We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Save Saved
You added Hilton Checkers Los Angeles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Honors Points
Ranked #57 of 322 hotels in Los Angeles
Aust
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Stayed for two nights with family of four, in December.

Had early arrival from Australia (7am) and hotel allowed early check in with no problems.

Room was great size in middle of city. Great service.

Excellent stay.

Would definitely stay again if went back to LA

  • Liked — Great accomodation in downtown LA
  • Disliked — LA downtown very quiet after dark
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    230
    95
    35
    30
See reviews for
69
167
51
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

After a bad start with a mistake on my reservation (my fault) I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. When we arrived at the hotel, which is in a great location, the front desk people were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, very comfortable and had a great view. My husband especially liked the big flat screen TV. We went up to the rooftop which also had a great view, and it looked like a really nice place to relax.

We were there for our anniversary, which the front desk acknowledged, and when we got back from dinner, the hotel had a complimentary plate of chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us! That was so unexpected and so appreciated.

I would say the only downside was the lack of a minibar in the room and the bar at the hotel closed pretty early, so we weren't able to have a nightcap on the rooftop, as we had planned. Next time we'll just make sure that we order a bottle of wine before we go out for dinner.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting downtown LA, especially considering the much higher prices that the neighboring hotels charged. I certainly plan to return.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No minibar
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

not really a 5 star hotel. no sleepers, no minibar but it has a nice location.

  • Liked — the tv channels
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

The Hilton Checkers is a small hotel in the middle of the LA downtown financial district If you are looking for the large-hotel experience, than keep looking. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room (804) was tidy and clean, not luxurious, but nice. The photo of the top floor pool on their website is quite misleading: in reality it is not particularly well maintained, the bar was closed, and we encountered no staff up there during the week. The restaurant staff was gracious and helpful--great coffee--but the cooking was uninspired. Within a short walk, however, are many amazing places to eat, however. Parking is a hassle, because the hotel does not have a place to park, and the rates in the area was about $40 per day. MOCA is just down the street as is the Disney Concert Hall. Other museums, however, are far, far away.

  • Liked — Intimate size
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Unless you must stay in downtown LA, there is no reason to stay at this hotel. It is old, and shows its age. There are only 2 elevators for guests. The water in the shower switches between scalding hot and freezing cold frequently and without warning. Service in the restaurant is slow (but that's OK because the food is overpriced). The "health facility" consists of a rack of dumbbells and three pieces of Cardio equipment. The pool is the size a bathtub.

That said, the rooms are a decent size, as are the bathrooms, and they are clean. The staff is generally friendly, and tries to be helpful, but are not particularly well trained.

Keep an eye on your bill for phantom charges.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were in LA for a wedding and stayed here for two nights after having a simply awful experience at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas.

This hotel is a great little hotel. It reminds me of places we've stayed in New York. The room is rather small but was perfectly acceptible for our needs. We found the bed comfortable and liked that the hotel supplied foam pillows and a non-down blanket.

We found the staff very polite and helpful. We even met the hotel manager (I vbelieve his name was Eric) and he was very nice.

The weekend we were there, they were filming a movie literally in front of the hotel so we got to see Chris Brown and Matt Dillon which was pretty cool. I never expected to walk into the hotel lobby and see Matt Dillon on the couch watching the Cowboys game!!

Overall, a nice hotel if a little pricey, but it's in a great location.

The hotel does require that you valet park since they are in the middle of the city and don't have a lot. It's not a problem, but take this cost into account if you book a stay here.

  • Liked — Quality of staff and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Valet parking is required in local garage
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DallasTX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Unfortunately, Checkers is one of the best hotels in down town LA. I say this not because I love it, but because the current choices are so dismal. The Wilshire Grand and the Omni have lovely common areas, but the rooms are tired and worn. Checkers rooms are a tad better but the common areas aren't impressive at all.

The rooms at all three downtown hotels vary quite a bit and so will the opinions of travelers. I've stayed at Checkers (reluctantly) at least a dozen times. The hotels in Beverly Hills and West LA are MUCH nicer but the drive to down town is tough during peak travel times so I choose down town when I have meetings in the financial district. I wish there was a true luxury hotel in the area. I'm sorry to say that Checkers clearly does not meet the standards of luxury business travelers for a premiere (or even a mid level) city.

The rooms need an overall. Many are tiny and lower floors are also dark. During my last stay, the only window in my room looked at a solid concrete wall not more than five feet away. Thus, there was no light even in mid day and cell service was poor and erratic. I felt like I was in a basement. Room cleaning was indifferent. Tiny Shampoo was not replaced for my entire four day stay and I received fresh bottled water only once. The room carpet was not clean and neither was tub. It took all day to get hotel to deliver a business package. Every time I called the front desk or room service I was placed on hold for an extended period. There was no mini fridge in room, no soft drink machines and room service menu was one page long. Food was delivered cold and tasteless. Bar area downstairs could be cute and comfy, but weird draperies between tiny lobby and bar area made it feel closed in and dark. Decor here too was aging and service (we waited 20 minutes before we got our drinks) was cavalier at best.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark Room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#45 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.