We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Checkers Los Angeles to your Saves list
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We booked this based on the location reviews and were not disappointed. There is valet parking which was rather expensive but nice and easy. There is overnight parking in Pershing Square at a fraction of the price. The check in was quick and courteous and the room was easy to find. It was rather nice not to have people jump on you trying to carry your bags to the room, but if you do want help it is available. The room was a reasonable size and was very clean with nice bedding, towels and toiletries. We were knackered on arrival so ate room service which was very tasty and there was plenty of it. The next night we ate in the restaurant which I would suggest you don't bother with. Had we not been so very very jet lagged we would have gone out, but we just couldn't make it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    260
    108
    40
    31
See reviews for
89
194
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I have stayed here several times and I always enjoy it. The staff is very friendly, and everyone from the bellmen to the front desk staff all greet everyone each time they enter. I stay there because my client is close by. I have stayed in other properties nearby, but this is my favorite. It's lovely, low-key, friendly, and very comfortable. I generally stay on the top floor and have had fantastic views of the gorgeous roof of the public library and Library Tower. I only wish the rates were more competitive with the other nearby properties. It's tricky to justify to my client.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I really enjoyed my brief stay at the Hilton Checkers, an early 20th-century building wedged between the skyscrapers in the heart of downtown. The hotel is right next to the public library and Library (USBank) Tower. Even my 2nd floor room had a pretty good view of it and the surrounding buildings, if only while standing at the window. The size of the room was as you would expect for a building of this age, but the space was used well and the marble bathroom and closet were surprisingly large. Most rooms have corner windows for added light. Other nice touches such as back-lit headboards, decorative glass sconces, crown molding, and granite topped furniture make this a much nicer Hilton property than many others. The roof-level pool area is amazing. Trendy restaurants, convenience stores, public transit, and self parking are all less than 2 blocks away. The hotel only offers valet parking for 38.50 but lots nearby charge 12-18 for overnight parking (not secured). Best in-room coffee I've ever had (Lavazza). I would return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I was here with a friend over MLK weekend and it was a little pricey. The hotel staff was nice, and accomodating, even booked a rental car for us. The rooms are very nice and clean. Because we had a rental car, we needed to park it overnight and the hotel's parking was very expensive ($40/day), so we found a parking garage a block away that only charged $10/night. I would recommend this hotel if you're on business, but if traveling for pleasure, I'd pick something different.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, BC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton Checkers to be close to staples centre, it was a 3 minute cab ride and cost $5.00. The door guys at this hotel are awesome, if you stay there, chat up Christopher, he was great. The breakfast was super nice, but I swear the wife's from "real wives of OC" were dining there too....lol... Only down side to the room was that we had an excellent view of the air equipment on the roof of the building next to us. Other than that, No Complaints!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed at Hilton Checkers in downtown LA for 2 nights for business trip. Staff were friendly enough. My room was of a good size and bed and pillows really comfortable. Loved the bathroom, they supplied plenty of cotton buds which came in handy for makeup etc. Towels really soft but wasn't so keen on the soap for showering as I usually use shower gel.
Room was nice and quiet. Although they had snacks and beverages in the room there was no refrigerator / cooler which was a bit of a pain as I like to have chilled water.

Had fresh granola with yoghurt and fresh fruits for breakfast which was ok. Fruit was nice but rest tasted a bit bland.

Used the computers for emailing etc and speed was pretty fast.

Gym on top floor was okay size and had 3 treadmills.

All in all a pleasant hotel and fairly good location for downtown LA.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

In general my experience is better than many reviews I have read about this hotel. I want to mention cleanliness, friendliness of reception staff and reliability of housekeeping. The restaurant ist very good. Someone lookimg for drawbacks? Here they are: Internet too slow. Spa needs refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.