dah which was very popular and I didn't feel like waiting for it, so not sure how it tasted, but people enjoyed it. The breakfast staff was attentive and kept everything clean and full.
We hung out in the hot tub and no one was there so we had a lovely time to ourselves. The weather was perfect for being in the hot tub and it was a clear sky above us. There is security in the parking lot and he walks around the building, so we felt quite safe and I did not worry about the car at all.
With the exception of the awful smell, the room was quite nice. The beds were very, very comfortable and there was plenty of room. The big flat screen tv was nice to sit and vegetate in front of watching silly movies on cable. You can't beat the price for the free parking and breakfast. We had a pretty good time overall and I really give it a 3.5 but I can only choose 3 or 4. I would stay again, but would definitely take issue immediately if there were any problems with the room.

Room Tip: Smell check the room before you settle in! We were on the south side of the building, so there wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management03, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I really do appologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I can assure you that I will be looking into the matter.

Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wow what excellent. service from our arrival until our departure everyone was helpful and -nothing was too much trouble.
We were collected from the airport by the shuttle, the reception girls found the first available room and we had a lovely shower after our long flight.
LAX provided a shuttle service to the local bus station and picked us up on our return later that evening. Breakfast was included in the room price and there was plenty to choose from.
The room was really comfortable and the hotel has complimentary WiFi.
There's a Sizzler nearby so we and the hotel has a list of other nearby eating places.
Shuttle to the airport for early morning departure was quick and efficient.
Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Sizzler was good for our evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here the first night of our California vacation after arriving at LAX. A gentleman picked us up in the free shuttle and check in was smooth. Our room is very nice and the building even looks new although its not. It has a small fitness room and a free breakfast. The only negative was the tv signal. They must be on satellite as it kept losing the signal every few seconds. That was extremely annoying as we tried to watch the news. There are two restaurants directly behind the hotel, which was very convenient. Other than the tv, it seems to be a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport

Address: 8620 Airport Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > LAX Area , Westside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-Lax Airport Hotel Los Angeles
Howard Johnson Los Angeles
Los Angeles Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles-LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.