We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Checkers Los Angeles to your Saves list
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 324 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cairns
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Needed to be close and with in walking distance of the Walt Disney Concert Hall, first time in 20 years I have stayed in downtown LA. This hotel is a Art Deco gem!

Everything about this boutique hotel ticks all the right boxes, location, rooms, the roof top spa and pool with downtown views.

The staff are friendly, warm, approachable ( which is a huge plus in LA hotels ) A special thank you to Milton ( valet / door man ) who was beyond helpful.

Can't wait to return early in the new year.

Room Tip: Roof top swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback .... we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have definitely relayed your comments to our staff. Service is our #1 priority !

See ya in a few months !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    261
    108
    40
    31
See reviews for
90
196
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Good: Great Location. Great Restaurant. Slept like a rock.

The Average: Very small rooms, took 5 minutes to get hot water, had to move the coffee pot into the Bathroom to get a good plug, and they gave you the average Hilton bathroom condiments (I never use them but I was expecting something else) and some of the finishes and moldings were dirty.

It was fine... Just nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the insightful feedback regarding your recent stay. Although it is disappointing to hear we did not go above your expectations. Especially in regards to the in room amenities. In an effort to offer consistent services and amenities across the brand, Hilton Hotels dictates what amenities hotels are to offer. Luckily Hilton selected a line from Peter Thomas Roth, which is a highly respected brand.

We have forwarded your comments regarding the cleanliness to our Director of Housekeeping to address for future guest stays. This is not typical of the hotel’s cleanliness standards and will be addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff was great and we enjoyed the location. We did not have a car but were able to walk to our concert at Staples Center/LA Live in addition to restaurants, stores and other attractions. The rooftop pool is small but it is a pretty cool space with a great view and sun in the morning.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and did not really hang out in the small bar so cannot comment on that however there are several good choices around for food, nightlife and other attractions.

It is a fun location that is secure and has great staff so we recommend the HIlton!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really enjoyed this property, very nicely decorated. Lounge area is tasteful and elegant. Couple of minor issues with housekeeping; failed to deliver requested items twice, so I gave up asking. Next time, I will request these items in advance since there seems to be a communication breakdown between front desk and housekeeping. Not enough to keep me away though, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the 4 star rating of your recent stay. We do however apologize about the challenges encountered in delivering your items in a timely manner. We have shared your comments with both departments noted to ensure we institute a more effective manner of delivering on guest requests. On your future visits, you are more than welcome to place a pre-order, however our staff will be more than happy to deliver even last minute requests.

We hope to see you again very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me begin by saying that Louis, and Isabella in the checkers lounge are absolutely the best bartenders I have ever met. They make fantastic drinks, and carry on excellent conversation. This is the 3rd year I've stayed at this property and they are part of my choice why. The property is filled with a great staff from the desk expedited check-in to the housekeepers keeping the room perfect. The hotel has a great roof-top pool/hot tub area that over looks downtown LA and at night is the perfect view. The hotel is a classic "boutique" style hotel and is in pristine condition. Parking is expensive but, it is LA. If you get the opportunity stay in this hotel located directly in the Financial/Jewelry district, really close to everything even with "LA" traffic. Beverly Hills only 15 min. away, Hollywood only 15 min. away and of course WEHO only about 20min. away.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a room that has the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed two nights at this wonderful Hilton for business earlier this month. This was one of the nicest Hiltons I've stayed at that wasn't in a resort location. Every member of the staff I interacted with was friendly, warm and welcoming. Food in the restaurant was good, but a bit pricey, which wasn't entirely unexpected. The lobby bar was comfortable and inviting and the drinks were strong. My room was very clean and comfortable, though a bit on the small side. For one person, it was fine but if I was staying here with my husband, it would have been a little claustrophobic. Overall, it was a fantastic experience and I would stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
759 helpful votes 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Im a textile lover. I collect antique textile and stuffs, and in this place they display fabrics, a very nice fabric and they really know how to display it.

What makes me disappointed is, I have been requesting for every room in the same floor because we have kids and old people, then they still put us all in the different floor..
apart from it, the service was great, the hotel was clean, close to convience store. just.. the breakfast is quite boring and for 25usd per person I think its over priced, but overall this hotel was just nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback …. We agree, the décor of the hotel is quite comforting and warm. It is great to hear that you also found our staff to be warm and welcoming, we do pride ourselves on customer service.

Unfortunately due to the popularity of the hotel, there are times when we cannot always accommodate guest specific room requests, but we definitely try to do our best especially when it comes to traveling families when it is noted in the reservations. We hope to see you again in the very near future and safes travel back to you home !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.