We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Checkers Los Angeles to your Saves list
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #57 of 339 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When we arrived the valet guys were extremely helpful and friendly but that's where good customer service ended! The guy that checked us in didn't bother looking at us at any point, he was quite rude and was obvious he didn't want to be bothered. This was after waiting almost 20 mins for him to check in the guest before us. He confirmed that we had a king size bed which was incorrect since we were traveling with our 2 sons. He said a room with 2 beds would be "more money"... Really?! I've never had a hotel charge more between 1or 2 beds. So we ended up asking for a rollaway which he said he would send right up, we were going out so we were expecting it to be in our room when we got back but it wasn't... No at 9pm we had to call down and find out if they were ever going to deliver the rollaway. Finally about 25 min later it arrived! It also would have been nice if someone would have advised us of the 40$ parking fee!!! At No point did anyone bother to tell us it was 40$... 20 maybe 25 I would expect but 40?! Come on now! I like Hilton hotels but this was the worst Hilton experience ive ever had.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for the feedback, although it is disheartening to hear that you were disappointed about your experiences at the hotel. Service is what differentiates a hotel and we sincerely try to instill that philosophy in all of our team members.

Being a boutique hotel in high demand, there are times when a specific room type is not available. However, we always try to find the best alternative to accommodate guest needs when a requested room type is not available. Our apologies for the additional cost comment, that is only applicable when multiples guest are in a room …. Excluding children under 18 year of age of course.

As with most metropolitan cities, parking is at a premium. Although we do not own or operate the parking facilities, we do regularly do price surveys to ensure we are within the range of price available in the market. In addition, because we know the parking cost in a populated city may be a challenge, we do our best to communicate the cost in advance of guest arrival both via the reservation confirmation and at check-in.

Again, we are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope that you will give us an opportunity to better service your needs. Next time, try booking our “Park & Play” package which offer complementary parking and internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    280
    120
    43
    33
See reviews for
98
213
60
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had a very enjoyable one-night stay here last weekend. The staff was courteous, and check-in and check-out were very quick and easy. My room was small but has been well maintained, and it had a good view of downtown to the north. There weren't many available electrical outlets in the room, so I had to charge my phone on the floor next to the only available outlet. The room was quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the shower water pressure was fine. The outdoor pool and jacuzzi looked great and had a wonderful view, but I didn't have time to make use of them.

I knew that the hotel's parking was expensive (like most other downtown hotels), so I parked overnight in the Pershing Square underground lot for $7/day (on the weekend). That lot is only one block away. It has no in-and-out privileges, but you can't beat the weekend rate, and security seemed pretty good. The LA Metro 7th Street/Metro Center station is within walking distance of the hotel, and I used the Metro to get to Hollywood, saving me the hassle of driving and paying to park in Hollywood. The new downtown Target store is also within walking distance (a bit farther than the Metro station), and it's a great place to pick up snacks and groceries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your 4 Star rating of the hotel ! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize that you were assigned one of our smaller rooms, with such a historic hotel, some of the rooms are smaller than others, however I hope that you did enjoy the size of our bathrooms they tend to be much larger than typical hotels.

It is true …. We are centrally located to many of the cities exciting destination. We hope to see you again and next time don’t forget about DASH Downtown, this bus service will take you anywhere you need to go in Downtown Los Angeles and the fares are only 50 cents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at hilton checkers for 4 nights. First time in L.A. - great location, downtown. The room was beautiful and clean. The staff is so nice. The breakfast is yummy.The best part of the hotel is spa and pool on the roof. Hope we gonna come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not the best of the Hiltons but not a bad value for the location. Hilton VIP Gold & Diamond members will be disappointed that there is no Exec floor or lounge but if you can get past that the rooms are great as is the front desk, bar, and restaurant staff. The downtown location is convenient. At $38.50 the valet parking is a bit pricy. I was there on the weekend and got upgraded to the President's Suite at no charge.

Room Tip: Hilton VIPs can act disappointed that there is no exec floor or lounge and ask for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the 4 Star rating !

We take all of customer feedback very seriously and use it to improve our customer experience, especially those from loyal Hilton guests that have achieved Gold and Diamond status. As part of this goal to provide the ultimate guest experience, we just completed a full renovation of our hotel fitness center and next project is the elimination of the hotels two Presidential Suites to create an amazing rooftop Penthouse Suite.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hilton Hotels and we hope to see you again soon …. And show off the upgrades to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I usually stay in a Hilton when I can because I like their reward programme. When we wanted a hotel to stay in in downtown Los Angeles the Hilton Checkers fitted the bill perfectly.

First, its location is superb for downtown LA - all the sites are in easy walking distance. There are plenty of shops within walking distance.

The building is an old, historic (as LA goes) building with interesting decor. Our room though was disappointingly small and cramped. There was only room for the desk chair, and no comfy chair at all. The bed though was the usual superbly comfortable Hilton bed and we had an excellent night's sleep. We did ask Reception for robes and slippers; these never materialised. And were was our complimentary water? We later discovered that they charged us an outrageous sum for consuming the little bottle of water that there was. I still think Wi-Fi is ridiculously priced given that so many hotels now give free wifi.

We had predinner drinks in the bar. The barman didn't appear to know what a real martini was - I still can't believe this, and put it down to my strange British accent. The first few things, like Californian sparkling wine, they were out of! Odd. We ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent - I had a superb fillet with all the trimming, my wife the fish. Both were excellent. The wine list was excellent. Service, particularly at the start, was on the slow side.

The breakfast, included in our rate, was excellent. Breakfast is a formal sit-down affair rather than the usual buffet and was greatly superior. I had a wonderful three-egg omelette. I still can't get used to the American emphasis on tipping: our waiter (and all he did was take one order and bring it to us) insisted on bringing the bill of zero over so that we could leave him is 20% tip. (I was tempted to say 20% of zero is ....).

Checkout was efficient and the desk staff wonderful. We got the hotel car to LAX - very comfortable but a bit pricey at $66.

It is worth taking the elevator to the roof - you get a superb view of LA from there.

As far as I can tell this Hilton doesn't have an executive floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel has a great staff. Check-in was pleasant, friendly and efficient. My room was nicely decorated and quite comfortable. The bed was excellent with a nice selection of pillows. The room and bathroom were not large and there was no view to speak of. The furnishings were good quality and well maintained. There was a large flat screen TV. There were two things lacking that are important to me; no easy chair and no good reading light. Even the lamp on the desk did not have a very bright light.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great place to stay if you need a hotel in downtown LA. Rooms are small but very nice and modern. Nice pool and jacuzzi on roof top with a great view. Hotel is close to many of the sights. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. There is self parking so you don't have to valet your car and save a little money.

Room Tip: High rooms may have a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 South Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#30 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.